Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Equistone

Equistone states that it focuses on change-of-ownership deals requiring between €25m and €200m of equity in businesses with enterprise values between €50m and €500m. It operates across the UK, Benelux, France, Germany and Switzerland and supports portfolio companies through organic growth and strategic acquisitions alongside management teams.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Equistone

Equistone publicly describes a European mid-market change-of-ownership strategy, with stated equity requirements of €25m to €200m and enterprise-value criteria of €50m to €500m. Its disclosed sectors include Industrials, Business Services, TMT, Consumer, Financial Services and Healthcare.[1][2][3][6][7][8]

What does Equistone invest in?

Equistone Partners Europe Limited is the legal entity identified by Equistone as operating its website and private equity platform. It is an active UK private limited company incorporated on 31 July 1973. Equistone states that its strategy focuses on change-of-ownership deals requiring between €25m and €200m of equity in businesses with enterprise values between €50m and €500m.[1][2][3]

Equistone describes a change-of-ownership strategy and states that it supports portfolio companies through organic growth and strategic acquisitions. Its stated approach is to act as a strategic partner alongside management teams.[3]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
Equistone states that it focuses on change-of-ownership deals requiring between €25m and €200m of equity in businesses with enterprise values between €50m and €500m.

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Equistone?

An owner evaluating Equistone can compare the business’s transaction requirements with the firm’s published equity and enterprise-value parameters, and can clarify how the stated change-of-ownership approach would apply to the proposed transaction. The owner may also wish to clarify management alignment, strategic acquisition support, current vehicle availability, ownership expectations, management rollover, sector screens, investment horizon, governance rights and the level of operational support available.[3]

01

What current fund or reinvestment vehicle would be available for a new platform investment

Equistone publishes aggregate equity and enterprise-value parameters, but the public criteria do not identify the vehicle available for a particular opportunity.[3]
02

What ownership percentage and management rollover are typically expected

The cited strategy description does not specify ownership or rollover terms.[3]
03

How does Equistone distinguish primary management buyouts, secondary management buyouts, carve-outs and minority reinvestments

The public strategy description establishes a change-of-ownership focus but does not set out the treatment of these transaction types.[3]

What companies does Equistone target?

The stated criteria are change-of-ownership transactions requiring between €25m and €200m of equity in businesses with enterprise values between €50m and €500m. These figures describe Equistone’s published aggregate investment parameters; they do not establish the terms or size of every individual transaction.[3][6]

Equistone’s reported 2024 portfolio sector breakdown was 33% Industrials, 27% Business Services, 21% Technology, Media and Telecom, 13% Consumer, 3% Financial Services and 3% Healthcare, based on information available at 31 December 2024.[4]

Equistone states that it operates across the UK, Benelux, France, Germany and Switzerland. Its listed offices are in London, Manchester, Birmingham, Paris, Munich, Zug and Amsterdam.[5]

Equistone publicly describes a change-of-ownership strategy and says it supports strategic acquisitions alongside organic growth. The sources cited for this profile do not establish a separate platform-versus-add-on classification framework.[3]

Equistone’s official investments archive lists companies including SF-Filter, Virgin Experience Days, eperi, TIMETOACT GROUP, KWC Group, Omnicare, RENA, Nylacast, BOAL Group and GALA GROUP. Its platform page also lists QuestGates, BUKO Group, Nexus, Talon, Safic-Alcan, adm Indicia, Gardengate, GSCM Groupe and Vertbaudet as investments with dated entries.[5][6]

Equistone’s official pages state that PIA Media was sold to Highview in April 2026, Omnicare was sold to Allianz ambulante Onkologie in May 2026, and TIMETOACT GROUP was sold to HIG Capital in June 2025. The KWC Group page states that its business units were sold separately to strategic buyers in 2024 and 2025, with KWC Professional sold to DELABIE as the final exit. GALA GROUP was sold to Trend Glass in September 2025.[7][8][9][10][11]

What is not clear from Equistone's public investment criteria?

The official Equistone investments archive lists portfolio companies and transaction dates but does not disclose consideration, equity invested or enterprise value for each listed transaction. The official TIMETOACT GROUP transaction page does not disclose sale consideration, HIG Capital’s equity contribution or transaction financing terms. The official KWC Group transaction page does not disclose consideration or financing terms for its separate 2024 and 2025 disposals.[6][7][8]

Questions to ask when evaluating Equistone as a buyer or investment partner

What current fund or reinvestment vehicle would be available for a new platform investment?
Equistone publishes aggregate equity and enterprise-value parameters, but the public criteria do not identify the vehicle available for a particular opportunity.[3]
What ownership percentage and management rollover are typically expected?
The cited strategy description does not specify ownership or rollover terms.[3]
How does Equistone distinguish primary management buyouts, secondary management buyouts, carve-outs and minority reinvestments?
The public strategy description establishes a change-of-ownership focus but does not set out the treatment of these transaction types.[3]
What current sector exclusions or ESG screens apply?
Equistone reports exposure across six sector groupings. The cited sector materials do not establish current exclusions or screening rules.[4]
What investment horizon, exit-planning assumptions and governance rights would apply?
Equistone’s public transaction pages record selected holding periods and exits, but they do not establish standard horizon or governance terms.[7][9][11]
What level of strategic acquisition funding and operational support would be available?
Equistone states that it supports organic growth and strategic acquisitions alongside management teams, but its public description does not quantify the available support or funding.[3]
Which recent transactions are directly comparable by enterprise value, equity requirement, geography and sector?
Equistone publishes aggregate transaction parameters and named portfolio activity, while the official investments archive does not disclose consideration, equity invested or enterprise value for each listed transaction.[3][6]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Identity / organization record
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Industry / market focus
  5. Geography / market coverage
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. Transaction / portfolio evidence
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.