Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Anchorage Capital Partners

Anchorage Capital Partners describes itself as a private equity investor focused on businesses with strong market positions and significant potential, including complex situations and businesses requiring transformation. It favors the middle market, typically investing in businesses with $100m+ in revenues, and primarily focuses on businesses headquartered in Australia and New Zealand.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Anchorage Capital Partners

Anchorage Capital Partners focuses on established middle-market businesses, typically with $100m+ in revenues, where it can pursue operational improvement, transformation or complex-situation investing. It is industry agnostic, with stated portfolio exposure across heavy industrials, retail and financial-services technology, and primarily targets Australia- and New Zealand-headquartered businesses.[1][2][3][4][5][7][12]

What does Anchorage Capital Partners invest in?

Anchorage Capital Partners is a private equity firm that invests in businesses with strong market positions and significant potential, including complex situations and businesses requiring transformation. The firm lists its office in Sydney, Australia.

Anchorage states that it works collaboratively with management teams through a proprietary turnaround framework intended to deliver sustainable earnings improvement.[1][2]

Anchorage describes its strategy as focused on businesses that are not operating at their full potential and on unusual or complex situations. It states that it is highly engaged in delivering operational improvement and partners with management teams.[1]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
Anchorage favors the middle market and typically invests in businesses with $100m+ in revenues. It also states that it has invested below that threshold where there is significant asset backing or potential to deploy additional capital during the investment.[1][3]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Anchorage Capital Partners?

An owner evaluating Anchorage may wish to clarify the ownership percentage and governance rights it would seek, the proposed investment horizon and exit process, and the balance between primary and secondary capital. Other points to clarify include the operating resources and value-creation initiatives proposed, how the firm underwrites businesses below its stated $100m+ revenue preference, the availability of follow-on capital for acquisitions or transformation, and which fund or co-investment vehicles would finance the transaction.[1][3]

01

What ownership percentage and governance rights would Anchorage seek

Anchorage describes a private equity strategy involving collaboration with management teams and operational improvement. Ownership percentage and governance terms for a proposed transaction should be confirmed directly with Anchorage.[1]
02

What is the expected investment horizon and exit process

The AWCON, ENTAG, ELF Group and David Jones pages do not state an expected exit date, so an owner should request the proposed horizon and exit approach directly.[4][5][7][12]
03

How much primary versus secondary capital would be provided

The transaction pages do not state the equity cheque or financing structure for the identified investments; the capital mix for a proposed transaction should therefore be clarified.[4][5][7][12]

What companies does Anchorage Capital Partners target?

Anchorage favors the middle market and typically invests in businesses with $100m+ in revenues. It also states that it has invested in businesses below $100m in revenue where there is significant asset backing or potential to deploy additional capital during the investment.[1]

Anchorage states that it is industry agnostic, with portfolio businesses spanning heavy industrials, retail and financial-services technology. It favors established, stable industries and has less inclination toward businesses dependent on continual changes in technology, start-ups, mineral exploration or real estate.[1]

Anchorage primarily focuses on businesses headquartered in Australia and New Zealand, including businesses with global operations. It considers Southeast Asian-headquartered investments selectively.[1]

The sources cited for this profile do not establish whether Anchorage uses a formal platform-and-add-on model. They do establish that the firm invests in businesses with significant potential and may consider businesses where there is potential to deploy additional capital during the investment.[1]

Anchorage identifies AWCON, an Australian complex underground civil infrastructure contractor; ENTAG, a Queensland-based technology-services provider; David Jones; Access Community Health, a New Zealand in-home care provider; and Evolve Education Group, a New Zealand early-childhood education provider, among its portfolio businesses. Its ELF Group materials identify ELF Group as the fourth investment in Anchorage Capital Partners Fund IV.[4][5][6][7][8][9]

Anchorage’s portfolio materials identify an investment date of February 2026 for AWCON and October 2025 for ENTAG. Anchorage completed the acquisition of ELF Group on 31 May 2024 and identified it as the fourth investment in Fund IV. The firm also identifies investment dates of March 2023 for David Jones and Access Community Health and October 2022 for Evolve Education Group.[4][5][6][7][8][9]

What is not clear from Anchorage Capital Partners's public investment criteria?

The AWCON portfolio page provides an investment date and qualitative description but does not state the transaction value, enterprise value, equity cheque, ownership percentage, financing structure or expected exit date for that investment. The ENTAG portfolio page likewise does not state those transaction terms or the expected exit date.

The ELF Group portfolio page does not state the acquisition price, enterprise value, equity cheque, ownership percentage, financing structure or expected exit date. The David Jones portfolio page does not state the acquisition price, enterprise value, equity cheque, ownership percentage, financing structure or expected exit date.[4][5][7][12]

Questions to ask when evaluating Anchorage Capital Partners as a buyer or investment partner

What ownership percentage and governance rights would Anchorage seek?
Anchorage describes a private equity strategy involving collaboration with management teams and operational improvement. Ownership percentage and governance terms for a proposed transaction should be confirmed directly with Anchorage.[1]
What is the expected investment horizon and exit process?
The AWCON, ENTAG, ELF Group and David Jones pages do not state an expected exit date, so an owner should request the proposed horizon and exit approach directly.[4][5][7][12]
How much primary versus secondary capital would be provided?
The transaction pages do not state the equity cheque or financing structure for the identified investments; the capital mix for a proposed transaction should therefore be clarified.[4][5][7][12]
Which operating resources and value-creation initiatives would be deployed?
Anchorage states that it works collaboratively with management teams through a proprietary turnaround framework and is highly engaged in operational improvement; the proposed resources and initiatives should be specified for the business under consideration.[1]
How does Anchorage underwrite businesses below its stated $100m+ revenue preference?
Anchorage states that it typically invests in businesses with $100m+ in revenues but has invested below that level where there is significant asset backing or potential to deploy additional capital.[1]
What follow-on capital is available for acquisitions or transformation, and which fund or co-investment vehicles would finance the transaction?
Anchorage states that it has considered businesses with potential to deploy additional capital and announced that Fund IV exceeded its A$500m target, with managed commitments of over A$1 billion across multiple funds and co-investments.[1][3]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Transaction size / criteria
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Structure / regulatory context
  11. Structure / regulatory context
  12. Public disclosure information
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.