Frontenac
Frontenac is a Chicago-based private equity firm founded in 1971. It invests in leaders and middle-market companies through a growth-buyout strategy focused on consumer, industrial, and services businesses.
What stands out about Frontenac
Frontenac publicly describes a control-oriented growth-buyout strategy for North America-based, privately held middle-market companies. Its stated criteria include $5M–$40M EBITDA, $50M–$150M equity investments, differentiated products or services, and strong incumbent teams. Frontenac also uses its CEO1ST® model, through which experienced operators may serve in executive or board roles.[1][2][3][4][5][7]
What does Frontenac invest in?
Frontenac is a Chicago-based private equity firm founded in 1971. The firm states that it invests in leaders and middle-market companies and describes its strategy as growth buyouts for well-positioned, growing, profitable privately held businesses.
Frontenac’s public materials describe support that includes strategic planning, operational improvement, M&A identification and integration, talent enhancement, technology strategy, and financial reporting. Its CEO1ST® approach allows experienced operators to serve as CEO, Chairman, Lead Director, Board Member, or in another leadership role at a portfolio company.[1][2][3]
Frontenac describes its investment strategy as growth buyouts in the middle market. Its stated objectives include addressing liquidity, management enhancement, and growth-planning needs at privately held businesses.
The firm’s investment approach combines capital with value-creation playbooks covering strategic planning, M&A identification and integration, sales and marketing effectiveness, product development, pricing, procurement, working-capital optimization, technology strategy, talent enhancement, and financial reporting.[1][3]
Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.
Published criteria: Frontenac states that it seeks control ownership, $50M–$150M equity investments, and companies with $5M–$40M EBITDA, differentiated products or services, and strong incumbent teams.[3]
What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Frontenac?
For an owner evaluating a sale or capital partnership, Frontenac’s published criteria point to a control-oriented transaction involving a North America-based company with $5M–$40M EBITDA, differentiated products or services, and a strong incumbent team. The stated equity-investment range is $50M–$150M.
Frontenac’s CEO1ST® model indicates that an experienced operator may serve as CEO, Chairman, Lead Director, Board Member, or in another leadership role. Owners should clarify the proposed control structure, incumbent-management responsibilities, executive-partner role, governance rights, follow-on acquisition expectations, capitalization, and intended liquidity path for the specific transaction.[2][3]
What percentage of control ownership is typically acquired, and what rollover equity would be expected
How is the $50M–$150M equity-investment range applied to platform versus add-on transactions
Which CEO1ST® partner would be proposed, and what governance or operating role would that person hold
What companies does Frontenac target?
Frontenac’s stated criteria include control ownership, $50M–$150M equity investments, and $5M–$40M EBITDA. It also specifies North America-based companies with differentiated products or services and strong incumbent teams.
Frontenac describes its strategy as serving privately held middle-market businesses and identifies growth, profitability, liquidity, management enhancement, and growth planning within its public strategy description.[1][3]
Frontenac publicly focuses on three sectors: consumer, industrial, and services. Its listed areas include food and ingredients, pet and consumer services, specialty distribution, engineered solutions, water and wastewater, industrial services, IT services, business-process outsourcing, professional services, and technology services.[3]
Frontenac’s investment criteria specify North America-based companies. The firm is based in Chicago, Illinois.[1][3]
Frontenac describes its primary strategy as growth buyouts in privately held middle-market companies. Its public portfolio materials also identify add-on activity at CROM and Motion & Control Enterprises.
CROM’s portfolio page identifies 2026 add-on acquisitions of Dobbs Coating Systems and Mountain West Tank Resources, along with 2025 acquisitions including CFG Industries, Carolina Management Team, and WaterTight Solutions. Motion & Control Enterprises’ portfolio page identifies 2026 acquisitions of MJ Systems, LLC, Salentine Pump & Equipment, Tripp Electric Motors, LLC, and TLR Hydraulics, Inc.[1][8][9]
Frontenac’s official portfolio includes active investments such as Honk Technologies, NutriScience, Bill Gosling Outsourcing, CROM, Motion & Control Enterprises, Integrated Openings Solutions, and Beckway.
The portfolio page states that the displayed investments represent a selection of Frontenac investments rather than a complete list.[4]
Frontenac completed a recapitalization of Honk Technologies on April 7, 2026. Honk is described as a technology-enabled roadside-assistance provider serving insurance providers, original equipment manufacturers, and fleet-management companies.
Frontenac recapitalized Bill Gosling Outsourcing in 2026. The company provides accounts-receivable management, customer-experience, and other business-process outsourcing services across onshore, nearshore, and offshore locations.
Frontenac announced a recapitalization of NutriScience, Inc. on August 5, 2026. NutriScience develops and markets scientifically supported, clinically validated ingredients for nutraceutical, functional food and beverage, pet, and animal-health markets.
Frontenac portfolio pages also identify 2026 add-on acquisitions by CROM and Motion & Control Enterprises, including Dobbs Coating Systems, Mountain West Tank Resources, MJ Systems, LLC, Salentine Pump & Equipment, Tripp Electric Motors, LLC, and TLR Hydraulics, Inc.[5][6][7][8][9]
What is not clear from Frontenac's public investment criteria?
The Honk Technologies transaction announcement states that financial terms of the recapitalization were not disclosed. The NutriScience transaction announcement likewise states that the terms of the recapitalization were not disclosed.
The official Frontenac portfolio page states that its displayed investments are a selection and directs readers to contact Frontenac for a full list.[4][5][7]
Questions to ask when evaluating Frontenac as a buyer or investment partner
What percentage of control ownership is typically acquired, and what rollover equity would be expected?
How is the $50M–$150M equity-investment range applied to platform versus add-on transactions?
Which CEO1ST® partner would be proposed, and what governance or operating role would that person hold?
What is the expected ownership horizon and exit approach for the specific investment?
How much follow-on acquisition capital is available for the specific investment?
What transaction fees, monitoring fees, debt parameters, indemnities, escrow provisions, and management-equity terms would apply?
Which Frontenac legal entity would make the investment, and what fund structure governs the transaction?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Investment approach
- Services / capabilities
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- SEC filing / regulatory record
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.