Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Gi Partners

GI Partners describes a private equity strategy for North American middle-market businesses led by experienced management teams. Its stated criteria include initial equity of up to $1.5 billion, enterprise value at entry of up to $2 billion, downside protection, strong management, and meaningful value creation potential.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Gi Partners

GI Partners publicly describes a collaborative, operationally engaged private equity model focused on healthcare, services, and software. Its public transaction announcements include majority investments in which existing management or shareholders retained ownership, although transaction-specific financial and other definitive terms require direct diligence.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][9]

What does Gi Partners invest in?

GI Partners is a private alternatives investment firm founded in 2001 that invests through private equity, real estate, and data infrastructure strategies. Its private equity strategy invests in North American middle-market businesses led by experienced management teams and supports portfolio companies from sourcing and acquisition through value creation and eventual sale.

The firm describes its private equity approach as collaborative and operationally engaged, with an emphasis on capital preservation, downside protection, and consistent value creation.[1][3]

GI Partners identifies advantaged sourcing, resident industry knowledge, operational value creation, and collaborative partnerships with portfolio-company management teams as elements of its investment approach.

Its stated value-creation strategies include organic growth, operational excellence, leadership development, and programmatic M&A. The firm also states that it prioritizes capital preservation through investments with potential for significant downside protection and consistent value creation.[3][4][5]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
GI Partners' private equity criteria state initial equity of up to $1.5 billion and enterprise value at entry of up to $2 billion. The criteria also include consistent downside protection, strong management teams, and meaningful value creation potential.[5]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Gi Partners?

Owners evaluating a potential transaction should clarify how GI Partners would apply its stated criteria for downside protection, management strength, and value creation to the specific company. The announced majority investments described above also make ownership allocation, rollover equity, governance, management incentives, and the role of any existing shareholders important transaction-specific diligence topics.

Owners should separately request the proposed valuation, financing structure, leverage, fees, expenses, indemnities, post-closing obligations, operating resources, M&A expectations, investment horizon, and exit objectives. The public releases cited above do not disclose financial terms for the Otodata, HES Facilities Management, or Egnyte transactions.[3][5][6][7][9]

01

What ownership percentage, rollover-equity expectations, governance rights, and management incentive arrangements would apply to a proposed transaction

Public announcements describe majority investments in which existing management, founders, or shareholders retained ownership or equity interests, but they do not establish the terms that would apply to a new transaction.[6][7][9][10]
02

How would GI Partners define and underwrite downside protection and meaningful value-creation potential for the specific company

Downside protection and meaningful value creation potential are stated private equity criteria, while the cited public materials do not define how those concepts would be applied to an individual opportunity.[3][5]
03

What leverage range, financing structure, fees, expenses, indemnities, and post-closing obligations would be included in the definitive documentation

The cited transaction releases for Otodata, HES Facilities Management, and Egnyte state that financial terms were not disclosed, so these transaction-specific terms require direct diligence.[6][7][9]

What companies does Gi Partners target?

GI Partners’ private equity criteria state initial equity of up to $1.5 billion and enterprise value at entry of up to $2 billion. The criteria also include consistent downside protection, strong management teams, and meaningful value creation potential.

Its private equity strategy is directed toward North American middle-market businesses led by experienced management teams.[3][5]

GI Partners’ private equity sector focus is Healthcare, Services, and Software.[5]

GI Partners’ private equity strategy has a North America middle-market focus. GI Partners lists offices in San Francisco, New York, Dallas, Chicago, Greenwich, Scottsdale, and London.[2][5]

The sources cited for this profile establish GI Partners’ use of programmatic M&A as a value-creation strategy, but they do not establish a universal platform-versus-add-on policy or identify transaction-specific add-on requirements.[5]

Publicly announced examples include a majority investment in Otodata Holdings Inc., with existing shareholders including Renovo Capital and management retaining a minority stake; a majority investment in HES Facilities Management, with its existing management team retaining significant ownership; a completed acquisition of Charles River Laboratories’ CDMO and Cell Solutions businesses, forming Rose BioSolutions; a majority investment in Egnyte, with founders, management, and existing investors retaining significant ownership; and a majority investment in eClinical Solutions, with its founders retaining a significant equity stake and Summit Partners retaining a minority position.[6][7][8][9][10]

  • Otodata Holdings Inc.: GI Partners announced a majority investment on September 1, 2026; existing shareholders, including Renovo Capital and management, retained a minority stake.
  • HES Facilities Management: GI Partners announced a majority investment on June 1, 2026; the existing management team retained significant ownership.
  • Rose BioSolutions: GI Partners completed the acquisition of Charles River Laboratories’ CDMO and Cell Solutions businesses and formed Rose BioSolutions on May 7, 2026.
  • Egnyte: GI Partners and TA Associates made a majority investment announced February 25, 2025; founders, management, and existing investors retained significant ownership.
  • eClinical Solutions: GI Partners made a majority investment announced September 12, 2024; the founders retained a significant equity stake and Summit Partners retained a minority position.
[6][7][8][9][10]

What is not clear from Gi Partners's public investment criteria?

The Otodata transaction release states that financial terms were not disclosed. The HES Facilities Management transaction release likewise states that financial terms were not disclosed, and the Egnyte transaction release states the same. These releases do not establish the financial consideration for those transactions.[6][7][9]

Questions to ask when evaluating Gi Partners as a buyer or investment partner

What ownership percentage, rollover-equity expectations, governance rights, and management incentive arrangements would apply to a proposed transaction?
Public announcements describe majority investments in which existing management, founders, or shareholders retained ownership or equity interests, but they do not establish the terms that would apply to a new transaction.[6][7][9][10]
How would GI Partners define and underwrite downside protection and meaningful value-creation potential for the specific company?
Downside protection and meaningful value creation potential are stated private equity criteria, while the cited public materials do not define how those concepts would be applied to an individual opportunity.[3][5]
What leverage range, financing structure, fees, expenses, indemnities, and post-closing obligations would be included in the definitive documentation?
The cited transaction releases for Otodata, HES Facilities Management, and Egnyte state that financial terms were not disclosed, so these transaction-specific terms require direct diligence.[6][7][9]
Which operating resources would be assigned to the company, and what organic-growth, operational-excellence, leadership-development, or M&A initiatives would be contemplated?
GI Partners identifies these activities as private equity value-creation strategies, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish the resources or initiatives for a particular company.[4][5]
What investment horizon and exit objectives would apply to the specific company?
GI Partners describes support through the investment lifecycle through eventual sale, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish a transaction-specific holding period or exit plan.[3]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Investment approach
  5. Industry / market focus
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. SEC investment adviser record
  12. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.