Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Rhone Capital

Rhone Capital describes a transatlantic middle-market private equity strategy centered on carve-out acquisitions, founding-family and entrepreneur partnerships, and investments across industrial and consumer sectors.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Rhone Capital

Rhone Capital focuses on transatlantic middle-market businesses with international footprints and cross-border expansion opportunities. Its stated preferences include high-quality or industry-leading businesses, corporate carve-outs, and partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs.[1][2][4][6][7][8][9][10]

What does Rhone Capital invest in?

Rhone Capital was founded in 1996 by Robert F. Agostinelli and M. Steven Langman and describes a one-firm approach to strategic investment opportunities in transatlantic middle-market companies.

The firm states that it has raised €10bn, invested in 45+ portfolio companies to date, and has 30 years of experience working with family businesses and Fortune 500 companies.[1][4]

Rhone Capital describes its strategy as investing in transatlantic middle-market businesses and specializing in carve-out acquisitions and partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs.

It states that all investments are evaluated on a firm-wide basis. The firm also partners with portfolio-company management teams and boards to improve operations, drive growth, and deliver value.[2][4]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
Rhone Capital states that it has raised €10bn, invested in 45+ portfolio companies to date, and has 30 years of experience working with family businesses and Fortune 500 companies. It states that it focuses on high-quality, industry-leading businesses, founding-family and entrepreneur partnerships, and corporate carve-outs, and is currently investing from Fund VI, established in 2022.[4]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Rhone Capital?

An owner evaluating Rhone Capital should clarify how the firm’s transatlantic middle-market strategy, sector focus, carve-out experience, or founding-family partnership approach would apply to the specific company.

Key diligence areas include the investing fund or vehicle, intended ownership duration and exit scenarios, transaction structure, rollover equity, governance rights, earn-outs, seller notes, management incentives, operating resources, cross-border capabilities, leverage assumptions, and references from comparable transactions.[2][3][4]

01

Which Rhone fund or vehicle would make the investment, and what is its remaining investment period

Rhone Capital states that it is currently investing from Fund VI, established in 2022, and also manages separate management accounts and a co-investment program for existing limited partners.[5]
02

What ownership duration and exit scenarios does Rhone Capital currently target for this investment

The Investors page does not state a standard investment holding-period range, expected ownership duration, or exit timetable.[4]
03

Would the transaction be structured as a majority acquisition, minority growth investment, carve-out, or partnership with the founding family

Rhone Capital publicly identifies carve-out acquisitions and partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs as areas of focus, but the available materials do not establish the structure for a specific proposed transaction.[2][4]

What companies does Rhone Capital target?

Rhone Capital states that it focuses on middle-market businesses with high-quality or industry-leading characteristics, international footprints, and opportunities for cross-border expansion.

The firm places particular emphasis on partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs and on corporate carve-outs.[4]

Rhone Capital invests across a multitude of industries, with a specific but non-exclusive focus on industrial and consumer sectors.

Its active portfolio includes businesses such as Copperweld, a producer of copper-clad bimetallic wire serving infrastructure and automotive end markets; Freddy’s, a premium burger and frozen custard quick-service restaurant concept; and Orkla Food Ingredients, a European food-ingredients company with operations across Europe and North America.[3][7][8][10]

Rhone Capital describes a transatlantic presence in Europe and the Americas. Its stated geographic focus is on middle-market businesses with international footprints and opportunities for cross-border expansion.[4]

Rhone Capital’s public strategy identifies corporate carve-out acquisitions and partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs as transaction preferences.[2][4]

Rhone Capital’s active portfolio page lists DHCare, Copperweld, Freddy’s, Sweet Oak, Orkla Food Ingredients, RHI Magnesita, Paragon Films, Wahoo, Illy, Lummus Technology, Wellbore Integrity Solutions, Maxam, Rexair, Vista Global, Fluidra, ASK Chemicals, and Baker & Baker.

Examples include Sweet Oak, described as a consumer-products platform combining Royal Oak and Whole Earth Brands in partnership with Mariposa, and DHCare, created following Rhone Fund VI’s acquisitions of Direct Healthcare Group and Invacare Europe operations outside North America, principally in Europe.[3][6][9]

Rhone Capital identifies DHCare with a January 2026 investment date, Copperweld and Freddy’s with September 2025 investment dates, Sweet Oak with an August 2024 investment date, and Orkla Food Ingredients with an April 2024 investment date.

The DHCare page states that the business was created following Rhone Fund VI’s acquisitions of Direct Healthcare Group and Invacare Europe operations outside North America, principally in Europe. These portfolio pages do not publish transaction consideration, enterprise value, equity contribution, financing terms, or seller proceeds for the respective transactions.[6][7][8][9][10]

What is not clear from Rhone Capital's public investment criteria?

The Investors page does not state a standard investment holding-period range, expected ownership duration, or exit timetable.

The DHCare, Copperweld, Freddy’s, Sweet Oak, and Orkla Food Ingredients portfolio pages identify investment dates and business descriptions, but do not publish transaction consideration, enterprise value, equity contribution, financing terms, or seller proceeds.[4][6][7][8][9][10]

Questions to ask when evaluating Rhone Capital as a buyer or investment partner

Which Rhone fund or vehicle would make the investment, and what is its remaining investment period?
Rhone Capital states that it is currently investing from Fund VI, established in 2022, and also manages separate management accounts and a co-investment program for existing limited partners.[5]
What ownership duration and exit scenarios does Rhone Capital currently target for this investment?
The Investors page does not state a standard investment holding-period range, expected ownership duration, or exit timetable.[4]
Would the transaction be structured as a majority acquisition, minority growth investment, carve-out, or partnership with the founding family?
Rhone Capital publicly identifies carve-out acquisitions and partnerships with founding families and entrepreneurs as areas of focus, but the available materials do not establish the structure for a specific proposed transaction.[2][4]
What rollover equity, governance rights, earn-outs, seller notes, or management incentive arrangements are expected?
The available materials describe partnerships with founding families, entrepreneurs, management teams, and boards, but do not establish the terms of a specific proposed transaction.[1][2][4]
What operating resources and cross-border capabilities would Rhone Capital deploy?
Rhone Capital states that it uses internal and external specialists to support strategic initiatives, operational improvements, geographic expansion, and growth, and focuses on businesses with international footprints and cross-border expansion opportunities.[1][4]
What leverage range and acquisition financing assumptions would apply?
The portfolio pages for recent examples do not publish financing terms, so the proposed transaction’s financing assumptions should be requested directly.[6][7][8][9][10]
Can Rhone Capital provide realized-investment references from comparable industrial, consumer, healthcare, or family-owned transactions?
The cited materials describe the firm’s sector focus and family-business experience but do not identify specific realized-investment references comparable to the proposed situation.[3][4]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Investment strategy
  3. Industry / market focus
  4. Geography / market coverage
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  11. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.