Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Sagewood Advisors

Sagewood Advisors operates as Sagewood Business Advisors / Sagewood Advisors LLC, a boutique advisory firm headquartered in Conifer, Colorado. Its public materials describe sell-side and buyer advisory, exit planning, valuation-related work, and transaction execution support for privately held, founder-led businesses.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Sagewood Advisors

Sagewood Advisors publicly describes a preparation-first M&A advisory model for privately held, founder-led businesses, with earnings-based engagement lanes ranging from SDE up to about $500,000 to EBITDA of $2 million to $10 million plus. Its public process includes preparation, buyer identification and screening, structuring, diligence, documentation, and closing support.[1][2][3][4][6][7][8]

What does Sagewood Advisors do?

Sagewood operates publicly as Sagewood Business Advisors / Sagewood Advisors LLC, a boutique advisory firm headquartered at 26719 Pleasant Park Road, Suite 210, Conifer, Colorado 80433. Benjamin Brickweg is identified as the firm’s founder and CEO.

The firm publicly offers exit-strategy planning, sell-side advisory, buyer advisory, valuation-related work, business-sale preparation, and transaction execution support.[1][2][3]

Sagewood publicly describes services that include exit-strategy planning, business-sale preparation, sell-side advisory, buyer advisory, valuation-related work, and transaction execution support.

Its published process also covers buyer identification and screening, deal structuring, due diligence, definitive documents, and closing.[3][4]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

EBITDAPublicly stated range
Lower published point$500,000
Upper published point$10MILLION

Published criteria: Sagewood publishes three earnings-based engagement lanes: Basecamp for owner-operated companies with SDE up to about $500,000; Trailblazer for companies with SDE or EBITDA roughly $500,000 to $2 million; and Frontier for companies with EBITDA of $2 million to $10 million plus.[6][7]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Sagewood Advisors?

An owner evaluating Sagewood can review its preparation-first process, including value assessment, buyer identification and screening, deal structuring, due diligence, definitive documents, and closing. The published earnings lanes span owner-operated companies with SDE up to about $500,000 through businesses with EBITDA of $2 million to $10 million plus.

The engagement terms warrant close review because Sagewood publishes a hybrid fee model and states that the success fee is 8% on the first $3 million of transaction value, then declining. The engagement letter should clarify the work fee, monthly retainer, success-fee tiers, scope, termination provisions, and the role of any securities-related services performed through Britehorn Securities.[2][4][6]

01

Which legal entity signs the advisory engagement, and which services are performed by Sagewood Advisors LLC versus Britehorn Securities

Sagewood states that securities and investment banking services are offered through Britehorn Securities, while its footer states that Britehorn Securities and Sagewood Business Advisors are not affiliated entities.[1][2]
02

Can Sagewood provide named references for completed transactions comparable in sector, earnings, geography, and deal structure

The official deal page identifies an available opportunity but does not disclose a named seller, named buyer, closing date, or completed-transaction status.[8]
03

What are the exact work-fee, monthly-retainer, success-fee, expense, tail, termination, and refund provisions

Sagewood publicly describes a hybrid fee model that includes a fixed work fee, monthly retainer, and final success fee.[6]

What size transactions and clients does Sagewood Advisors focus on?

Sagewood states that it works with businesses in manufacturing and distribution, health and wellness, professional services, and rural and seasonal markets. Its examples include outdoor product brands, private clinics, boutique fitness, consultants, niche technology, resort-town businesses, and regional franchises.

The homepage specifically highlights founder-led outdoor brands, precision manufacturers, and commercial contractors.[3][5]

Sagewood publicly lists an available offering titled “Established Destination Wedding Venue Business on 20 Private Acres,” identified as ID 25-0191. The offering involves an operating wedding and event venue together with underlying real estate.

The official deal page marks the offering as Available and does not disclose a named seller, named buyer, closing date, or completed-transaction status.[8]

The firm’s public service description covers sell-side advisory, buyer advisory, exit planning, business-sale preparation, valuation-related work, and transaction execution support. Its Peak Exit Process includes buyer identification and screening, deal structuring, due diligence, definitive documents, and closing.[3][4]

What does Sagewood Advisors publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official deal page for offering ID 25-0191 identifies the business opportunity and marks it Available, but does not disclose a named seller, named buyer, closing date, or completed-transaction status.

The official Sagewood homepage identifies a Conifer, Colorado headquarters and describes selected target sectors, but does not state a broader geographic coverage mandate.[3][8]

Sagewood states that Benjamin Brickweg offers securities and investment banking services through Britehorn Securities, a registered broker-dealer and FINRA/SIPC member.

Britehorn Securities LLC states that it is a FINRA- and SEC-registered introducing broker-dealer, CRD #36402, and provides regulatory oversight, supervisory services, and compliance infrastructure to independent registered representatives conducting institutional M&A advisory, private-placement capital raising, and strategic advisory activities. Sagewood’s official footer states that Britehorn Securities and Sagewood Business Advisors are not affiliated entities.[1][2][10]

Sagewood’s Peak Exit Process is organized into Prepare, Match, and Mechanics phases. The published steps cover value assessment, buyer identification and screening, deal structuring, due diligence, definitive documents, and closing.

Sagewood describes a hybrid seller fee model that includes a fixed work fee, monthly retainer, and final success fee. Its seller-services page states a success fee of 8% on the first $3 million of transaction value, then declining. Sagewood also states that most deals take six to twelve months.[4][6][7]

Questions to ask before hiring Sagewood Advisors

Which legal entity signs the advisory engagement, and which services are performed by Sagewood Advisors LLC versus Britehorn Securities?
Sagewood states that securities and investment banking services are offered through Britehorn Securities, while its footer states that Britehorn Securities and Sagewood Business Advisors are not affiliated entities.[1][2]
Can Sagewood provide named references for completed transactions comparable in sector, earnings, geography, and deal structure?
The official deal page identifies an available opportunity but does not disclose a named seller, named buyer, closing date, or completed-transaction status.[8]
What are the exact work-fee, monthly-retainer, success-fee, expense, tail, termination, and refund provisions?
Sagewood publicly describes a hybrid fee model that includes a fixed work fee, monthly retainer, and final success fee.[6]
How is the 8% success fee calculated, what does “then declining” mean at each transaction-value tier, and how are non-cash consideration, seller notes, earnouts, rollover equity, real estate, and working-capital adjustments treated?
The seller-services page states a success fee of 8% on the first $3 million of transaction value, then declining; the published statement does not specify the subsequent tier mechanics in the claim cited here.[6]
What buyer-screening, confidentiality, and diligence procedures will apply to the owner's business?
Sagewood’s published process includes buyer identification and screening and due diligence as part of its Prepare, Match, and Mechanics framework.[4]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Services / capabilities
  4. Investment approach
  5. Industry / market focus
  6. Transaction size / criteria
  7. Company / investment criteria
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Structure / regulatory context
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.