Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Purpose Equity

Purpose Equity describes a customized, goal-driven advisory process for family- and founder-owned businesses. Publicly stated alternatives include private-equity sales, outside-manager transitions, investment partners, holding-company structures, and strategic buyers.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Purpose Equity

Purpose Equity provides M&A advisory services for family- and founder-owned businesses, with a stated focus on companies generating between $10 million and $100 million in revenue. A separate official article describes sell-side services for businesses generating $5 million to $50 million, so the applicable range should be confirmed directly.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8]

What does Purpose Equity do?

Purpose Equity is an M&A advisory firm operating from 190 Knox Abbott Drive, Suite 3E, Cayce, South Carolina 29033. It advises family- and founder-owned business owners considering a sale or ownership transition.

The firm describes a process that begins with understanding the owner’s goals, evaluates available options, selects a path, and executes a tailored transition rather than automatically pursuing the highest bidder.[1][2][5]

Purpose Equity’s stated sell-side services include tailored strategy, buyer identification and targeting, market analysis and valuation, negotiation, and support through due diligence and closing. Its public materials also describe customized ownership-transition planning involving private-equity sales, outside managers, and investment partners.

An official article states that the firm provides sell-side and buy-side advisory services and capital-raising opportunities in connection with M&A transactions.[2][3][4]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Published size criteriaPublicly stated range
Lower published point$10MILLION
Upper published point$50MILLION

Published criteria: Purpose Equity states that it specializes in family-owned and founder-led businesses with revenues between $10 million and $100 million. A separate official article describes sell-side advisory services for businesses generating $5 million to $50 million; the differing published ranges should be confirmed directly.[1][6]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Purpose Equity?

Owners evaluating Purpose Equity should confirm which published revenue range applies to the engagement: the $10 million-$100 million range stated on the contact and what-we-do pages, or the $5 million-$50 million range described in a separate sell-side article.

They should also clarify current sector and geographic priorities, the legal entity signing the engagement, any applicable financial-services registration, buyer-side activity and conflicts, the fee and termination provisions, and the buyer categories or ownership structures that may be considered for the business.

The public examples indicate experience with private-equity sales, strategic roll-ups, holding-company arrangements, and a buyout in which the former owner remained involved. Owners seeking references should ask whether additional named transactions and terms can be shared under confidentiality restrictions.[1][2][6][7][8]

01

Which revenue range is currently targeted: $5 million-$50 million or $10 million-$100 million

The contact and what-we-do pages state a $10 million-$100 million range, while a separate official article describes sell-side services for businesses generating $5 million to $50 million.[1][6]
02

Which legal entity signs engagement letters and receives fees, and is the firm or any affiliate registered as a broker-dealer, investment adviser, or otherwise subject to financial-services regulation

The official contact page identifies the advisory business and address but does not state firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, FINRA, SEC, or other financial-services registration status.[1]
03

What sectors and geographies are active priorities for the proposed engagement

Packaging and industrial sectors are identified as a team focus, while the team page does not state a firm-wide exclusive geographic coverage area or transaction mandate.[7]

What size transactions and clients does Purpose Equity focus on?

Purpose Equity’s team page identifies packaging and industrial sectors as a focus for business-development and consulting activity. The cited materials also describe representative experience involving commercial services, commercial subcontracting, retail equipment repair, and wholesaling; those examples do not establish an exhaustive sector mandate.[7][8]

The official client-testimonials page describes a commercial services contractor that transitioned by selling to a private-equity group in 2020 and a retail equipment repair contractor that transitioned by selling to a strategic roll-up in 2020.

Other examples include a developer and a wholesaler that each transitioned by forming a holding company in 2018, and a commercial subcontractor buyout during 2013-2020 in which the former owner became chairman and remained involved in the business.

The same page does not disclose company names, buyer names, transaction values, consideration structures, or full closing dates for these representative transitions.[8]

Purpose Equity publicly describes sell-side advisory for owners considering a sale or ownership transition. Its stated transition alternatives include private-equity groups, outside managers, investment partners, holding-company structures, strategic buyers, and a broader buyer process. An official article also references buy-side advisory and capital-raising opportunities.[2][4][5]

What does Purpose Equity publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official contact page does not state firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, FINRA, SEC, or other financial-services registration status.

The official client-testimonials page does not disclose company names, buyer names, transaction values, consideration structures, or full closing dates for the representative transitions it describes.

The official what-we-do page does not publish a universal fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule for sell-side engagements.

The official team page does not state a firm-wide exclusive geographic coverage area or geographic transaction mandate.[1][2][7][8]

Purpose Equity presents itself as an M&A advisory firm and identifies its operating address in Cayce, South Carolina. The official contact page does not state firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, FINRA, SEC, or other financial-services registration status.

This profile does not characterize the firm’s regulatory status. An owner should confirm which legal entity signs an engagement letter, receives fees, and provides any regulated or unregulated services.[1]

Purpose Equity states that its process is customized and goal-driven: understand the owner’s goals, evaluate available options, select a path, and execute a tailored transition. The firm’s stated approach does not automatically pursue the highest bidder.[5]

Questions to ask before hiring Purpose Equity

Which revenue range is currently targeted: $5 million-$50 million or $10 million-$100 million?
The contact and what-we-do pages state a $10 million-$100 million range, while a separate official article describes sell-side services for businesses generating $5 million to $50 million.[1][6]
Which legal entity signs engagement letters and receives fees, and is the firm or any affiliate registered as a broker-dealer, investment adviser, or otherwise subject to financial-services regulation?
The official contact page identifies the advisory business and address but does not state firm-level broker-dealer, investment-adviser, FINRA, SEC, or other financial-services registration status.[1]
What sectors and geographies are active priorities for the proposed engagement?
Packaging and industrial sectors are identified as a team focus, while the team page does not state a firm-wide exclusive geographic coverage area or transaction mandate.[7]
What are the success fee, retainer, minimum fee, expense reimbursement, tail, exclusivity, and termination provisions?
The official what-we-do page does not publish a universal fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule for sell-side engagements.[2]
Does Purpose Equity represent buyers, sellers, or both in overlapping sectors, and how are conflicts handled?
An official article references both sell-side and buy-side advisory services, making the firm’s role and conflict procedures a point to clarify for a proposed engagement.[4]
What buyer categories and ownership structures may be contemplated for the business?
Purpose Equity describes private-equity groups, outside managers, investment partners, holding-company structures, strategic buyers, and broader buyer processes as possible transition paths.[2][5]
Can the firm provide references or additional named transaction examples under confidentiality restrictions?
The public client-testimonials page describes representative transitions but does not disclose company names, buyer names, transaction values, consideration structures, or full closing dates.[8]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Services / capabilities
  5. Investment approach
  6. Transaction size / criteria
  7. Industry / market focus
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.