Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

J Safra Sarasin

J. Safra Sarasin combines private banking, asset management and advisory services with an opportunistic private-equity strategy. Fund II materials describe global investing, a sector-agnostic mandate, indicative equity tickets of approximately USD 50–100 million per transaction and a Buy–Enhance–Sell model.

Key takeaway

What stands out about J Safra Sarasin

J. Safra Sarasin’s disclosed private-equity strategy is global and sector-agnostic, with a stated preference for defensive business models, strong cash-flow generation and multiple return-enhancement levers. Fund II materials identify indicative equity tickets of approximately USD 50–100 million per transaction and a concentrated portfolio of 5 to 10+ companies.[1][2][3]

What does J Safra Sarasin invest in?

J. Safra Sarasin Group is a Swiss private banking group headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, with banking and financial-services operations in more than 30 locations. Bank J. Safra Sarasin provides private banking, personalised asset management and advisory services for private and institutional clients, together with a comprehensive array of financial services.[1]

JSS Private Investments Fund II seeks global private-equity opportunities using an opportunistic approach. Its materials generally target companies with defensive business models, strong cash-flow generation and multiple levers for return enhancement.

The stated operating model is an active Buy–Enhance–Sell approach involving sourcing, due diligence, M&A, industry-specific, financial, managerial, corporate, tax and legal expertise, followed by marketing and exit capabilities.[2]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
The Group reported CHF 228.5 billion in assets under management, 2,652 full-time-equivalent employees and operations in more than 30 locations at the end of December 2025. Fund II materials state indicative equity tickets of approximately USD 50–100 million per transaction, a concentrated portfolio of 5 to 10+ companies, a 10-year term with three possible one-year extensions and a target gross fund-level IRR above 15% per annum.[2][3]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from J Safra Sarasin?

An owner evaluating J. Safra Sarasin should clarify which legal entity and investment vehicle would provide the capital, whether the proposed source is a JSS private-equity fund, a co-investment vehicle, the Group balance sheet or a third-party mandate, and how the stated Fund II criteria apply to the opportunity.

The owner should also request detail on current fund deployment, remaining capital, equity-ticket parameters, leverage, valuation, governance, management incentives, reinvestment terms, ownership duration, exit expectations and the operating, M&A, sector and financing resources available for the investment. The public offering does not disclose consideration amounts or buyer identities for the cited portfolio examples, while the cited Annual Report does not separately quantify alternative-investment or private-equity AUM.[2][3]

01

Which legal entity and investment vehicle would acquire or finance the business

The Group provides services through banking and financial-services entities, while Fund II is a defined private-equity vehicle with stated investment criteria.[1][2]
02

Would the proposed capital come from the Group balance sheet, a JSS private-equity fund, a co-investment vehicle or a third-party mandate

The public materials describe both the broader Group financial-services structure and the Fund II private-equity strategy, but do not establish which source would apply to a particular opportunity.[1][2]
03

What is the current fund deployment status and remaining capital available for new investments

Fund I is described as deployed in eight portfolio companies, while Fund II materials describe a concentrated portfolio target; the current deployment position should be confirmed directly.[2]

What investment criteria does J Safra Sarasin publicly describe?

Fund II is described as sector-agnostic and investing across industries. The stated company characteristics are defensive business models, strong cash-flow generation and multiple potential levers for return enhancement.[2]

Fund II materials state indicative equity tickets of approximately USD 50–100 million per transaction. They also describe a concentrated portfolio of 5 to 10+ companies, a 10-year term with three possible one-year extensions and a target gross fund-level IRR above 15% per annum.[2]

JSS Private Investments Fund II invests globally, with the majority of investments expected in the United States and Europe and possible opportunistic allocations in Latin America. Separately, the Group reports operations in more than 30 locations.[1][2]

The official private-equity investment offering states that JSS Private Investments Fund I was deployed in eight portfolio companies. It identifies Talcott Resolution as the fund’s first exit, with the sale completed after three years in operation, and displays portfolio-company examples including USI Insurance Services, QPark, WFS Worldwide Flight Services, Allied Universal, G4S, Food Delivery Brands, Lifetime Fitness and Xceptor.[2]

J. Safra Sarasin Group completed the acquisition of approximately 71% of Saxo Bank on 2 March 2026, following the necessary approvals referenced in the official completion release. The Group’s private-equity offering also identifies Fund I’s deployment into eight portfolio companies and the completed sale of Talcott Resolution after three years in operation.[2][4]

What is not clear from J Safra Sarasin's public materials?

The cited private-equity investment offering identifies portfolio-company examples and the Talcott Resolution exit but does not disclose consideration amounts or buyer identities for those examples.

The cited 2025 Annual Report reports Group-wide assets under management and headcount but does not separately quantify alternative-investment AUM, private-equity AUM or current private-equity portfolio valuations.[2][3]

Questions to ask before taking capital from J Safra Sarasin

Which legal entity and investment vehicle would acquire or finance the business?
The Group provides services through banking and financial-services entities, while Fund II is a defined private-equity vehicle with stated investment criteria.[1][2]
Would the proposed capital come from the Group balance sheet, a JSS private-equity fund, a co-investment vehicle or a third-party mandate?
The public materials describe both the broader Group financial-services structure and the Fund II private-equity strategy, but do not establish which source would apply to a particular opportunity.[1][2]
What is the current fund deployment status and remaining capital available for new investments?
Fund I is described as deployed in eight portfolio companies, while Fund II materials describe a concentrated portfolio target; the current deployment position should be confirmed directly.[2]
What equity ticket, leverage parameters and valuation range would apply?
Fund II materials state indicative equity tickets of approximately USD 50–100 million per transaction but do not establish leverage parameters or a valuation range.[2]
What ownership duration and exit or liquidity expectations would apply?
Fund II materials state a 10-year term with three possible one-year extensions, while the public materials do not establish the ownership duration or exit expectations for a particular investment.[2]
Which operating, M&A, sector and financing resources would be available for the investment?
The Buy–Enhance–Sell materials identify sourcing, M&A, industry-specific, financial, managerial, corporate, tax and legal capabilities; the resources available to a specific investment should be confirmed.[2]
What governance, rollover, management-incentive and reinvestment terms would apply?
The cited private-equity materials describe investment strategy and transaction capabilities but do not establish terms for a specific owner or management team.[2]
Can the firm provide current references for completed acquisitions, exits and portfolio-company support?
The offering identifies portfolio-company examples and the Talcott Resolution exit, but the cited offering does not disclose consideration amounts or buyer identities for those examples.[2]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Investment strategy
  3. Transaction size / criteria
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Structure / regulatory context
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.