Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

MFN Partners

MFN Partners Management, LP advises MFN Partners, LP, a private investment partnership. Public filings show reported positions in several public companies and describe investment-purpose holdings with potential engagement involving issuers and other stakeholders.

Key takeaway

What stands out about MFN Partners

The public record establishes MFN Partners as a private investment partnership managed by an SEC-registered investment adviser, with reported public-company positions and possible issuer or stakeholder engagement. It does not establish a general private-company acquisition process, transaction-size range, seller rollover policy, or expected holding period.[1][2][3][4][6][7]

What does MFN Partners invest in?

MFN Partners Management, LP is identified as the investment adviser to MFN Partners, LP, which is described as a private investment partnership whose principal business is making investments. The manager’s Form ADV identifies it as an SEC-registered investment adviser.

SEC-filed materials identify MFN Partners, LP as the partnership, MFN Partners GP, LLC as its general partner, MFN Partners Management, LP as the investment adviser, and MFN Partners Management, LLC as the management entity’s general partner.[4][5]

The Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D states that the reporting persons held shares for investment purposes and could acquire or dispose of shares through open-market or privately negotiated transactions.

The same filing states that the reporting persons may consider discussions with the issuer, its board, creditors, strategic and funding partners, potential acquirers, and financial or other consultants regarding possible courses of action. The Form 13F cover page does not provide a public investment-strategy narrative or private-company acquisition criteria.[1][7]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
The June 30, 2026 Form 13F reports nine information-table entries with a total reported value of $4,834,204,582. The Form 13F cover page does not state universal transaction-size, valuation, revenue, EBITDA, or investment-minimum criteria.[1][3][6][7]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from MFN Partners?

An owner evaluating MFN Partners should first clarify whether the contemplated opportunity is a direct private-company investment, a public-equity position, a structured transaction, or another form of capital. The public filings establish investment-purpose holdings and potential engagement with issuers and stakeholders, but they do not establish a standard private-company acquisition process, transaction-size range, seller rollover policy, or expected investment holding period.

Owners should also identify which legal entity would make the investment, which entity would provide any portfolio-company support, and what diligence, financing, valuation, fee, confidentiality, and exclusivity processes would apply.[4][7]

01

What types of private-company investments, if any, are currently being considered

The Form 13F cover page does not provide private-company acquisition criteria, and the Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not establish a general private-company acquisition process.[1][7]
02

Does MFN Partners seek control, minority, activist, structured, or public-market positions

The public record describes investment-purpose holdings, open-market or privately negotiated transactions, and potential discussions with issuers and other stakeholders, but does not establish the full range of position types pursued generally.[7]
03

What are the target sectors, geographies, transaction sizes, and minimum or maximum equity commitments

The Form 13F cover page does not state a formal sector mandate, geographic mandate, universal transaction-size criterion, or investment minimum.[1]

What investment criteria does MFN Partners publicly describe?

The June 30, 2026 Form 13F information table reports positions in RXO Inc., Talen Energy Corp., XPO Inc., QXO Inc., and PennyMac Financial Services Inc., among other issuers. These reported positions describe the portfolio disclosed in that filing; they do not establish a formal sector mandate.[1][6]

The June 30, 2026 Form 13F cover page does not state a universal transaction-size, valuation, revenue, EBITDA, or investment-minimum criterion. The Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D also does not state a general private-company acquisition process or transaction-size range.[1][7]

MFN Partners Management, LP is identified in current SEC materials at 222 Berkeley Street, 13th Floor, Boston, Massachusetts 02116. The June 30, 2026 Form 13F cover page does not state a formal geographic investment mandate or geographic limitation.[1]

The June 30, 2026 Form 13F reports RXO Inc. at $775,553,300 and 28,109,942 shares; Talen Energy Corp. at $1,152,780,000 and 3,000,000 shares; and XPO Inc. at $2,026,148,865 and 9,869,691 shares. The information table also reports positions in QXO Inc. and PennyMac Financial Services Inc.[6]

The Form 13F report for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, filed by MFN Partners Management, LP, reports nine information-table entries with a total reported value of $4,834,204,582. The reported positions are holdings as of June 30, 2026; the information table does not disclose purchase dates, cost basis, financing, ownership horizon, or whether the listed positions remained held after that date.[1][6]

What is not clear from MFN Partners's public materials?

The June 30, 2026 Form 13F cover page does not state a formal sector mandate, sector-exclusion policy, formal geographic investment mandate, geographic limitation, or universal transaction-size, valuation, revenue, EBITDA, or investment-minimum criterion.

The Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not state a general private-company acquisition process, transaction-size range, seller rollover policy, or expected investment holding period for MFN Partners’ investments generally.

The mfnpartners.com endpoint did not provide accessible public page content, so that endpoint does not itself disclose services, sector focus, geography, transaction criteria, portfolio information, or regulatory status.[1][3][7]

Questions to ask before taking capital from MFN Partners

What types of private-company investments, if any, are currently being considered?
The Form 13F cover page does not provide private-company acquisition criteria, and the Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not establish a general private-company acquisition process.[1][7]
Does MFN Partners seek control, minority, activist, structured, or public-market positions?
The public record describes investment-purpose holdings, open-market or privately negotiated transactions, and potential discussions with issuers and other stakeholders, but does not establish the full range of position types pursued generally.[7]
What are the target sectors, geographies, transaction sizes, and minimum or maximum equity commitments?
The Form 13F cover page does not state a formal sector mandate, geographic mandate, universal transaction-size criterion, or investment minimum.[1]
What is the expected ownership duration or investment horizon?
The Form 13F information table does not disclose an ownership horizon, and the Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not state an expected investment holding period for investments generally.[6][7]
Would existing owners or management be expected to remain involved, reinvest, or provide governance support?
The Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not state a general seller rollover policy.[7]
What diligence, financing, valuation, fee, confidentiality, and exclusivity processes apply?
The Form 13F cover page does not state universal valuation or investment-minimum criteria, and the Yellow Corporation Schedule 13D does not state a general transaction-size range.[1][7]
Which legal entity would make the investment and which entity would provide portfolio-company support?
SEC-filed materials distinguish the partnership, its general partner, the investment adviser, and the management entity’s general partner. The cited materials identify the legal-entity structure without describing portfolio-company support responsibilities.[4]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. SEC filing / regulatory record
  2. SEC filing / regulatory record
  3. Identity / organization record
  4. SEC filing / regulatory record
  5. SEC filing / regulatory record
  6. SEC filing / regulatory record
  7. Investment approach
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.