Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Benefit Street Partners

Benefit Street Partners is a global alternative credit manager and wholly owned subsidiary of Franklin Templeton. Its publicly stated capabilities span direct lending, special situations, real estate, infrastructure, liquid and structured credit, multi-strategy, and CLOs.

Key takeaway

Benefit Street Partners provides alternative credit strategies across private and public markets.

Its U.S. direct-lending platform addresses sponsor-backed and non-sponsored companies in the core middle market, generally defined as $25 million to $100 million of EBITDA.[1][2][3][4][7]

What does Benefit Street Partners invest in?

Benefit Street Partners (BSP) is a global alternative credit manager and a wholly owned subsidiary of Franklin Templeton. BSP states that it operates across private and public credit markets and offers alternative credit strategies through closed-ended, semi-liquid, liquid, and separately managed account solutions.

The firm’s official history states that BSP-Alcentra became BSP in 2026.[1][2][3]

BSP offers strategies spanning direct lending, special situations, real estate, infrastructure, liquid and structured credit, multi-strategy, and CLOs. Its U.S. direct-lending platform provides financing to sponsor-backed and non-sponsored businesses across the U.S. core middle market.

The direct-lending approach emphasizes primarily senior-secured exposure, capital preservation, direct origination, rigorous underwriting, and active portfolio management. BSP also states that the platform aims to lead a majority of transactions to increase influence over covenants, structures, and governance.[3][4]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

EBITDAPublicly stated range
Lower published point$96.4BILLION
Upper published point$100MILLION

Published criteria: BSP's current official site reports $96.4 billion of assets under management as of June 30, 2026; the figure is described as approximate, unaudited, and subject to change. Its U.S. direct-lending platform generally defines the core middle market as companies with $25 million to $100 million of EBITDA.[1][4]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Benefit Street Partners?

An owner evaluating a financing relationship with BSP should clarify which legal entity and strategy would provide the capital, and whether the proposed solution is direct lending, real estate debt, special situations capital, structured credit, or another credit structure.

Key diligence topics include leverage, pricing, fees, covenants, amortization, prepayment provisions, consent rights, default terms, governance rights, reporting requirements, collateral, financial-maintenance requirements, refinancing flexibility, and workout rights. Owners should also ask which recent transactions are comparable by sector, EBITDA, collateral, leverage, and geography.[3][4]

01

Which BSP legal entity and strategy would provide the capital

BSP operates through multiple credit strategies and legal entities, including Benefit Street Partners Limited and BSP NY LLC.[3][5]
02

Is the proposed solution direct lending, real estate debt, special situations capital, structured credit, or another structure

BSP publicly identifies multiple alternative credit strategies, so the specific instrument and strategy should be confirmed for the proposed transaction.[1][3]
03

What are the target leverage, pricing, fees, covenants, amortization, prepayment, consent, and default terms

The public strategy description identifies credit underwriting, covenants, structures, and governance as relevant features, while the transaction archive does not provide complete terms for every listed transaction.[4][7]

What investment criteria does Benefit Street Partners publicly describe?

Publicly identified areas of expertise include direct lending, structured credit, liquid credit, special situations, infrastructure debt, real estate debt, and CLOs. The broader focus includes middle-market corporate credit, private debt, commercial real estate debt, leveraged loans, and high-yield bonds.[1][3]

BSP states that its U.S. direct-lending platform focuses on the core middle market, generally defined as companies with $25 million to $100 million of EBITDA. The platform addresses both sponsor-backed and non-sponsored businesses and may invest across the capital structure.[4]

BSP’s direct-lending platform addresses U.S. core middle-market companies and European lower-to-core middle-market companies. The European strategy prioritizes Northern and Western Europe.

BSP describes itself as a global alternative credit manager and identifies credit capabilities across international markets.[1][4]

  • BSP announced the final close of BSP Real Estate Opportunistic Debt Fund II on January 8, 2026, providing $10 billion of investable capital inclusive of related vehicles and anticipated leverage across $3 billion of equity commitments.
  • BSP announced the purchase of an approximately $391 million loan portfolio secured by eight newer-vintage multifamily properties across multiple U.S. markets on January 20, 2026.
  • BSP announced the closing of BSPDF 2026-FL3, a $1.1 billion managed commercial real estate CLO, in March 2026; the transaction settled on March 12, 2026.
  • BSP CLO 50, a $500 million new-issue CLO, closed on May 26, 2026 and was listed by BSP as a June 18, 2026 press release.
[6][7]

Recent public announcements identify activity in real estate debt, multifamily loan portfolios, managed commercial real estate CLOs, and new-issue CLOs. The disclosed examples include the January 2026 final close of BSP Real Estate Opportunistic Debt Fund II, the January 2026 announced purchase of an approximately $391 million loan portfolio, the March 2026 closing of BSPDF 2026-FL3, and the May 2026 closing of BSP CLO 50.[6][7]

What is not clear from Benefit Street Partners's public materials?

The cited official direct-lending page does not state a universal investment holding-period range, expected ownership duration, or standard exit timetable.

The cited official press-release archive lists recent transactions and announcement dates but does not itself provide complete transaction terms, counterparties, or pricing for every listed transaction.[4][7]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Benefit Street Partners

Which BSP legal entity and strategy would provide the capital?
BSP operates through multiple credit strategies and legal entities, including Benefit Street Partners Limited and BSP NY LLC.[3][5]
Is the proposed solution direct lending, real estate debt, special situations capital, structured credit, or another structure?
BSP publicly identifies multiple alternative credit strategies, so the specific instrument and strategy should be confirmed for the proposed transaction.[1][3]
What are the target leverage, pricing, fees, covenants, amortization, prepayment, consent, and default terms?
The public strategy description identifies credit underwriting, covenants, structures, and governance as relevant features, while the transaction archive does not provide complete terms for every listed transaction.[4][7]
Does BSP require board, observer, veto, or other governance rights?
BSP states that its direct-lending platform aims to lead a majority of transactions to increase influence over covenants, structures, and governance.[4]
What is the expected investment duration and refinancing or exit process?
The cited official direct-lending page does not state a universal holding-period range, expected ownership duration, or standard exit timetable.[4]
How are non-sponsor opportunities evaluated relative to sponsor-backed transactions?
BSP states that its U.S. direct-lending platform provides financing to both sponsor-backed and non-sponsored businesses.[4]
What information, reporting, collateral, and financial-maintenance requirements apply?
These terms should be confirmed for the proposed financing because the cited transaction archive does not provide complete terms for every listed transaction.[7]
Which recent transactions are comparable by sector, EBITDA, collateral, leverage, and geography?
BSP publicly identifies a U.S. core-middle-market criterion, European credit coverage, and recent activity across real estate debt and CLOs; comparability should be established for the specific opportunity.[4][6][7]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Investment strategy
  5. Structure / regulatory context
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.