Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Charlesbank Capital Partners

Charlesbank Capital Partners states that it invests in middle-market companies through private equity and private credit strategies. Its private equity criteria include $20 million to $100 million of EBITDA and enterprise values between $150 million and $3 billion, with primary sectors spanning business and consumer services, healthcare, industrials, and technology and technology infrastructure.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Charlesbank Capital Partners

Charlesbank Capital Partners publicly describes a middle-market private equity strategy that primarily pursues control investments, while remaining open to minority investments where management alignment is strong. It invests primarily in North American businesses and states a target range of $20 million to $100 million of EBITDA and $150 million to $3 billion of enterprise value.[1][2][5][8][9]

What does Charlesbank Capital Partners invest in?

Charlesbank Capital Partners is a U.S.-based middle-market private investment firm founded in 1998 by former principals of Harvard Private Capital Group. The firm publicly offers private equity and private credit strategies.[1][2]

Charlesbank states that its private equity strategy focuses on middle-market opportunities and seeks to unlock value through management partnership, organic growth, strategic M&A, operational improvement, and other tailored value-creation initiatives.

Its private equity strategy primarily pursues control investments while remaining open to minority investments where there is strong alignment with management. Charlesbank typically maintains board representation.[1][2]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
Charlesbank states that its private equity strategy invests in middle-market companies with $20 million to $100 million of EBITDA and enterprise values between $150 million and $3 billion. Its approach page identifies $150 million-$3 billion as the typical private equity total enterprise value range and approximately $4.1 billion as its current private equity fund size.[1][2]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Charlesbank Capital Partners?

An owner evaluating Charlesbank can compare the company’s circumstances with Charlesbank’s stated middle-market criteria, including $20 million to $100 million of EBITDA and $150 million to $3 billion of enterprise value. The owner should also clarify whether the contemplated investment would be a control or aligned minority investment, how board representation would operate, and which management-partnership and value-creation resources would apply.

Transaction-specific diligence should address valuation, governance, financing, management economics, investment horizon, add-on acquisitions, and follow-on capital. The Overbay and CENTEGIX announcements do not disclose their respective financial or transaction terms.[1][2][5][7][8]

01

What ownership percentage and governance rights does Charlesbank typically seek

Charlesbank states that its private equity strategy primarily pursues control investments, remains open to aligned minority investments, and typically maintains board representation.[1]
02

How are valuation, leverage, rollover equity, and management incentive arrangements determined

The public criteria establish EBITDA and enterprise-value parameters, but do not specify these transaction mechanics.[1]
03

Which Charlesbank fund and strategy would invest, and what is the expected investment horizon or exit approach

Charlesbank’s private equity and private credit descriptions identify those strategies and approximately $4.1 billion as the current private equity fund size, but do not establish which fund, investment horizon, or exit approach would apply to a particular transaction.[2]

What companies does Charlesbank Capital Partners target?

Charlesbank states that it invests in middle-market companies with $20 million to $100 million of EBITDA and enterprise values between $150 million and $3 billion. Its approach page separately identifies $150 million-$3 billion as the typical private equity total enterprise value range and approximately $4.1 billion as its current private equity fund size.[1][2]

Charlesbank identifies four primary private equity sectors: Business & Consumer Services, Healthcare, Industrials, and Technology & Technology Infrastructure.[3]

Charlesbank states that it invests primarily in North American businesses.[1]

Charlesbank’s stated private equity approach primarily involves control investments, while allowing for minority investments where management alignment is strong. The firm typically maintains board representation.

A public transaction example is Charlesbank-backed Velocity One’s completed acquisition of Kaney Aerospace on February 24, 2026.[1][7]

Charlesbank’s official all-investments page lists Overbay Capital Partners as a 2026 private equity investment, Velocity One as a 2025 private equity investment, Bridgepointe Technologies as a 2021 investment, and Centegix as a 2025 investment.

The all-investments page does not include credit investments.[4]

On March 13, 2026, Overbay Capital Partners announced that it had entered into a definitive agreement for a strategic growth investment from funds managed by Charlesbank Capital Partners.

On April 9, 2026, Bridgepointe Technologies announced a strategic growth investment led by Charlesbank Capital Partners and Carlyle AlpInvest. The announcement stated that Charlesbank was an existing investor and that the investment valued Bridgepointe at over $1 billion.

On February 24, 2026, Charlesbank-backed Velocity One acquired Kaney Aerospace. On August 19, 2025, Charlesbank announced a growth investment in CENTEGIX, an Atlanta-based provider of workplace safety solutions.[5][6][7][8]

What is not clear from Charlesbank Capital Partners's public investment criteria?

The Overbay transaction announcement states that financial terms were not disclosed. The CENTEGIX investment announcement states that transaction terms were not disclosed.

The Charlesbank terms page does not state an SEC, FINRA, or other regulator registration number or status for Charlesbank Capital Partners, LLC.[5][8][9]

Questions to ask when evaluating Charlesbank Capital Partners as a buyer or investment partner

What ownership percentage and governance rights does Charlesbank typically seek?
Charlesbank states that its private equity strategy primarily pursues control investments, remains open to aligned minority investments, and typically maintains board representation.[1]
How are valuation, leverage, rollover equity, and management incentive arrangements determined?
The public criteria establish EBITDA and enterprise-value parameters, but do not specify these transaction mechanics.[1]
Which Charlesbank fund and strategy would invest, and what is the expected investment horizon or exit approach?
Charlesbank’s private equity and private credit descriptions identify those strategies and approximately $4.1 billion as the current private equity fund size, but do not establish which fund, investment horizon, or exit approach would apply to a particular transaction.[2]
What operational resources would be assigned to the company?
Charlesbank states that it supports value creation through management partnership, organic growth, strategic M&A, operational improvement, and other tailored initiatives.[2]
How does Charlesbank handle add-on acquisitions, capital calls, refinancing, and follow-on equity?
The Velocity One acquisition announcement documents a platform acquisition but does not establish Charlesbank’s general terms or process for add-on acquisitions, capital calls, refinancing, or follow-on equity.[7]
Which transaction terms, fees, conflicts, and regulatory disclosures will be provided during diligence?
The Overbay and CENTEGIX announcements state that transaction terms were not disclosed, and the terms page does not state an SEC, FINRA, or other regulator registration number or status for Charlesbank Capital Partners, LLC.[5][8][9]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Industry / market focus
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Structure / regulatory context
  10. Structure / regulatory context
  11. Structure / regulatory context
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.