Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Liberty Strategic Capital

Liberty Strategic Capital describes innovation as central to its strategy and focuses on strategic investments in dynamic global technology companies. Public transaction releases show financing, strategic, and buyout activity, while the firm’s homepage does not state numerical acquisition criteria or an expected holding period.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Liberty Strategic Capital

Liberty Strategic Capital publicly identifies technology, fintech and financials, and new content platforms as its focus areas. It has announced investments and financing activity involving companies including New York Community Bancorp, Zimperium, BlueVoyant, Satellogic, Contrast Security, and Cybereason, but its homepage does not state investment-size, enterprise-value, ownership, or holding-period parameters.[1][2][3][4]

What does Liberty Strategic Capital invest in?

Liberty Strategic Capital is a Washington, D.C.-based private equity firm focused on investing in dynamic global technology companies and led by Steven T. Mnuchin. Liberty 77 Capital, L.P. operates under the Liberty Strategic Capital trade name.

The firm states that its investment advisory services are provided only to privately offered Liberty funds and are not made available to the public or other advisory clients. Liberty 77 Capital, L.P. is identified in the SEC Investment Adviser Public Disclosure system under the primary business name Liberty Strategic Capital.[1][2][9]

Liberty describes innovation as central to its investment strategy and focuses on strategic investments in dynamic global technology companies. Official transaction releases also describe board or governance roles and strategic assistance in connection with investments, including at Zimperium, BlueVoyant, Satellogic, and Contrast Security.[1][4]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state fund size, assets under management, minimum or maximum investment size, enterprise-value range, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, or other numerical acquisition criteria.[1][2][3][4]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Liberty Strategic Capital?

An owner evaluating Liberty should clarify the proposed transaction structure, including whether the opportunity would involve a control acquisition, minority investment, recapitalization, or another form of strategic investment. Public materials show multiple transaction types but do not establish a published platform-versus-add-on framework.

The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state investment-size, enterprise-value, ownership, or holding-period parameters. An owner should therefore request the applicable equity-check range, valuation scope, ownership preferences, investment horizon, exit objectives, investing Liberty fund or affiliated vehicle, board rights, strategic resources, and expected diligence, financing, investment-committee, and closing process.[1][3][4][5][6][7]

01

What are the current target equity-check range, enterprise-value range, and ownership preferences for the proposed transaction

The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state minimum or maximum investment size, enterprise-value range, or other numerical acquisition criteria.[1]
02

Does Liberty seek control, significant minority, or structured positions for opportunities of this type

Public transaction materials show a mix of financing, strategic, recapitalization, and buyout activity but do not establish a general ownership policy.[3][4][5][6][7][8]
03

What are the expected investment horizon and exit objectives

The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state an expected investment holding period, investment horizon, ownership duration, or exit-timing policy.[1]

What companies does Liberty Strategic Capital target?

Liberty describes its target companies as dynamic global technology companies. The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state minimum or maximum investment size, enterprise-value range, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, or other numerical acquisition criteria.[1]

The firm’s stated sector focus is Technology, Fintech + Financials, and New Content Platforms. Its published technology interests include cybersecurity, data privacy, and identity verification. Its financial-services and fintech interests include banking, payments, real-estate finance, marketplace lending, and blockchain.[1]

Liberty identifies Washington, D.C. as its base and describes its target companies as dynamic global technology companies. This establishes a global company focus rather than a U.S.-only description.[1]

The sources cited for this profile establish a mix of strategic investments, financing investments, a bank recapitalization investment, and a disclosed buyout transaction. They do not establish a published platform-versus-add-on acquisition framework.[3][4][5][6][7][8]

Public transaction materials identify Liberty activity involving New York Community Bancorp, Zimperium, BlueVoyant, Satellogic, Contrast Security, and Cybereason. The official terms page states that portfolio companies depicted on the website may illustrate investment themes or experience and does not establish that every depicted company is a current portfolio company or that the companies have been profitable.[2][3][4][5][6][7][8]

  • On March 6, 2024, Liberty announced an expected $450 million investment in New York Community Bancorp as part of a combined investment exceeding $1 billion.
  • On March 29, 2022, Liberty announced a definitive agreement to acquire Zimperium for approximately $525 million, describing it as Liberty’s first buyout transaction.
  • On February 23, 2022, Liberty announced a $125 million investment in BlueVoyant and leadership of its $250 million Series D financing round.
  • On January 18, 2022, Liberty announced a contemplated $150 million investment in Satellogic in connection with its merger with CF Acquisition Corp. V.
  • On November 9, 2021, Liberty announced a $110 million investment and leadership of Contrast Security’s Series E financing round.
  • On July 14, 2021, Liberty announced a $200 million investment as part of a $275 million financing round for Cybereason, describing it as Liberty’s first investment.
[3][4][5][6][7][8]

What is not clear from Liberty Strategic Capital's public investment criteria?

The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state fund size, assets under management, minimum or maximum investment size, enterprise-value range, revenue or EBITDA thresholds, or other numerical acquisition criteria. That homepage also does not state an expected investment holding period, investment horizon, ownership duration, or exit-timing policy.

The official terms page cautions that depicted portfolio companies may illustrate investment themes or experience; it does not establish that every depicted company is current or that the companies have been profitable. The official New York Community Bancorp press release does not state Liberty’s final ownership percentage, final closing date, or final consideration terms for the announced investment. The official Zimperium press release does not state Liberty’s final ownership percentage or final post-closing holding period.[1][2][3][4]

Questions to ask when evaluating Liberty Strategic Capital as a buyer or investment partner

What are the current target equity-check range, enterprise-value range, and ownership preferences for the proposed transaction?
The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state minimum or maximum investment size, enterprise-value range, or other numerical acquisition criteria.[1]
Does Liberty seek control, significant minority, or structured positions for opportunities of this type?
Public transaction materials show a mix of financing, strategic, recapitalization, and buyout activity but do not establish a general ownership policy.[3][4][5][6][7][8]
What are the expected investment horizon and exit objectives?
The official Liberty Strategic Capital homepage does not state an expected investment holding period, investment horizon, ownership duration, or exit-timing policy.[1]
Which Liberty fund or affiliated vehicle would make the investment, and what board rights or strategic resources would apply?
Liberty states that its investment advisory services are provided only to privately offered Liberty funds, while transaction releases describe board or governance roles and strategic assistance in connection with selected investments.[2][4]
How should an owner distinguish current portfolio companies from historical or illustrative investments?
The official terms page states that portfolio companies may be depicted as illustrations of investment themes or experience and does not establish that every depicted company is current.[2]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. SEC investment adviser record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.