Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

RA Capital Advisors

RA Capital Advisors publicly describes itself as an investment bank serving private companies, first-time sellers, and individual and family owners. Its services include M&A, restructuring, debt and equity capital advisory, and private placements.

Key takeaway

What stands out about RA Capital Advisors

RA Capital Advisors is a transactional broker-dealer and M&A advisor that represents companies, with publicly stated emphasis on private-company sales, liquidity events, competitive processes, and capital advisory.[1][2][3][4][7][12]

What does RA Capital Advisors do?

RA Capital Advisors is the public-facing business of RA Capital Associates LLC, doing business as RA Capital Advisors LLC. The firm’s main office is in San Diego, California.

RA Capital describes itself as an investment bank built for private companies and states that its clients include individuals and families rather than private-equity firms or large institutions. It also describes its engagements as selective and low-volume.[1][2]

RA Capital states that it provides mergers and acquisitions, restructuring, debt and equity capital advisory, and private-placement services. Its transactional engagements represent a company’s interests rather than providing ongoing investment-advisory services.

The firm’s stated sale-process work includes offering sellers multiple options, soliciting suitors’ highest and best price and terms, and advising privately held companies considering a sale or other liquidity event.[3][4]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Public size / criteria information
RA Capital states that it serves private companies, first-time sellers, and individuals and families. The official RA Capital homepage does not publish a universal revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-value, or minimum-size threshold, and the official For Owners page does not state a universal financial-size criterion.[2]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring RA Capital Advisors?

RA Capital’s public positioning is centered on privately held companies, first-time sellers, and individual and family owners. Its stated process emphasizes competitive buyer outreach, multiple options, diligence management, and negotiation of price and terms.

An owner should confirm the firm’s current financial-size and sector parameters, the proposed buyer-outreach approach, the relevant experience of the deal team, the contracting legal entity, and the engagement letter’s negotiated fee provisions. The homepage and For Owners page do not state a universal financial-size threshold, and the Form CRS does not publish a universal percentage schedule, minimum fee, termination fee, or tail period.[2][3][4][12]

01

What revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, or transaction-size ranges does RA Capital currently prioritize

The official RA Capital homepage does not publish a universal revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-value, or minimum-size threshold for prospective clients.[2]
02

Which sectors or situations are outside the firm’s current mandate

The official For Owners page does not state a formal sector-exclusion list, while the firm’s transaction overview identifies representative experience across several sectors.[5][12]
03

How are buyer lists constructed, and how many potential buyers would typically be contacted

The cited sale-process page describes offering sellers multiple options and soliciting each suitor’s highest and best price and terms, but does not state the typical size or construction of a buyer list.[4]

What size transactions and clients does RA Capital Advisors focus on?

RA Capital’s official transaction overview identifies representative experience in aerospace and defense, business services, consumer, healthcare and life sciences, industrials and manufacturing, and software and technology.

The official For Owners page does not state a formal sector-exclusion list. Owners evaluating a mandate should confirm whether their sector and transaction circumstances fall within the firm’s current scope.[5][12]

  • RA Capital served as exclusive financial advisor to Electrical Power Products on its sale to Flex in a transaction valued at approximately $1.1 billion; the official announcement was posted June 12, 2026.
  • RA Capital served as exclusive financial advisor to J&W Lumber on its sale to Decks & Docks; the official announcement was posted June 1, 2026.
  • RA Capital served as financial advisor to CFO Hub on its combination with Carr, Riggs & Ingram; the official announcement was posted March 5, 2026.
  • RA Capital served as exclusive financial advisor to Sonatech on its pending sale to Kongsberg Discovery; the official announcement was posted June 18, 2025.

The official transactions archive also lists Crown Technical Systems’ acquisition by Flex for $325 million, Integrated Microwave Corporation’s acquisition by Knowles for $80.8 million, GIGAVAC’s acquisition by Sensata Technologies for $233 million, and Cryogenic Industries’ acquisition by Nikkiso for $380 million.[7][8][9][10][11]

RA Capital’s stated transaction focus includes company sales, other liquidity events, restructuring, debt and equity capital advisory, and private placements. The firm states that more than 75% of its business is advising privately held companies considering a sale or other liquidity event.

Its public transaction record includes strategic-company sales as well as assignments involving combinations and other forms of capital or ownership activity.[3][4][7][10]

What does RA Capital Advisors publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official RA Capital homepage does not publish a universal revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-value, or minimum-size threshold for prospective clients. The official For Owners page does not state a formal sector-exclusion list or a universal financial-size criterion for engagements.

The official transactions archive identifies representative transactions but does not provide complete consideration, valuation, buyer, or closing-date details for every listed transaction. The official Form CRS states that fees are negotiated in advance and may include a retainer and success fee, but it does not publish a universal percentage schedule, minimum fee, termination fee, or tail period.[2][3][7][12]

RA Capital Associates LLC, doing business as RA Capital Advisors LLC, is identified by FINRA as a broker-dealer registered with the SEC and FINRA and registered in 51 U.S. states and territories. The firm’s Form CRS states that it is a FINRA and SIPC member and is not an investment adviser or provider of ongoing investment-advisory services.[1][3]

RA Capital describes its approach as a competitive sale process that can include transaction preparation, buyer outreach, due diligence management, and negotiation of price and terms. It states that sellers may be presented with multiple options and that suitors are solicited for their highest and best price and terms.

The firm also describes itself as selective and low-volume, with senior-level attention to each step of a private-company transaction.[2][4]

Questions to ask before hiring RA Capital Advisors

What revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, or transaction-size ranges does RA Capital currently prioritize?
The official RA Capital homepage does not publish a universal revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, transaction-value, or minimum-size threshold for prospective clients.[2]
Which sectors or situations are outside the firm’s current mandate?
The official For Owners page does not state a formal sector-exclusion list, while the firm’s transaction overview identifies representative experience across several sectors.[5][12]
How are buyer lists constructed, and how many potential buyers would typically be contacted?
The cited sale-process page describes offering sellers multiple options and soliciting each suitor’s highest and best price and terms, but does not state the typical size or construction of a buyer list.[4]
What are the retainer, success-fee, expense, exclusivity, termination, and tail provisions in the engagement letter?
The Form CRS states that fees are negotiated in advance and may include a retainer and success fee, but it does not publish a universal percentage schedule, minimum fee, termination fee, or tail period.[3]
Which legal entity will contract with the client and perform securities-related services?
FINRA identifies RA Capital Associates LLC as the legal firm name and RA Capital Advisors LLC as its doing-business-as name; the firm is registered as a broker-dealer.[1]
Can the firm provide recent references for transactions comparable in size, sector, and owner objectives?
RA Capital publishes representative transaction examples across multiple sectors and transaction types, while the archive does not provide complete deal-level details for every listed transaction.[5][7]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. FINRA regulatory record
  2. Identity / organization record
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Investment approach
  5. Industry / market focus
  6. Geography / market coverage
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  12. Public disclosure information
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.