Saluda Grade
Founded in 2019, Saluda Grade describes a vertically integrated investment approach spanning asset sourcing, securitization and active asset management, with a particular focus on U.S. residential real estate and alternative credit.
What stands out about Saluda Grade
Saluda Grade publicly describes strategies spanning asset-based credit, securitizations, early-stage growth equity and customized alternative-credit solutions. Its disclosed growth equity strategy targets minority, non-controlling positions in early-stage non-bank lenders, originators and credit-focused fintechs, while its credit platform includes U.S. residential and selected commercial real estate credit.[1][2][3][4][5][6]
What does Saluda Grade invest in?
Saluda Grade is an independent alternative investment firm specializing in asset-based credit, with a particular focus on residential real estate. The firm states that it was founded in 2019.
Its publicly stated capabilities include income-oriented and credit strategies, securitizations, early-stage growth equity investments and customized alternative-credit solutions for institutional investors. Saluda Grade also describes a vertically integrated approach spanning the sourcing and acquisition of investments, securitization and active asset management.[1][2]
Saluda Grade describes an investment model that combines asset sourcing, acquisition, securitization and active asset management. Its public capabilities include income-oriented and credit strategies, structured securitizations, early-stage growth equity and customized alternative-credit solutions.
For qualifying non-bank originators, the firm says it may provide market insights, benchmarking, introductions to technology and service providers, product-development guidance, cost-of-capital support, credit-facility introductions and, in select cases, direct equity investments.[1][2][8]
Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.
Published criteria: Saluda Grade states that it manages $4.4 billion in assets, estimated as of January 1, 2026, and employs 56 professionals. Public CRE parameters include minimum loan amounts of $20.0M for specified first mortgage bridge loans, a minimum of $7.5M for subordinate loans, 2 to 5 year terms, and up to 75% LTV for specified first mortgage categories.[1][3][4]
What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Saluda Grade?
For an owner or originator considering a capital or strategic relationship, Saluda Grade’s public materials describe a platform combining alternative-credit investing, securitization capabilities and partnerships with non-bank originators. The proposed relationship should be clarified at the instrument and platform level: it could involve debt exposure, a minority equity position, a platform investment, a securitization relationship or a combination.
Owners should also clarify the investing or contracting entity; target ownership and governance rights; reporting, exclusivity, covenant, fee, warrant, prepayment, exit and transfer provisions; and any effect on existing lenders, servicing arrangements, securitization eligibility, future sale or refinancing flexibility. The growth-equity page does not establish investment amounts or ownership percentages for the listed portfolio companies; the Hillcrest transaction announcement does not disclose consideration or other financial terms; and the insights archive does not provide a uniform set of transaction values, investor allocations, fees or full economics for each listed securitization.[3][5][6][8]
Which Saluda Grade entity would invest or contract, and which entity would provide financing or asset-management services
Is the proposed capital debt, preferred equity, common equity, a minority platform investment, or a securitization or warehouse arrangement
What are the target ownership percentage, governance rights, reserved matters, reporting requirements, exclusivity provisions, covenants, fees, warrants, prepayment or exit provisions, and transfer rights
What investment criteria does Saluda Grade publicly describe?
The firm’s core focus is alternative credit in the U.S. residential sector. Publicly described asset classes include residential transition loans, residential second-lien mortgages, home equity agreements, DSCR loans, home improvement loans and related housing finance.
Saluda Grade has also expanded into commercial real estate credit through Hillcrest Finance. Its growth equity strategy targets early-stage non-bank alternative lenders, originators and credit-focused fintechs.[2][3]
For growth equity investments, Saluda Grade says it looks for strong unit economics, dynamic management teams, scalable business models and significant addressable markets. The strategy targets minority, non-controlling positions, typically at the Series A or B stage.
Public CRE loan parameters include minimum loan amounts of $20.0M for specified first mortgage bridge loans and a minimum of $7.5M for subordinate loans. The disclosed parameters also include 2 to 5 year terms and up to 75% LTV for specified first mortgage categories.[3][4]
Saluda Grade describes its process as focused on the U.S. residential sector. Its principal office is identified in a current Form ADV filing as 5 Bryant Park, Floor 23, New York, New York 10018.[2][7]
Saluda Grade’s official portfolio disclosure identifies AvantStay, Builders Capital, CV3, Figure, Homeward, Jubilee, Momnt, Renovo, Spring EQ, Unlock and Wrightwell as portfolio companies or disclosed investments. The same page notes exits for Renovo and Spring EQ.
Saluda Grade also announced that it acquired Hillcrest Finance in June 2025 and had previously acquired a passive minority stake in Hillcrest Finance as it expanded into commercial real estate credit targeting multifamily properties.[3][6]
The official insights archive lists Saluda Grade Alternative Mortgage Trust 2026-LOC6 dated June 1, 2026; Saluda Grade Alternative Mortgage Trust 2026-RTL7 dated March 5, 2026; and Saluda Grade Alternative Mortgage Trust 2026-HB1 dated February 5, 2026.[5]
What is not clear from Saluda Grade's public materials?
The official growth equity page identifies portfolio companies and notes exits for Renovo and Spring EQ, but does not disclose investment amounts, ownership percentages, or entry and exit dates for those investments on that page.
The official Hillcrest transaction announcement states that the investment agreement’s terms were confidential and does not disclose the transaction consideration or other financial terms. The official insights archive lists securitization names and dates but does not provide a uniform set of transaction values, investor allocations, fees or full economics for each listed transaction on that archive page.[3][5][6]
Questions to ask before taking capital from Saluda Grade
Which Saluda Grade entity would invest or contract, and which entity would provide financing or asset-management services?
Is the proposed capital debt, preferred equity, common equity, a minority platform investment, or a securitization or warehouse arrangement?
What are the target ownership percentage, governance rights, reserved matters, reporting requirements, exclusivity provisions, covenants, fees, warrants, prepayment or exit provisions, and transfer rights?
How would the relationship affect existing lenders, servicing arrangements, securitization eligibility, and future sale or refinancing flexibility?
What transaction-specific economics and diligence findings can be shared beyond the publicly disclosed portfolio and securitization information?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Services / capabilities
- Investment approach
- Transaction size / criteria
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- SEC filing / regulatory record
- Public Process
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.