Edgewater Funds
Edgewater Funds is a Chicago-based private equity firm with over $4 billion of capital commitments raised since 2001. Its published criteria identify U.S. and Canadian companies with $3M-$40M of EBITDA, no minimum for add-ons, and initial equity investments of $10M-$100M.
What stands out about Edgewater Funds
Edgewater Funds publicly describes a flexible control and non-control investment model focused on executive-led buy-and-build opportunities in Business Services, Healthcare, and Industrials. Its stated target geography is the U.S. and Canada, with company size and initial equity criteria defined on its investment-criteria page.[1][2][3][4][9]
What does Edgewater Funds invest in?
The Edgewater Funds is a Chicago-based private equity firm with over $4 billion of capital commitments raised since 2001. Edgewater provides capital to middle-market companies through growth equity minority investments and buyout investments.[1]
Edgewater focuses on executive-led buy-and-build investment opportunities and consolidation strategies in fragmented industries. It considers both control and non-control investments.[2]
Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.
Published criteria: Edgewater targets companies with $3M-$40M of EBITDA, has no minimum for add-ons, and makes initial equity investments of $10M-$100M.[2]
What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Edgewater Funds?
For an owner evaluating a sale or growth partnership, Edgewater publicly describes both control and non-control investments and identifies recapitalizations, management buyouts, family successions, corporate carve-outs, growth capital, and co-investments among its transaction types. Owners may wish to clarify the proposed control structure, any rollover equity, the applicable fund or affiliate, governance arrangements, financing approach, add-on plans, and the terms that would apply to the transaction.[1][2][3][4]
What level of control or rollover equity would be expected for the proposed transaction
Which fund or affiliate would make the investment, and what governance arrangements would apply
Would the proposed transaction be structured as a recapitalization, management buyout, family succession, corporate carve-out, growth-capital investment, co-investment, or another structure
What companies does Edgewater Funds target?
Edgewater targets companies with $3M-$40M of EBITDA, has no minimum for add-ons, and makes initial equity investments of $10M-$100M.[2]
Edgewater’s stated industry focus is Business Services, Healthcare, and Industrials.[2]
Edgewater’s stated investment geography is the U.S. and Canada.[2]
Edgewater’s published strategy emphasizes executive-led buy-and-build opportunities and consolidation strategies in fragmented industries. Its criteria state that there is no minimum EBITDA requirement for add-ons.[2]
Publicly identified Edgewater investments and portfolio platforms include Parker Manufacturing Group, AFT Industries, Nationwide Cooling Group, and Boulden Company. The cited announcements describe Parker as a manufacturer of highly engineered precision fasteners; AFT as a platform focused on engineered fasteners and value-added services; Nationwide Cooling Group as the portfolio company involved in the Protecall acquisition; and Boulden as a platform focused on aftermarket wear components, materials solutions, and services for high-value reciprocating and rotating equipment.[3][4][5][6]
Edgewater announced its investment in Parker Manufacturing Group in July 2026 and its investment in AFT Industries in April 2026. In March 2026, Edgewater announced that portfolio company Nationwide Cooling Group completed the acquisition of Protecall Corp. and its subsidiaries. In August 2025, Edgewater announced its investment in Boulden Company.[3][4][5][6]
What is not clear from Edgewater Funds's public investment criteria?
The cited Parker Manufacturing Group announcement does not disclose purchase price, valuation, consideration terms, or detailed financing terms for the investment. The cited AFT Industries announcement likewise does not disclose those terms. The cited portfolio page lists active and realized investments but does not provide transaction-level purchase prices, valuations, or consideration terms for the listed companies.[3][4][9]
Questions to ask when evaluating Edgewater Funds as a buyer or investment partner
What level of control or rollover equity would be expected for the proposed transaction?
Which fund or affiliate would make the investment, and what governance arrangements would apply?
Would the proposed transaction be structured as a recapitalization, management buyout, family succession, corporate carve-out, growth-capital investment, co-investment, or another structure?
What add-on acquisition plans and follow-on capital arrangements would apply?
What valuation methodology, fees, expenses, indemnities, financing terms, and transaction-consummation conditions would apply?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Investment strategy
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- SEC investment adviser record
- Structure / regulatory context
- Public disclosure information
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.