Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Potomac Business Group, Inc.

Potomac Business Group, Inc. identifies Herbert S. Ezrin as CEO and President and states that it provides M&A, financing, investment-banking, turnaround, business-development, and real-estate brokerage services.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Potomac Business Group, Inc.

PBG publicly describes a buyer-and-seller advisory and brokerage model spanning M&A, capital and financing, investment banking, turnarounds, business development, and commercial real estate. Its homepage lists experience across multiple industry categories and provides testimonial-based acquisition examples, but does not publish universal deal-size criteria, standard fee terms, named targets for those examples, or a specific firm-level regulatory registration.[1][2][3]

What does Potomac Business Group, Inc. do?

Potomac Business Group identifies itself as PBG and names Herbert S. Ezrin as CEO and President. An official-hosted Washington Business Journal article identifies the legal name as Potomac Business Group, Inc. and describes the firm as based in Potomac, Maryland. A separate authoritative profile states that Ezrin launched the firm in 1994 as an investment-banking firm in Potomac, Maryland.

PBG states that it has 40+ years in business and serves buyers and sellers at all transaction levels.[1][2][3]

PBG publicly states that it provides sales, mergers and acquisitions; capital and financing; business development; turnaround management; real-estate and broker services; and investment banking. The firm also states that it represents both buyers and sellers and provides guidance through every step of a deal.[1]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Public size / criteria information
PBG states that it serves buyers and sellers at all transaction levels and has 40+ years in business. The current official homepage does not publish a universal transaction-size threshold, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, or other quantitative eligibility criterion for advisory engagements.[1]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Potomac Business Group, Inc.?

For an owner evaluating a sale or recapitalization, PBG’s stated capabilities cover sell-side representation, buyer-side acquisition support, capital raising, financing, turnaround situations, and commercial-real-estate services. Its published industry list includes government and defense, cybersecurity, information technology, healthcare, manufacturing, construction, and other business categories.

Before engagement, an owner should verify the current contracting entity, any regulated affiliate or applicable license requirement, engagement economics, transaction-size parameters, conflicts policy, and recent named transaction references. The homepage does not publish universal quantitative engagement criteria or standard fee terms.[1][2]

01

Which legal entity signs advisory or brokerage engagements, and is Potomac Business Group, Inc. the current contracting entity

The official-hosted Washington Business Journal article identifies Potomac Business Group, Inc., but does not state current contracting-entity arrangements.[2]
02

Does any proposed service require a broker-dealer, investment-adviser, real-estate, or other regulated affiliate, and what registration applies

PBG describes investment-banking, advisory, brokerage, financing, and commercial-real-estate services, while the current official homepage does not identify a specific firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, securities-license, or other regulatory registration.[1]
03

What are the minimum and maximum transaction sizes and sector preferences for a new mandate

PBG states that it serves buyers and sellers at all transaction levels, but the current official homepage does not publish universal transaction-size, revenue, EBITDA, or other quantitative eligibility criteria.[1]

What size transactions and clients does Potomac Business Group, Inc. focus on?

PBG lists experience across administration and business support, automotive, construction, cybersecurity, defense and government, financial services, healthcare, hospitality, information technology, manufacturing, real estate, retail, transportation, and waste management.[1]

A current official PBG testimonial states that Herb Ezrin helped make the acquisition of two government-contractor companies and financing possible for George Stejic, CEO of Tesla Laboratories Inc. The homepage does not identify the two companies, the transaction date, transaction value, or complete buyer and seller identities.

A separate official testimonial states that Ezrin helped a business owner acquire a company in the government-contracting space, represented the seller, and helped arrange an SBA loan package.[1]

The firm’s stated transaction-related capabilities include sales and M&A, capital raising and financing, investment banking, business development, turnaround management, and real-estate and broker services. PBG states that it represents both buyers and sellers.[1]

What does Potomac Business Group, Inc. publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The current official homepage’s acquisition testimonials do not disclose the names of the two government-contractor companies, transaction dates, transaction values, or complete buyer and seller identities.

The current official homepage does not publish a universal transaction-size threshold, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, or other quantitative eligibility criterion for advisory engagements. It also does not publish a standard fee percentage, retainer, minimum fee, expense schedule, tail period, exclusivity term, or termination schedule.

The official-hosted Washington Business Journal article does not state the firm’s current engagement fee terms, firm-level regulatory registration, or current contracting-entity arrangements.[1][2]

The current official homepage describes PBG as providing investment-banking, advisory, brokerage, financing, and commercial-real-estate services. That homepage does not identify a specific firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, securities-license, or other regulatory registration.

The official-hosted Washington Business Journal article identifies Potomac Business Group, Inc. but does not state the firm’s current contracting-entity arrangements or identify a specific firm-level regulatory registration.[1][2]

PBG invites owners to discuss business goals through a confidential conversation and states that it will bring experience and a plan tailored to those goals.[1]

Questions to ask before hiring Potomac Business Group, Inc.

Which legal entity signs advisory or brokerage engagements, and is Potomac Business Group, Inc. the current contracting entity?
The official-hosted Washington Business Journal article identifies Potomac Business Group, Inc., but does not state current contracting-entity arrangements.[2]
Does any proposed service require a broker-dealer, investment-adviser, real-estate, or other regulated affiliate, and what registration applies?
PBG describes investment-banking, advisory, brokerage, financing, and commercial-real-estate services, while the current official homepage does not identify a specific firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, securities-license, or other regulatory registration.[1]
What are the minimum and maximum transaction sizes and sector preferences for a new mandate?
PBG states that it serves buyers and sellers at all transaction levels, but the current official homepage does not publish universal transaction-size, revenue, EBITDA, or other quantitative eligibility criteria.[1]
What are the fee percentage, retainer, minimum fee, expense reimbursement, tail, exclusivity, and termination provisions?
The current official homepage does not publish a standard fee percentage, retainer, minimum fee, expense schedule, tail period, exclusivity term, or termination schedule.[1]
Can PBG provide three recent named transaction references, including buyer or seller role, date, transaction type, and financing involvement?
The homepage contains testimonial-based acquisition examples, but does not disclose the names of the two government-contractor companies, transaction dates, transaction values, or complete buyer and seller identities.[1]
How are conflicts handled when representing buyers and sellers?
PBG states that it represents both buyers and sellers, making its conflicts policy a matter for direct clarification.[1]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Identity / organization record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.