Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

BlackTorch Capital

BlackTorch Capital states that it provides investment banking, M&A, corporate finance, strategic, and financial advisory services to public and private middle-market companies and their capital providers. Its stated model places a senior partner directly on each engagement throughout the transaction.

Key takeaway

What stands out about BlackTorch Capital

Publicly available information positions BlackTorch Capital as a senior-led M&A and investment banking adviser serving public and private middle-market companies and their capital providers. The sources cited for this profile establish a dated 2010 advisory engagement and a historical 2013 regulatory structure, but do not establish current named deal activity, engagement economics, numeric client-size thresholds, or current regulatory status for BlackTorch Capital.[1][2][3][7]

What does BlackTorch Capital do?

BlackTorch Capital presents itself as a results-driven investment banking firm providing customized strategic and financial solutions for public and private middle-market companies and their capital providers. Its stated focus includes mergers and acquisitions, investment banking, and strategic and financial solutions.

The firm states that senior partners lead engagements directly and work with clients throughout each transaction. It also describes its senior partners as providing strategic perspective, middle-market expertise, balanced judgment, and direct client engagement.[1][3]

Publicly stated services include investment banking, mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance and strategy, financial advisory services, capital formation, and transaction support for middle-market companies. The Services page describes transaction expertise across investment-banking services, industry specializations, and network contacts.[1][2]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Public size / criteria information
BlackTorch Capital identifies public and private middle-market companies and their capital providers as its client base. The current official home page does not publish revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-size, or minimum-client-size thresholds.[1]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring BlackTorch Capital?

An owner evaluating BlackTorch Capital can ask how the senior-partner-led model would be applied to the proposed engagement, including which senior partner would lead the work and how direct involvement would be structured. The stated client base, M&A capabilities, corporate-finance experience, and financial-advisory services provide a basis for discussing a potential sale, capital raise, or strategic transaction.

The current public record does not establish recent named deal activity, numeric client-size criteria, engagement economics, or current regulatory status. Before engagement, an owner should request recent deal references, applicable fee and expense terms, conflicts procedures, the contracting legal entity, and confirmation of any securities-related registration or service structure.[1][2][3][7]

01

Which current legal entity would sign the engagement and provide any securities-related service

The 2013 SEC filing describes BlackTorch Securities, LLC as a broker-dealer wholly owned by BlackTorch Capital, LLC, while the current official home page does not state a current registration number or regulator status for BlackTorch Capital.[1][6]
02

What is the firm's current broker-dealer or other regulatory status, if applicable

The available regulatory statement is historical: the SEC-filed 2013 financial statement reported broker-dealer registration and FINRA membership for BlackTorch Securities, LLC. Current status is not established by that filing or by the current official home page.[1][6]
03

Can BlackTorch provide at least three recent named or anonymized transactions in the seller's sector, including dates, transaction type, and role

The current official Transactions page does not identify a named current or recent transaction, client, counterparty, transaction date, or transaction value.[7]

What size transactions and clients does BlackTorch Capital focus on?

BlackTorch Capital states that its experience spans industry sectors. A January 26, 2010 client announcement states that the firm was actively involved in technology, broadcast, and new-media sectors and identifies new and traditional media and communications as aligned focus areas.[4]

On January 26, 2010, a client announcement stated that BlackTorch Capital agreed to act as itiBiti Systems Inc.’s primary advisory agent for capitalization strategy and to lead its U.S. corporate-development efforts. The same announcement stated that BlackTorch Capital’s principals had worked on over 150 major buy-side and sell-side transactions.

The current official Transactions page does not identify a named current or recent transaction, client, counterparty, transaction date, or transaction value.[4][7]

The firm’s stated transaction focus includes mergers and acquisitions, investment banking, corporate finance and strategy, financial advisory services, capitalization strategy, and U.S. corporate development.

A January 26, 2010 client announcement states that BlackTorch Capital agreed to act as itiBiti Systems Inc.’s primary advisory agent for capitalization strategy and to lead its U.S. corporate-development efforts.[1][2][4]

What does BlackTorch Capital publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The current official Transactions page does not identify named current or recent transactions, clients, counterparties, transaction dates, or transaction values.

The current official home page does not publish revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-size, or minimum-client-size thresholds, and does not state a current broker-dealer or investment-adviser registration number or regulator status for BlackTorch Capital. The current official Services page does not publish fee percentages, retainers, minimum fees, reimbursable expenses, tail provisions, exclusivity terms, or termination rights.[1][2][7]

A SEC-filed audited financial statement for the year ended December 31, 2013 stated that BlackTorch Securities, LLC was a registered securities broker-dealer engaged primarily in investment banking and advisory services, registered with the SEC, and a FINRA member. The filing also stated that BlackTorch Securities, LLC was wholly owned by BlackTorch Capital, LLC.

Those statements describe the structure and regulatory status reported in the 2013 filing; they do not establish current registration status. The current official home page does not state a current broker-dealer or investment-adviser registration number or regulator status for BlackTorch Capital.[1][6]

BlackTorch Capital states that a senior partner spearheads each engagement and works directly with the client throughout the transaction. The firm also describes senior-partner involvement as including strategic perspective, middle-market expertise, balanced judgment, and direct client engagement.[3]

Questions to ask before hiring BlackTorch Capital

Which current legal entity would sign the engagement and provide any securities-related service?
The 2013 SEC filing describes BlackTorch Securities, LLC as a broker-dealer wholly owned by BlackTorch Capital, LLC, while the current official home page does not state a current registration number or regulator status for BlackTorch Capital.[1][6]
What is the firm's current broker-dealer or other regulatory status, if applicable?
The available regulatory statement is historical: the SEC-filed 2013 financial statement reported broker-dealer registration and FINRA membership for BlackTorch Securities, LLC. Current status is not established by that filing or by the current official home page.[1][6]
Can BlackTorch provide at least three recent named or anonymized transactions in the seller's sector, including dates, transaction type, and role?
The current official Transactions page does not identify a named current or recent transaction, client, counterparty, transaction date, or transaction value.[7]
What enterprise-value, revenue, EBITDA, geography, ownership, or client-size criteria apply?
BlackTorch Capital identifies public and private middle-market companies and their capital providers as its client base, but the current official home page does not publish numeric revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-size, or minimum-client-size thresholds.[1]
What are the fee percentages, retainers, minimum fees, reimbursable expenses, tail provisions, exclusivity terms, and termination rights?
The current official Services page does not publish those engagement economics or contractual terms.[2]
Which senior partner will lead the engagement, and what conflicts or relationships with likely buyers or capital providers should be disclosed?
BlackTorch Capital states that a senior partner spearheads each engagement and works directly with the client throughout the transaction. The public description does not set out engagement-specific conflicts or relationship disclosures.[3]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Investment approach
  4. Industry / market focus
  5. Geography / market coverage
  6. SEC filing / regulatory record
  7. Public disclosure information
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.