Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

S&P Capital

S&P Capital’s current official website uses SMP Capital Partners branding and describes services including sell-side advisory, business brokerage, valuation, exit planning, buyer identification, transaction management, and closing support.

Key takeaway

What stands out about S&P Capital

S&P Capital presents a seller-focused advisory and brokerage model for privately held businesses, with published sector experience across healthcare, industrial services, business services, consumer, and manufacturing. Its official pages state multiple size thresholds that owners should reconcile directly with the firm.[1][2][3][4][5][6]

What does S&P Capital do?

S&P Capital’s current official website uses the name SMP Capital Partners and lists an address in Mooresville, North Carolina. The queued domain redirects to the current official website, which retains references to S&P Capital Partners in page text and image branding.

The firm describes itself as providing investment banking, sell-side advisory, brokerage, valuation, and business advisory services to privately held businesses and business owners.[1][2][3]

S&P Capital describes a bespoke process that can include valuation, marketing, acquisition-target identification, LOI analysis, due-diligence coordination, legal-document coordination, transaction management, and closing support.

The firm states that it provides a complimentary valuation based on company financial data, comparable sales, and industry-standard metrics, followed by outreach to multiple qualified buyer prospects.[4][5]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Public size / criteria information
The firm states that it provides M&A services to privately held businesses with up to $150 million in enterprise value. Its brokerage page also displays "$1m+" under "Target SDC," "<$150m" under "Target Revenue," and "15+" under "Employees," while its homepage describes a lower-middle-market focus of up to $100 million in enterprise value. The firm does not define "Target SDC" or reconcile these thresholds on the cited pages.[4][5]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring S&P Capital?

Owners evaluating S&P Capital can clarify which legal entity would contract with the seller and which entity or individuals would perform any regulated securities or investment-advisory activities. The official About page does not state the firm’s formal legal entity name or firm-level regulatory identifiers.

The firm’s published size descriptions should also be reconciled directly: its brokerage page states up to $150 million in enterprise value and displays additional criteria, while its homepage describes businesses up to $100 million in enterprise value. Owners can also request clarification of the “Target SDC” label.

Before engagement, owners can request the applicable fee, expense, tail, exclusivity, and termination provisions; representative transaction details and references; buyer-capacity and conflict-verification practices; and the expected scope of any transition or consulting support.[1][3][4][5]

01

What is the exact legal entity that will contract with the seller, and which entity or individuals perform any regulated securities or investment-advisory activities

The official About page does not state the firm’s formal legal entity name, broker-dealer registration, investment-adviser registration, securities license, or other firm-level regulatory identifier.[3]
02

What does the website’s “$1m+ Target SDC” criterion mean, and how should the stated $100 million and $150 million thresholds be reconciled

The official brokerage page publishes several size indicators but does not define “Target SDC” or reconcile those thresholds with the homepage’s up-to-$100-million lower-middle-market description.[4][5]
03

What are the engagement fee, success-fee, minimum-fee, expense-reimbursement, tail, exclusivity, and termination provisions

The official Contact page does not publish an engagement-fee schedule, success-fee percentage, minimum fee, expense policy, tail period, exclusivity provision, or termination schedule.[1]

What size transactions and clients does S&P Capital focus on?

The firm publicly lists healthcare, industrial services, business services, consumer, and manufacturing among its industry experience categories.[4]

The official homepage lists sold examples identified by industry and geography, including Commercial Distribution in North Carolina with $32M revenue and $8.8M cash flow; Distribution Company in the Carolinas with $18M revenue and $4.6M cash flow; and Commercial Landscaping in North Carolina with $8.3M revenue and $2.1M cash flow.

Additional listed sold examples include Financial Services, Educational Services, and Tax Preparation Services across Charlotte, the Southeast, the Mid-Atlantic, and the East Coast, with revenue and cash-flow metrics published for several examples.[5]

The firm presents sell-side advisory and brokerage services for privately held businesses. It also states that owners may evaluate growth capital and majority recapitalization alternatives in addition to a full exit.[3][6]

What does S&P Capital publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official homepage’s Active and Recent Transactions section does not disclose company names, transaction dates, buyer identities, consideration amounts, or deal structures for the listed sold examples.

The official Contact page provides contact information and a consultation form but does not publish an engagement-fee schedule, success-fee percentage, minimum fee, expense policy, tail period, exclusivity provision, or termination schedule.

The official brokerage page publishes multiple size indicators but does not define the “Target SDC” abbreviation or reconcile its thresholds with the homepage’s up-to-$100-million lower-middle-market description.[1][4][5]

The official About page describes the firm as providing investment banking and sell-side advisory services to privately held businesses and business owners.

The official About page does not state the firm’s formal legal entity name, broker-dealer registration, investment-adviser registration, securities license, or other firm-level regulatory identifier.[3]

The firm states that buyer groups introduced through its process have signed a non-disclosure agreement, met with the firm, discussed investment criteria and acquisition portfolios, and agreed to participate in the firm’s transaction process.[5]

Questions to ask before hiring S&P Capital

What is the exact legal entity that will contract with the seller, and which entity or individuals perform any regulated securities or investment-advisory activities?
The official About page does not state the firm’s formal legal entity name, broker-dealer registration, investment-adviser registration, securities license, or other firm-level regulatory identifier.[3]
What does the website’s “$1m+ Target SDC” criterion mean, and how should the stated $100 million and $150 million thresholds be reconciled?
The official brokerage page publishes several size indicators but does not define “Target SDC” or reconcile those thresholds with the homepage’s up-to-$100-million lower-middle-market description.[4][5]
What are the engagement fee, success-fee, minimum-fee, expense-reimbursement, tail, exclusivity, and termination provisions?
The official Contact page does not publish an engagement-fee schedule, success-fee percentage, minimum fee, expense policy, tail period, exclusivity provision, or termination schedule.[1]
Can the firm provide named representative transactions, closing dates, buyer types, and references subject to confidentiality restrictions?
The official homepage’s transaction archive lists anonymized industry and geography descriptions but does not disclose company names, transaction dates, buyer identities, consideration amounts, or deal structures.[5]
How are buyer financial capacity, conflicts, and affiliation with investment groups verified?
The firm states that buyer groups sign non-disclosure agreements, meet with the firm, discuss investment criteria and acquisition portfolios, and agree to participate in its transaction process.[5]
What does the firm’s closing support include, and what seller involvement is expected during that process?
The firm describes a process that includes closing support; owners can clarify the scope of that support and any related seller responsibilities directly with the firm.[4]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Identity / organization record
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Services / capabilities
  5. Services / capabilities
  6. Investment approach
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.