Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Ontario Teachers Pension Plan

Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board, branded as Ontario Teachers’, is a global investor and fully funded defined benefit pension plan. It reported 346,000 working members and pensioners and $279.4 billion in net assets as of December 31, 2025.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Ontario Teachers Pension Plan

Ontario Teachers’ invests globally across six asset classes through core groups covering capital markets, equities, infrastructure and natural resources, real estate, and late-stage venture and growth equity. Its public infrastructure criteria include dependable or contracted revenue and a focus on majority or co-controlling stakes, while Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a universal acquisition-size range, minimum equity cheque, standard ownership percentage or universal investment-horizon policy.[1][2][3][4][5]

What does Ontario Teachers Pension Plan invest in?

Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board, branded as Ontario Teachers’, is a global investor and fully funded defined benefit pension plan. It reported 346,000 working members and pensioners and $279.4 billion in net assets as of December 31, 2025. Its management responsibilities include investing plan assets to help pay pensions and administering the plan and paying pension benefits to members and survivors.[1][2]

Ontario Teachers’ describes its portfolio as diversified across six asset classes and states an annual nominal return objective of 7% to keep the plan fully funded over the long term. Approximately 75% of its assets are managed internally, with capital deployed through a mix of active and passive strategies around the world. Its core asset groups are Capital Markets, Equities, Infrastructure & Natural Resources, Real Estate and Teachers’ Venture Growth.[1][3][4]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
Ontario Teachers’ reported $279.4 billion in net assets as of December 31, 2025 and describes a portfolio spanning six asset classes. It states an annual nominal return objective of 7% and that approximately 75% of assets are managed internally. For infrastructure, it looks for regulated companies with dependable revenue, assets with significant long-term contracted revenue, and volume-driven businesses linked to throughput and macroeconomic conditions; its infrastructure team focuses on majority or co-controlling stakes. Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a universal acquisition-size range, minimum equity cheque, standard ownership percentage or universal investment-horizon policy.[3][5]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Ontario Teachers Pension Plan?

An owner evaluating Ontario Teachers’ should identify which asset group would lead the opportunity and clarify the intended ownership position. Public infrastructure materials describe majority or co-controlling stakes, while Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a universal ownership percentage, transaction-size range, minimum equity cheque or investment-horizon policy. Owners should therefore seek transaction-specific clarity on valuation parameters, governance rights, management expectations, partnership or co-investment structure, follow-on capital, financing and potential exit decisions.[1][4][5]

01

Which Ontario Teachers’ asset group would lead the opportunity, and what ownership position is contemplated

Ontario Teachers’ operates through named core asset groups, while its infrastructure team states a focus on majority or co-controlling stakes. Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a standard ownership percentage across all asset groups.[4][5]
02

What equity cheque range, transaction-size parameters and valuation framework apply to this opportunity

Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy and infrastructure pages do not publish a universal acquisition-size range, minimum equity cheque or universal minimum transaction size.[4][5]
03

Would Ontario Teachers’ invest directly, through a partnership or alongside a co-investor

Ontario Teachers’ publicly identifies direct investment activity and a completed logistics acquisition undertaken with local operating partner Fokus Nordic; the cited materials do not establish the structure for this specific opportunity.[1][8]

What investment criteria does Ontario Teachers Pension Plan publicly describe?

Ontario Teachers’ invests across capital markets, equities, infrastructure and natural resources, real estate, and late-stage venture and growth equity. Its infrastructure examples include airports, container terminals, power generation, electricity and gas transmission and distribution systems, water and wastewater systems, desalination facilities and renewable power generation. Teachers’ Venture Growth focuses on innovative late-stage venture and growth equity investments.[4][5]

For infrastructure investments, Ontario Teachers’ states that it looks for regulated companies with dependable revenue, assets with a significant portion of revenue tied to long-term contracts, and volume-driven businesses linked to throughput and macroeconomic conditions. The infrastructure team states that it takes significant positions with a focus on majority or co-controlling stakes.[5]

Ontario Teachers’ describes its investment platform as global, with regional activity across the Americas, Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and Asia-Pacific. In September 2026, it stated that approximately $100 billion, or about 30% of its total portfolio, was hosted in Canada and announced an objective to invest an additional $10 billion in Canadian public and private investments by the end of 2027.[4][6]

Ontario Teachers’ 2025 results announcement identified investments in Anthropic, Darwinbox, Donte Group, Grafana Labs, National Highways Infrastructure Trust, Quantexa and StackAdapt. The same announcement identified realizations involving airports, Amica, Diot-Siaci, New Gold’s New Afton Mine, Sahyadri Hospitals and Sydney Desalination Plant.[1]

Ontario Teachers’ announced on July 21, 2026 that it had agreed to sell its 40% shareholding in Finland’s Caruna to Iberdrola in a transaction valuing Caruna at around €5 billion including financial debt. It completed the acquisition of a 92,000 square metre logistics portfolio across three assets in Sweden and two in Denmark on March 27, 2025, together with local operating partner Fokus Nordic. On March 2, 2025, it announced an agreement to sell Amica Senior Lifestyles and certain assets and affiliates to Welltower for C$4.6 billion.[7][8][9]

What is not clear from Ontario Teachers Pension Plan's public materials?

Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page identifies asset groups and regions but does not state a universal acquisition-size range, minimum equity cheque, standard ownership percentage or universal investment-horizon policy. Its infrastructure page states general selection characteristics and majority or co-control preferences but does not publish a universal minimum transaction size, equity cheque range or ownership-duration requirement. Its 2025 results announcement lists transaction and realization examples but does not provide purchase price, equity cheque, financing structure or full consideration terms for each listed transaction.[1][4][5]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Ontario Teachers Pension Plan

Which Ontario Teachers’ asset group would lead the opportunity, and what ownership position is contemplated?
Ontario Teachers’ operates through named core asset groups, while its infrastructure team states a focus on majority or co-controlling stakes. Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a standard ownership percentage across all asset groups.[4][5]
What equity cheque range, transaction-size parameters and valuation framework apply to this opportunity?
Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy and infrastructure pages do not publish a universal acquisition-size range, minimum equity cheque or universal minimum transaction size.[4][5]
Would Ontario Teachers’ invest directly, through a partnership or alongside a co-investor?
Ontario Teachers’ publicly identifies direct investment activity and a completed logistics acquisition undertaken with local operating partner Fokus Nordic; the cited materials do not establish the structure for this specific opportunity.[1][8]
What governance rights, board representation and management expectations would apply?
The cited investment strategy page does not state a universal ownership percentage, and the cited 2025 results announcement does not provide transaction-specific terms for each listed transaction.[1][5]
What ownership or investment horizon applies to this specific strategy?
Ontario Teachers’ investment strategy page does not state a universal investment-horizon policy, and its infrastructure page does not publish an ownership-duration requirement.[4][5]
What operating, international expansion, technology, procurement or financing resources would be available for the opportunity?
Ontario Teachers’ describes global investment activity and manages approximately 75% of its assets internally.[1][4]
How would follow-on capital, refinancing, add-on acquisitions and exit decisions be handled for this opportunity?
The cited 2025 results announcement lists transaction and realization examples but does not provide financing structure or full consideration terms for each listed transaction.[1][7][8][9]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Industry / market focus
  5. Industry / market focus
  6. Geography / market coverage
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.