Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Primary Capital Inc

Primary Capital Inc. identifies itself as a Toronto-based Exempt Market Dealer serving Canadian publicly traded growth companies. Public announcements document financial-advisory, strategic-alternatives, M&A, and fairness-opinion mandates.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Primary Capital Inc

Primary Capital Inc. publicly states that it provides financing and advice to Canadian publicly traded growth companies. Its identified public mandates include financial-advisor roles, strategic-alternatives advice, M&A advice, and fairness opinions. The cited current official homepage does not publish quantitative client-screening criteria or an official transaction archive.[1][2][3][6]

What does Primary Capital Inc do?

Primary Capital Inc. identifies itself as a Toronto-based Exempt Market Dealer, with an address at Suite 301, 141 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5H 3L5. Robert Pollock is identified as President & CEO.

The firm states that it provides financing and advice to Canadian growth companies that are publicly traded.[1][2]

Primary Capital Inc. publicly states that it provides financing and advice to Canadian publicly traded growth companies. Public transaction announcements identify the firm in financial-advisor, exclusive financial-advisor, strategic-alternatives, and fairness-opinion roles.

For example, Primary Capital was retained by Canarc Resource Corp. to evaluate strategic alternatives, partnership discussions, acquisition opportunities, and proposed transactions.[2][3][6][7][9]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Public size / criteria information
The cited current official homepage does not state employee count, revenue, assets under management, transaction-size thresholds, minimum financing size, enterprise-value criteria, or other quantitative client-screening criteria. It identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the target client group.[2][6]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Primary Capital Inc?

An owner of a Canadian publicly traded growth company can ask Primary Capital to clarify the transaction sizes and growth stages it currently prioritizes, the sectors it actively covers, and the role it would perform under the proposed engagement. The identified mandates establish experience with financial advice, strategic alternatives, M&A, and fairness opinions.

Because the cited current official homepage does not publish quantitative client-screening criteria or a current representative-deal list, the owner should request recent comparable mandates and references. The owner should also request proposed engagement economics, conflicts procedures, valuation methodology, financing-capital sources, and confirmation of the regulatory permissions applicable to the proposed mandate.[2][3][6][7][9][11]

01

What transaction sizes and stages of company growth does Primary Capital currently prioritize

The cited current official homepage identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the target client group but does not state transaction-size thresholds, minimum financing size, enterprise-value criteria, or other quantitative client-screening criteria.[2]
02

Which sectors beyond publicly traded Canadian growth companies are actively covered today

The cited current official homepage identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the client focus but does not state a sector-specific focus.[2]
03

What are the retainer, success-fee, fairness-opinion, termination, and tail provisions for the proposed engagement

The cited Orla Mining–Pershimco transaction announcement identifies Primary Capital’s advisory role but does not disclose its fees, fee percentages, or engagement economics.[6]

What size transactions and clients does Primary Capital Inc focus on?

The cited current official homepage identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the client focus but does not state a sector-specific focus.[2]

  • In 2016, Primary Capital acted as financial advisor to the special committee of Pershimco Resources in the Orla Mining–Pershimco Resources merger and provided a fairness opinion.
  • Primary Capital acted as the exclusive financial advisor to Kiska Metals in AuRico Metals’ announced acquisition of Kiska Metals.
  • Primary Capital and Cormark Securities acted as financial advisors to Brigus Gold in Primero’s announced acquisition of Brigus Gold.
  • Primary Capital acted as financial advisor to Ryan Gold and Corona in the 2015 Oban Mining combination and provided fairness opinions to both boards.
  • Primary Capital acted as financial advisor to St. Eugene in its arrangement with Claude Resources.
[6][7][8][9][10]

Publicly documented mandates include mergers, acquisitions, arrangements, strategic-alternatives work, and fairness opinions. The announcements identify Primary Capital as a financial advisor, an exclusive financial advisor, a joint financial advisor, and an advisor to a special committee.[3][6][7][8][9][10]

What does Primary Capital Inc publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The cited current official homepage does not state a sector-specific focus, employee count, revenue, assets under management, transaction-size thresholds, minimum financing size, enterprise-value criteria, or other quantitative client-screening criteria.

The cited current official homepage does not publish an official transaction archive or current representative-deal list. The cited Orla Mining–Pershimco transaction announcement identifies Primary Capital’s advisory role but does not disclose the firm’s fees, fee percentages, or engagement economics.[2][6]

The Ontario Securities Commission registrant list dated March 16, 2025 lists Primary Capital Inc./Groupe Financier Primary Capital, NRD number 23980, as an Exempt Market Dealer. The firm’s current website also identifies it as an Exempt Market Dealer.

An earlier Ontario Securities Commission bulletin records Primary Capital Inc. as a newly registered Limited Market Dealer effective August 24, 2006.[2][4][5]

Primary Capital Inc. publishes OBSI complaint-process information, including a complaint letter and complaint instructions.[2][11]

Questions to ask before hiring Primary Capital Inc

What transaction sizes and stages of company growth does Primary Capital currently prioritize?
The cited current official homepage identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the target client group but does not state transaction-size thresholds, minimum financing size, enterprise-value criteria, or other quantitative client-screening criteria.[2]
Which sectors beyond publicly traded Canadian growth companies are actively covered today?
The cited current official homepage identifies Canadian publicly traded growth companies as the client focus but does not state a sector-specific focus.[2]
What are the retainer, success-fee, fairness-opinion, termination, and tail provisions for the proposed engagement?
The cited Orla Mining–Pershimco transaction announcement identifies Primary Capital’s advisory role but does not disclose its fees, fee percentages, or engagement economics.[6]
Which mandates has the firm completed or advised on since 2016, and may it provide references?
The cited current official homepage does not publish an official transaction archive or current representative-deal list, while the identified public transaction examples include mandates dated through 2016.[2][6]
Will the firm act as financial advisor, exempt-market dealer, placement agent, or more than one of these for the proposed engagement?
Primary Capital states that it provides financing and advice to Canadian publicly traded growth companies, and current Ontario Securities Commission records list it as an Exempt Market Dealer.[2][4]
What current provincial registrations and permitted activities apply to the specific mandate?
The current Ontario Securities Commission registrant list identifies Primary Capital Inc./Groupe Financier Primary Capital as an Exempt Market Dealer, while an earlier Ontario Securities Commission bulletin records historical registration as a Limited Market Dealer.[4][5]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Structure / regulatory context
  5. Structure / regulatory context
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. Public Process
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.