Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Harbourvest Partners

HarbourVest is an independent, global private markets firm with more than 40 years of experience. Its platform spans primary fund commitments, secondary investments, direct co-investments, private credit, real assets, infrastructure, evergreen solutions, and custom private markets programs.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Harbourvest Partners

HarbourVest offers multiple private markets investment strategies, including primary funds, LP-led and GP-led secondaries, direct co-investments, private credit, real assets, infrastructure, and customized programs. Its direct co-investment strategy states that it can invest $10 million to $350+ million per transaction across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.[1][2][3][4][5][6][8][9][10]

What does Harbourvest Partners invest in?

HarbourVest is an independent, global private markets firm with more than 40 years of experience. Its private equity platform spans primary fund commitments, secondary investments, and direct co-investments.

The firm also publicly describes capabilities in private credit, real assets and infrastructure, evergreen solutions, and customized private markets programs.[1][2]

HarbourVest’s primary investment approach constructs portfolios diversified by stage, company size, geography, vintage year, and manager. Its secondary strategy includes both LP-led and GP-led transactions.

Its direct co-investment strategy invests across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions and states that HarbourVest can invest $10 million to $350+ million per transaction. The strategy also sources more than 1,000 opportunities per year.[3][4][5]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Transaction sizePublicly stated range
Lower published point$167.9BILLION
Upper published point$350+

Published criteria: HarbourVest reported $167.9 billion in assets under management as of June 30, 2026 and more than 1,300 team members. HPIF states a focus on small- and middle-market private companies, while HarbourVest's direct co-investment materials state a $10 million to $350+ million per-transaction investment range.[8][9]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Harbourvest Partners?

An owner evaluating HarbourVest should establish which entity and strategy would make the investment, including whether the investment would be made directly, through a fund, or alongside a lead sponsor. The firm’s public platform includes primary, secondary, and direct co-investment strategies, and its direct co-investment materials describe venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.

Owners should also clarify the proposed security, valuation, leverage, governance, board, rollover, management-retention, and follow-on-capital terms. The Companies Seeking Capital page does not state a standard ownership duration or exit timetable, so those points should be addressed directly in diligence.[2][4][6]

01

Which entity and strategy would make the investment, and would HarbourVest invest directly, through a fund, or alongside a lead sponsor

HarbourVest’s platform spans primary fund commitments, secondary investments, and direct co-investments, while its direct co-investment strategy invests alongside lead sponsors across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.[2][4]
02

What ownership duration and exit expectations would apply to the proposed investment

The Companies Seeking Capital page does not state a standard ownership duration or exit timetable for investments in companies seeking capital.[6]
03

What valuation, leverage, governance, board, rollover, and management-retention terms would apply

HarbourVest publicly describes multiple investment structures and company-capital capabilities, but its platform descriptions do not establish terms for a specific opportunity.[2][4]

What investment criteria does Harbourvest Partners publicly describe?

HPIF publicly states a focus on small- and middle-market private companies. HarbourVest’s disclosed capabilities cover primary funds, secondary interests, direct company co-investments, private credit, real assets, infrastructure, evergreen solutions, and customized private markets programs.[2][9]

HarbourVest’s disclosed company-capital materials identify technology, communications, consumer goods, healthcare, financial, and industrial sectors. HPIF identifies small- and middle-market private companies as a focus, while the direct co-investment materials state a $10 million to $350+ million per-transaction investment range across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.

The Companies Seeking Capital page does not publish a universal minimum revenue, EBITDA, or enterprise-value threshold for companies seeking HarbourVest capital.[4][6][9]

HarbourVest describes its platform as global, with activity across the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Australia. For the period ended March 31, 2026, HPIF reported portfolio exposure of approximately 70% North America, 25% Europe, 3% Asia, and 2% Australia.[7]

HPIF’s April 2026 holdings document names Infoblox, Mavis Tire, Sunshine Software, PrimeSource, Kaseya Holdings Inc., Protective Industrial Products, FundApps, Integral Ad Science, Inc., KabaFusion, and IFS AB among its disclosed portfolio investments.

The same holdings document lists investment names, stages, industries, and portfolio weights, but does not disclose entry dates, purchase prices, enterprise values, or sponsor identities for the listed investments.[10]

HPIF reported the successful realization of Service Champions in February 2026. Its March 2026 materials also reported a GP-led continuation vehicle involving Western Veterinary Partners, Mavis Tire’s value creation following the Midas acquisition, and Protective Industrial Products’ integration of Honeywell’s Personal Protective Equipment division.

HarbourVest announced the final close of its thirteenth U.S. flagship primary fund at approximately $2.4 billion in total commitments on April 21, 2026. On July 10, 2026, it announced the final close of HCF VII at approximately $4.75 billion in total commitments, including more than $500 million earmarked for growth investments.[7][11][12]

What is not clear from Harbourvest Partners's public materials?

The Companies Seeking Capital page does not state a standard ownership duration or exit timetable for investments in companies seeking capital.

The April 2026 HPIF holdings document does not disclose entry dates, purchase prices, enterprise values, or sponsor identities for the listed investments.[6][10]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Harbourvest Partners

Which entity and strategy would make the investment, and would HarbourVest invest directly, through a fund, or alongside a lead sponsor?
HarbourVest’s platform spans primary fund commitments, secondary investments, and direct co-investments, while its direct co-investment strategy invests alongside lead sponsors across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.[2][4]
What ownership duration and exit expectations would apply to the proposed investment?
The Companies Seeking Capital page does not state a standard ownership duration or exit timetable for investments in companies seeking capital.[6]
What valuation, leverage, governance, board, rollover, and management-retention terms would apply?
HarbourVest publicly describes multiple investment structures and company-capital capabilities, but its platform descriptions do not establish terms for a specific opportunity.[2][4]
What equity check would apply to this opportunity?
HarbourVest’s direct co-investment materials state that it can invest $10 million to $350+ million per transaction across venture, growth equity, and buyout transactions.[4]
Which sector and geographic team would lead diligence?
HarbourVest identifies technology, communications, consumer goods, healthcare, financial, and industrial sectors as areas of investment expertise and describes its platform as global.[6][7]
What follow-on capital, acquisition financing, and operational resources would be available?
HarbourVest publicly describes direct co-investment, private credit, customized private markets programs, and support across a global private markets platform; its platform descriptions do not establish the resources available for a specific transaction.[2][4]
Can HarbourVest provide references for comparable owner-led or founder-led transactions?
The April 2026 HPIF holdings document identifies disclosed portfolio investments and related portfolio information, but does not disclose sponsor identities for the listed investments.[10]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Investment approach
  5. Investment approach
  6. Industry / market focus
  7. Geography / market coverage
  8. Transaction size / criteria
  9. Company / investment criteria
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  12. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  13. SEC investment adviser record
  14. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.