Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Chatham Asset Management

Chatham Asset Management describes a leveraged-credit platform with two complementary strategies: a long/short, opportunistic High Yield Strategy and a private-debt Strategic Capital Strategy. Its stated investment activity includes high-yield bonds, leveraged loans and special situations across North America.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Chatham Asset Management

Chatham's public materials establish a leveraged-credit focus, two investment strategies, a flexible capital-structure mandate and North America coverage. The sources cited for this profile do not establish a current portfolio, current AUM, a transaction archive, or investment-level transaction terms.[1][2][3][4][5]

What does Chatham Asset Management invest in?

Chatham Asset Management is a private investment firm focused on the leveraged credit market. The firm states that it was founded in 2003 by Anthony Melchiorre and is based in Chatham, New Jersey, with an additional office in Chicago, Illinois.

Chatham states that it is 100% employee-owned, with significant investments from principals. Its public materials describe a 22-year track record of managing capital and more than 150 years of combined experience in high-yield and leveraged credit.[1]

Chatham describes two complementary investment strategies: a long/short, opportunistic High Yield Strategy and a private-debt Strategic Capital Strategy.

The firm states that its investment process includes bottom-up company analysis, fundamentally based security selection, bond-indenture and covenant analysis, position sizing, active portfolio management and risk management. Its flexible mandate allows long and short investments across all parts of the capital structure, including concentrated and control positions.[1][2]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
Chatham states that it has a 22-year track record of managing capital, is 100% employee-owned with significant investments from principals, and has more than 150 years of combined experience in high-yield and leveraged credit. A March 2022 Form ADV disclosure identified in an SEC administrative order stated that Chatham managed approximately $8.6 billion on a discretionary basis across its clients; this is a dated disclosure rather than a current AUM figure.[1][3]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Chatham Asset Management?

For an owner evaluating capital, Chatham’s stated capabilities include private debt, high-yield, special-situations and flexible capital-structure investing, including concentrated and control positions. The public record therefore supports asking whether the proposed capital would be debt, structured capital or an equity investment and what control rights would accompany it.

The official About page does not publish a current AUM figure or named current portfolio companies. The official Strategies page does not identify a transaction archive, and the 2026 SEC Form D does not disclose investment-level transaction terms. An owner should confirm the applicable instrument, transaction-size parameters, leverage expectations, covenants, control rights, refinancing or repayment expectations, conflicts, affiliated entities and regulatory registrations directly for the proposed transaction.[1][2][4][5]

01

What is Chatham’s current AUM and available capital for new investments

The official About page does not publish a current AUM figure, while the approximately $8.6 billion figure in the SEC order relates to a March 2022 Form ADV disclosure.[1][3]
02

Would the proposed investment be structured as private debt, another form of structured capital, or an equity investment

Chatham describes a private-debt Strategic Capital Strategy and a mandate spanning all parts of the capital structure, including concentrated and control positions.[1][2]
03

What transaction sizes, leverage levels, EBITDA or revenue thresholds and geographic parameters apply

Chatham’s public materials describe its process and North America coverage but do not establish public numerical transaction criteria.[1][2]

What investment criteria does Chatham Asset Management publicly describe?

Chatham states that it invests across high-yield bonds, leveraged loans and special-situations opportunities in North America. The firm’s public materials establish a leveraged-credit focus but do not specify a narrow industry-sector mandate.[1]

Chatham’s public materials describe its analytical process and capital-structure flexibility rather than specific public transaction thresholds. They identify bottom-up company analysis, security selection, covenant analysis, position sizing, active portfolio management and risk management as components of the stated process.

The sources cited for this profile do not establish public minimum or maximum transaction sizes, leverage levels, EBITDA or revenue thresholds, or other numerical investment criteria.[1][2]

Chatham states that its leveraged-credit investment activity covers North America. The firm is based in Chatham, New Jersey, and has an additional office in Chicago, Illinois.[1]

An SEC administrative order states that Chatham acquired 78% of AMI Parent’s equity for certain funds in 2014. The order describes AMI as a print-media publisher whose publications included US Weekly and The National Enquirer.

The same order identifies several funds advised by Chatham during the relevant period, including Chatham Asset High Yield Master Fund, Chatham Asset Private Debt and Strategic Capital Fund, Chatham Fund, Chatham Everest Fund and Chatham Eureka Fund. This historical evidence does not establish a current portfolio.[3]

SEC records identify a 2026 Form D for Chatham Asset Private Debt & Strategic Capital Fund V LP. The filing identifies Chatham Asset Management, LLC as an executive officer and promoter and describes it as the fund’s management company.

The SEC states that on April 3, 2023, it instituted and simultaneously settled administrative and cease-and-desist proceedings against Chatham Asset Management, LLC and Anthony Melchiorre concerning historical trading in three American Media Inc. high-yield debt securities.[4][5]

What is not clear from Chatham Asset Management's public materials?

The official Strategies page does not identify named current portfolio companies, dated acquisitions or a transaction archive. The official About page does not publish a current AUM figure, fund-level performance, fees, investor eligibility terms, named current portfolio companies or acquisition consideration.

The 2026 SEC Form D identifies fund structure and related persons but does not disclose portfolio-company acquisitions or investment-level transaction terms. The SEC distribution page does not establish Chatham Asset Management’s current firm-level investment-adviser registration status or registration number.[1][2][4][5]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Chatham Asset Management

What is Chatham’s current AUM and available capital for new investments?
The official About page does not publish a current AUM figure, while the approximately $8.6 billion figure in the SEC order relates to a March 2022 Form ADV disclosure.[1][3]
Would the proposed investment be structured as private debt, another form of structured capital, or an equity investment?
Chatham describes a private-debt Strategic Capital Strategy and a mandate spanning all parts of the capital structure, including concentrated and control positions.[1][2]
What transaction sizes, leverage levels, EBITDA or revenue thresholds and geographic parameters apply?
Chatham’s public materials describe its process and North America coverage but do not establish public numerical transaction criteria.[1][2]
Can Chatham take board or control rights, and what covenants or other control provisions would apply?
Chatham states that its flexible mandate can include concentrated and control positions. The specific rights and provisions for a proposed transaction should be confirmed directly.[1][4]
What investment duration, refinancing, repayment or exit expectations and potential conflicts should be addressed?
The official Strategies page does not identify a transaction archive, and the official About page does not publish acquisition consideration. The applicable expectations and potential conflicts should be confirmed directly for the proposed transaction.[1][2]
Which firm-level regulatory registrations and affiliated entities apply to the proposed transaction?
The 2026 Form D identifies Chatham Asset Management, LLC as a management company, executive officer and promoter for a named fund, while the SEC distribution page does not establish its current firm-level investment-adviser registration status or registration number.[4][5]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Investment strategy
  3. SEC filing / regulatory record
  4. SEC filing / regulatory record
  5. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.