Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Clayton, Dubilier & Rice

Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, commonly known as CD&R, is a private investment firm founded in 1978. It states that it focuses solely on private equity, invests across five sector groups in North America and Europe, and works with current owners and management teams.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Clayton, Dubilier & Rice

CD&R publicly describes a private-equity model centered on solution capital, partnerships with current owners and management teams, and operating value creation. Its cited current approach page does not state a universal minimum or maximum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise value, equity-check or company-size threshold.[1][2][3]

What does Clayton, Dubilier & Rice invest in?

Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, commonly known as CD&R, is a private investment firm founded in 1978. CD&R states that it focuses solely on private equity and offers solution capital that combines invested capital with guidance, expertise and a solution-focused approach to growth.[1][2]

CD&R states that many investments are made in partnership with current business owners, including corporations, founders, families or other shareholders. It also states that its operating partners and fund advisors work closely with management teams to build businesses and support operational value creation.[2]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
The cited current approach page does not state a universal minimum or maximum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise value, equity-check or company-size threshold.[2][3]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice?

For an owner evaluating a sale or partnership, CD&R’s stated model includes solution capital, partnership with current owners and management teams, and operating-value-creation support. Its recent public announcements also show majority, minority and consortium transaction structures. An owner should clarify which CD&R fund or affiliated entity would invest, the proposed ownership structure, any equity rollover, governance rights, leverage, management incentives, board arrangements, operating resources, applicable financial thresholds and the expected ownership duration or exit approach.[2][5][6][7]

01

Which CD&R fund or affiliated entity would make the investment

CD&R’s public materials describe the firm and its investment approach, while the specific investing fund or affiliated entity for an opportunity should be confirmed directly.[2]
02

Would the transaction be a majority, minority or control investment

CD&R’s public announcements include a majority-interest acquisition, a transaction in which it retained significant minority ownership, and a minority-stake sale while retaining majority control.[6][7]
03

What equity rollover and governance rights would existing owners retain

CD&R states that many investments are made in partnership with current business owners and other shareholders; the specific rollover and governance arrangements for an opportunity are not established by these sources.[2]

What companies does Clayton, Dubilier & Rice target?

The cited current approach page describes CD&R’s sectors, partnership model and operating approach but does not state a universal minimum or maximum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise value, equity-check or company-size threshold.[2]

CD&R identifies five investment sector groups: Consumer & Retail Services, Financial Services, Healthcare, Industrials & Business Services and Technology.[2]

CD&R states that it invests in companies across North America and Europe.[2]

The sources cited for this profile do not establish a platform-versus-add-on framework.

CD&R’s current official portfolio page lists named investments including agilon health, American Greetings, Columbus McKinnon, Exclusive Networks, Opella, R1 RCM, Sealed Air, Veritiv and White Cap, together with sector, geography and portfolio-entry year information.[3]

Sealed Air announced on November 17, 2025 that it had entered into an agreement to be acquired by funds affiliated with CD&R in an all-cash transaction with an enterprise value of $10.3 billion; the CD&R news archive records completion on April 9, 2026.

CD&R and its consortium partners completed the acquisition and delisting of Exclusive Networks in March 2025, following completion of the initial acquisition on December 17, 2024 and a subsequent tender-offer and squeeze-out process.

CD&R and Elliott Investment Management completed the acquisition of a majority interest in American Greetings on February 3, 2025, while CD&R and the Weiss family retained significant minority ownership. In August 2025, CD&R announced the sale of a minority stake in Motor Fuel Group to institutional investors while retaining majority control.[4][5][6][7]

What is not clear from Clayton, Dubilier & Rice's public investment criteria?

The cited current approach page does not state a universal minimum or maximum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise value, equity-check or company-size threshold.

The cited current portfolio page identifies portfolio companies, sectors, geographies and portfolio-entry years but does not publish transaction consideration or valuation for each listed investment.[2][3]

Questions to ask when evaluating Clayton, Dubilier & Rice as a buyer or investment partner

Which CD&R fund or affiliated entity would make the investment?
CD&R’s public materials describe the firm and its investment approach, while the specific investing fund or affiliated entity for an opportunity should be confirmed directly.[2]
Would the transaction be a majority, minority or control investment?
CD&R’s public announcements include a majority-interest acquisition, a transaction in which it retained significant minority ownership, and a minority-stake sale while retaining majority control.[6][7]
What equity rollover and governance rights would existing owners retain?
CD&R states that many investments are made in partnership with current business owners and other shareholders; the specific rollover and governance arrangements for an opportunity are not established by these sources.[2]
What operating resources and sector executives would be assigned?
CD&R states that operating partners and fund advisors work closely with management teams to support operational value creation; the resources assigned to a specific investment should be confirmed.[2]
Which financial thresholds and diligence criteria apply to the specific opportunity?
The cited current approach page does not state a universal revenue, EBITDA, enterprise value, equity-check or company-size threshold.[2]
What is the expected ownership duration or exit approach?
The sources cited for this profile establish examples of acquisitions, ownership retention and a minority-stake sale, but do not establish the expected ownership duration or exit approach for a specific opportunity.[4][5][6][7]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Structure / regulatory context
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.