Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Alberta Investment Management Corporation

AIMCo is an Alberta Crown corporation and institutional investment manager serving Alberta public-sector pension, endowment, insurance, specialty, and government funds. It invests globally through a diversified platform that includes public and private markets.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Alberta Investment Management Corporation

AIMCo manages investments for Alberta-related institutional clients and invests globally across public and private markets. Its private-equity program includes fund investments, direct and co-investment opportunities, and secondary opportunities; the cited official private-equity page does not state a universal minimum, maximum, or company-size threshold for direct investments.[1][2][3][4][5][7]

What does Alberta Investment Management Corporation invest in?

Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo) is a Crown Corporation of the Province of Alberta. It manages investments for Alberta public-sector pension plans, endowment funds, insurance-related funds, specialty funds, and government funds.

AIMCo states that it invests globally to build diversified, long-term-focused portfolios for its clients. Its platform spans public and private-market strategies, including private equity, infrastructure, renewable resources, real estate, private debt, loans, mortgages, public equities, absolute return, and money market and fixed income investments.[1][2][3]

AIMCo’s private-equity program invests through Fund Investments and Direct & Co-Investment opportunities and also considers secondary opportunities as part of its core strategy.

The broader investment model is global and diversified, with a stated long-term focus for client portfolios. The cited materials describe multiple client fund types and do not state a universal direct-investment size threshold.[2][3][4]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Published size criteriaPublicly stated range
Lower published point$194.7BILLION
Upper published point$11.9BILLION

Published criteria: AIMCo reported $194.7 billion in assets under management for the year ended December 31, 2025, including a $11.9 billion Core Private Equity portfolio. The cited official private-equity page does not state a universal minimum, maximum, or company-size threshold for direct investments.[3][4]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Alberta Investment Management Corporation?

An owner evaluating AIMCo should clarify which client mandate and asset-class allocation would support the opportunity, and whether AIMCo would consider a direct investment, minority or co-control position, fund investment, private-credit structure, or partner-led transaction. The private-equity program’s documented use of fund investments, direct and co-investments, and secondary opportunities means the proposed structure and required governance rights should be established directly with AIMCo.

Because the cited official private-equity page does not state a universal direct-investment size threshold, an owner should also request the applicable commitment range, company-size parameters, geography considerations, sector exclusions, diligence requirements, approval process, valuation approach, management rollover expectations, financing terms, and liquidity or exit provisions for the specific opportunity.[2][4][7]

01

Which AIMCo client mandate and asset-class allocation would support this opportunity

AIMCo manages investments for Alberta public-sector pension plans, endowment funds, insurance-related funds, specialty funds, and government funds, with client-specific investment policy objectives and asset-allocation requirements.[2]
02

What investment structure would AIMCo consider for the opportunity: direct investment, minority or co-control position, fund investment, private credit, secondary transaction, or a partner-led transaction

AIMCo’s private-equity program includes Fund Investments, Direct & Co-Investment opportunities, and secondary opportunities.[4]
03

What ownership percentage and governance rights would be required for the proposed structure

The cited private-equity claim describes multiple investment routes but does not establish ownership or governance terms for this particular opportunity.[4]

What investment criteria does Alberta Investment Management Corporation publicly describe?

AIMCo’s investment platform includes public equities and absolute return, money market and fixed income, private debt and loans, mortgages, real estate, infrastructure, private equity, and renewable resources.

Its private-equity investments span business services, consumer, financial services, healthcare, industrials, and information technology. Its named 2025 private-equity holdings include BGIS, Proofpoint, Fortitude Re, Belron, and Davies.[4]

The cited official private-equity page describes AIMCo’s direct and co-investment approach but does not state a universal minimum, maximum, or company-size threshold for direct investments.[7]

AIMCo invests globally. Its 2025 global asset mix was Canada 40.2%, United States 37.7%, Rest of the World 7.5%, United Kingdom 4.1%, Asia 2.6%, Australia 2.1%, and Europe 5.8%.[3]

AIMCo’s 2025 annual report lists BGIS, Proofpoint, Fortitude Re, Belron, and Davies among its top five private-equity holdings.

Its 2025 Investment Spotlight also identifies a US$30 million investment alongside TPG GP Solutions into the single-asset continuation vehicle of Identity Digital, and a US$55 million investment alongside New Mountain Capital to acquire NSM Insurance Group’s U.S. commercial insurance division, subsequently branded Novacore.[4][5]

AIMCo’s 2025 Investment Spotlight identifies the completed sale of its stake in DIG Airgas, a South Korean industrial-gas provider. It also reports that AIMCo’s Renewable Resources portfolio acquired Estadal and Tojalillo Grande, adding more than 2,500 hectares of agricultural assets across Spain and Portugal.

Other identified activity includes a €50 million commitment to Inflexion Buyout Fund VII, a pan-European middle-market buyout strategy targeting Services, Technology, Healthcare, and Industrial businesses; the Novacore and Identity Digital investments; and other portfolio and development activity.[5]

What is not clear from Alberta Investment Management Corporation's public materials?

The cited 2025 Investment Spotlight page identifies the DIG Airgas sale and the European funeral-infrastructure investment but does not publish transaction values for those two examples. That page also does not identify the buyer of AIMCo’s DIG Airgas stake or provide a named counterparty for the European funeral-infrastructure investment.

The cited official private-equity page describes AIMCo’s direct and co-investment approach but does not state a universal minimum, maximum, or company-size threshold for direct investments.[5][7]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Alberta Investment Management Corporation

Which AIMCo client mandate and asset-class allocation would support this opportunity?
AIMCo manages investments for Alberta public-sector pension plans, endowment funds, insurance-related funds, specialty funds, and government funds, with client-specific investment policy objectives and asset-allocation requirements.[2]
What investment structure would AIMCo consider for the opportunity: direct investment, minority or co-control position, fund investment, private credit, secondary transaction, or a partner-led transaction?
AIMCo’s private-equity program includes Fund Investments, Direct & Co-Investment opportunities, and secondary opportunities.[4]
What ownership percentage and governance rights would be required for the proposed structure?
The cited private-equity claim describes multiple investment routes but does not establish ownership or governance terms for this particular opportunity.[4]
What current minimum equity commitment, company-size range, geography restriction, or sector-specific exclusion would apply?
The cited official private-equity page does not state a universal minimum, maximum, or company-size threshold for direct investments, while AIMCo’s private-equity activity spans multiple sectors and global markets.[3][4][7]
Would AIMCo require an operating partner or financial sponsor for this opportunity, and how would that affect decision rights and management participation?
AIMCo has publicly identified investments alongside New Mountain Capital and TPG GP Solutions, demonstrating that some disclosed transactions have involved external investment partners.[5]
What information can AIMCo provide on expected hold duration, financing, diligence timetable, valuation methodology, and approval process?
The cited materials describe AIMCo’s global, long-term-focused investment platform and client-specific objectives, but they do not establish transaction-specific timing, financing, valuation, or approval terms.[3]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Investment strategy
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Structure / regulatory context
  7. Public disclosure information
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.