Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Salem Partners

Salem Partners describes itself as an independent Los Angeles-based boutique investment bank and wealth management firm founded in 1997. Its public investment-banking offering includes sell-side M&A advisory, private placements of equity and debt securities, valuation services, and fairness opinions.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Salem Partners

Salem Partners publicly presents an investment-banking platform covering sell-side M&A, equity and debt capital raising, valuations, and fairness opinions, with sector coverage that includes media, entertainment and technology; healthcare and life sciences; real estate; industrials; and specialty and lender finance. Its Media and Entertainment group also describes merchant-banking services and principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property.[1][2][3][7][8]

What does Salem Partners do?

Salem Partners describes itself as an independent Los Angeles-based boutique investment bank and wealth management firm founded in 1997.

Its publicly stated investment-banking services include sell-side M&A advisory, private placements of equity and debt securities, valuation services, and fairness opinions. The firm’s Media and Entertainment group also states that it provides advisory and merchant-banking services and maintains a portfolio of principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property.[1][2][3]

Salem Partners publicly offers sell-side M&A advisory, private placements of equity and debt securities, valuation services, and fairness opinions.

The firm’s Media and Entertainment group describes additional advisory and merchant-banking services, alongside a portfolio of principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property.[2][3]

Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.

Transaction sizePublicly stated range
Lower published point$20MILLION
Upper published point$1BILLION

Published criteria: Salem Partners' real estate banking group focuses on capital raises of $20 million and up and states that it can raise up to $1 billion or more for a single transaction. This is a disclosed real-estate capital-raising criterion, not a universal threshold for all advisory mandates.[7]

What should a business owner evaluate before hiring Salem Partners?

Owners evaluating Salem Partners can examine its stated sell-side M&A, capital-raising, valuation, and fairness-opinion capabilities alongside its sector coverage. The firm’s public materials also describe merchant-banking services and principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property, making the identity of the contracting entity and any economic interests associated with a proposed engagement important points to clarify.

The real estate banking page states a $20 million-and-up capital-raising focus and capacity of up to $1 billion or more for a single transaction, but the official investment-banking overview does not state a universal threshold for all advisory mandates. The investment-banking overview also does not publish a standard fee schedule, universal success-fee percentage, tail period, or termination schedule, so engagement-specific terms should be confirmed directly.[2][3][7]

01

Which Salem Partners entity would be engaged, and which entity would receive fees

Salem Partners LLC and Salem Partners Wealth Management, LLC are identified as separate entities with different regulatory descriptions.[9][10]
02

Does Salem Partners, an affiliate, or a related principal vehicle have any direct or indirect investment, lending, or other economic interest in the company, buyer, seller, asset, or financing

The Media and Entertainment group publicly describes merchant-banking services and a portfolio of principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property.[3]
03

What is the expected buyer or capital-partner universe for the mandate

The firm publicly identifies sale transactions, acquisitions, capital raises, and debt financings across multiple sectors, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish the buyer or capital-partner universe for a specific engagement.[8]

What size transactions and clients does Salem Partners focus on?

Salem Partners identifies Media, Entertainment and Technology; Healthcare and Life Sciences; Real Estate; Industrials; and Specialty and Lender Finance as investment-banking coverage areas.

Its healthcare and life sciences practice identifies specialty pharmaceuticals, healthcare services, biotechnology, healthcare IT, medical devices, and diagnostics as areas of expertise.[2][4]

The official transactions archive lists Hg’s $500 million strategic growth investment into Rightsline in 2026 and ValpakClipp’s $140 million senior term loan and revolving credit facility in 2026.

For 2025, the archive lists LiveCo’s senior secured loan facilities and the Oaktree Capital Management and Shout! Studios acquisition and financing of FilmRise.

The archive also identifies direct investments in GenrAb convertible notes in 2024, Renibus Therapeutics Series B Preferred Stock in 2023, and Form Bio Series A Preferred Stock in 2023.[8]

The firm’s stated transaction capabilities include sell-side M&A advisory, private placements of equity and debt securities, valuation services, and fairness opinions.

The official transactions archive publicly identifies named advisory and financing mandates across media, healthcare, and real estate, including sale transactions, acquisitions, capital raises, and debt financings.[2][8]

What does Salem Partners publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?

The official investment-banking overview does not state a universal minimum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, or transaction-size threshold for all advisory mandates.

The official transactions archive lists transaction descriptions and selected amounts, but that archive page does not disclose consideration terms for every listed transaction.

The official investment-banking overview does not publish a standard engagement-fee schedule, universal success-fee percentage, tail period, or termination schedule.[2][8]

FINRA’s firm report identifies Salem Partners LLC as CRD #43363 and SEC #8-50241, a Delaware limited liability company formed on January 10, 1997. The report states that the firm is registered with the SEC and one self-regulatory organization and is regulated by FINRA.

Salem Partners Wealth Management, LLC is identified in its March 31, 2025 Form CRS as a separate entity registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission as an investment adviser.[9][10]

The official transactions archive publicly identifies named advisory and financing mandates across media, healthcare, and real estate. The listed transaction types include sale transactions, acquisitions, capital raises, and debt financings.[8]

Questions to ask before hiring Salem Partners

Which Salem Partners entity would be engaged, and which entity would receive fees?
Salem Partners LLC and Salem Partners Wealth Management, LLC are identified as separate entities with different regulatory descriptions.[9][10]
Does Salem Partners, an affiliate, or a related principal vehicle have any direct or indirect investment, lending, or other economic interest in the company, buyer, seller, asset, or financing?
The Media and Entertainment group publicly describes merchant-banking services and a portfolio of principal investments in operating companies and intellectual property.[3]
What is the expected buyer or capital-partner universe for the mandate?
The firm publicly identifies sale transactions, acquisitions, capital raises, and debt financings across multiple sectors, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish the buyer or capital-partner universe for a specific engagement.[8]
What transaction-size, revenue, EBITDA, or sector criteria apply to this engagement?
The official investment-banking overview does not state a universal minimum revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, or transaction-size threshold for all advisory mandates.[2]
What are the retainer, success fee, expense reimbursement, exclusivity, tail, termination, and fairness-opinion terms?
The official investment-banking overview does not publish a standard engagement-fee schedule, universal success-fee percentage, tail period, or termination schedule, while fairness opinions are among the firm’s stated services.[2]
Which recent comparable transactions can be discussed under confidentiality?
The official transactions archive identifies named recent advisory and financing mandates across media, healthcare, and real estate, including sale transactions, acquisitions, capital raises, and debt financings.[8]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Services / capabilities
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Industry / market focus
  5. Geography / market coverage
  6. Geography / market coverage
  7. Transaction size / criteria
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. FINRA regulatory record
  10. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.