Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Carpenter Hawke & Co.

Founded in 1991, Carpenter Hawke & Co. states that it advises sellers of privately owned businesses through sell-side M&A, divestitures, valuation, and confidential buyer outreach. Its selling-business materials identify privately held small to mid-sized businesses with revenues ranging from $1.5 million to $50 million.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Carpenter Hawke & Co.

Carpenter Hawke & Co. presents a sell-side-oriented advisory model built around confidential marketing, buyer and industry research, negotiation, and closing support. It also provides business valuation and targeted buy-side acquisition services. Owners should confirm current engagement thresholds, fee provisions, team assignment, buyer-screening practices, and any regulated-service responsibilities before engaging.[1][2][3][4][5][7]

What does Carpenter Hawke & Co. do?

Carpenter Hawke & Co. states that it was founded in 1991 to provide M&A advisory services to sellers of privately owned businesses. The firm identifies its operating entity as Carpenter Hawke & Co., LLC and lists an office in Beverly, Massachusetts.

The firm states that it has completed more than 250 transactions across manufacturing, business services, technology, and distribution. Its published selling-business materials describe services for privately held small to mid-sized businesses with revenues ranging from $1.5 million to $50 million.[1][2][5]

Publicly stated services include mergers and acquisitions, divestitures, business valuation, and buy-side acquisition services for privately held small to mid-sized businesses.

The valuation team states that it offers USPAP-compliant certified business appraisals for ownership transition, shareholder dispute resolution, divorce settlements, ESOPs, and IRS tax filing requirements. The firm also states that it conducts targeted buy-side mandates to identify acquisition candidates that may not be publicly marketed and supports buyers with acquisition research, strategy, and evaluation.[3][4]

Carpenter Hawke states that it can serve clients locally and globally and has access to intermediary networks throughout the United States and Europe. It also states that it has experience with cross-border and Canadian transactions.[3]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Published size criteriaPublicly stated range
Lower published point$1.5MILLION
Upper published point$50MILLION

Published criteria: The firm's selling-business materials state that it provides services to privately held small to mid-sized businesses with revenues ranging from $1.5 million to $50 million. The materials do not establish that this range is a universal eligibility rule for every service.[5]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Carpenter Hawke & Co.?

For an owner evaluating Carpenter Hawke, the published materials establish a sell-side advisory model with confidential marketing, buyer and industry research, negotiation support, valuation capability, and stated experience across several business sectors. The published revenue range is $1.5 million to $50 million for privately held small to mid-sized businesses.

Before an engagement, an owner should confirm the current revenue, EBITDA, or enterprise-value thresholds; success fee, retainer, minimum fee, tail, expense, and termination provisions; assignment of partners and active mandates; buyer identification and screening; valuation methodology; conflicts, exclusivity, confidentiality, and data-retention policies; and the legal entity responsible for any regulated or securities-related services.[1][2][3][4][5][7]

01

What are the current minimum and maximum revenue, EBITDA, or enterprise-value thresholds for a new engagement

The firm’s selling-business materials state a revenue range of $1.5 million to $50 million for privately held small to mid-sized businesses, while the materials do not establish that the range applies universally to every engagement.[5]
02

What are the success fee, retainer, minimum fee, tail, expense, and termination provisions

The official contact page does not publish a standard success-fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule.[2]
03

Which partners will lead the assignment, and how many active mandates do they handle

The public process describes the firm’s work at a general level but does not identify assignment staffing or individual workload in the available description.[5]

What size transactions and clients does Carpenter Hawke & Co. focus on?

Carpenter Hawke states that it has completed more than 250 transactions across manufacturing, business services, technology, and distribution. The firm identifies these as areas of transaction experience and does not describe them as an exclusive industry mandate.[1]

The American M&A Association’s tombstone page identifies Brace Carpenter of Carpenter Hawke as advisor on AVO Fence & Supply, which sold substantially all assets and partnered with AVO Acquisition LLC in 2019/2020. The same page identifies Brace Carpenter as advisor on Dion Signs, which sold substantially all assets and partnered with Poyant in 2019/2020.

It also identifies Brace Carpenter of Carpenter Hawke as advisor on Anchor Bancorp, which was acquired by an undisclosed buyer in 2019/2020. These examples are public transaction references and do not constitute a complete deal archive.[6]

The firm’s stated transaction services include sell-side mergers and acquisitions, divestitures, valuation, and targeted buy-side acquisition searches. Its sell-side process is described as confidential and marketing-driven, with preparation, buyer and industry research, confidential outreach, negotiation, and efforts to generate multiple interested parties.[3][4][5]

What does Carpenter Hawke & Co. publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official transactions page invites visitors to call for confidential transaction details and does not publish named transaction terms, consideration amounts, buyer identities, or a complete deal archive on that page.

The official contact page provides contact information and a general confidentiality description but does not publish a standard success-fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule.[2][7]

The official contact page identifies the operating entity as Carpenter Hawke & Co., LLC. The available public description does not establish firm-level broker-dealer or investment-adviser registration status. Owners should verify the legal entity responsible for any regulated securities, investment-advisory, or financing services relevant to an engagement.[2]

Carpenter Hawke describes a confidential sell-side process involving business preparation, buyer and industry research, confidential marketing, negotiation, and efforts to generate multiple interested parties. The firm’s stated buy-side work includes targeted searches for acquisition candidates that may not be publicly marketed.[4][5]

Questions to ask before hiring Carpenter Hawke & Co.

What are the current minimum and maximum revenue, EBITDA, or enterprise-value thresholds for a new engagement?
The firm’s selling-business materials state a revenue range of $1.5 million to $50 million for privately held small to mid-sized businesses, while the materials do not establish that the range applies universally to every engagement.[5]
What are the success fee, retainer, minimum fee, tail, expense, and termination provisions?
The official contact page does not publish a standard success-fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule.[2]
Which partners will lead the assignment, and how many active mandates do they handle?
The public process describes the firm’s work at a general level but does not identify assignment staffing or individual workload in the available description.[5]
How will strategic, private-equity, corporate, and individual buyers be identified and screened?
The sell-side process includes buyer and industry research and confidential marketing, making buyer identification and screening a material point to clarify.[5]
Can the firm provide recent comparable transactions with dates, buyer types, transaction structures, and outcome metrics?
The official transactions page invites visitors to call for confidential details and does not publish named transaction terms, consideration amounts, buyer identities, or a complete deal archive on that page.[7]
What valuation standards and methodologies will be used?
The firm describes USPAP-compliant certified business appraisals for several purposes, but the available public description does not specify the methodology for a particular sale engagement.[4]
What conflicts, exclusivity, confidentiality, and data-retention policies apply?
The firm describes its sell-side process as confidential, but the available public description does not specify the full set of engagement policies governing conflicts, exclusivity, or data retention.[5]
Does the firm or any affiliate provide regulated securities, investment-advisory, or financing services, and which legal entity would perform those services?
The official contact page identifies Carpenter Hawke & Co., LLC, but the available public description does not establish firm-level broker-dealer or investment-adviser registration status.[2]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Services / capabilities
  5. Investment approach
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Public disclosure information
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.