Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Scopia Capital Management

Scopia Capital Management describes itself as an institutional alternative asset management firm founded in 2001. Its website identifies long-short equity and long-only equity strategies, with a fundamentals-based, value-driven approach.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Scopia Capital Management

Scopia publicly identifies two equity strategies: a long-short strategy managed with the discipline of market neutrality and a long-only strategy. Its home page states $500 million of assets under management. The cited home page does not state a formal sector mandate, investment-size criteria, private-company acquisition program, or holding-period policy. The Form 13F does not disclose acquisition consideration, transaction financing, purchase rationale, or private-company ownership terms for the listed positions.[1][3]

What does Scopia Capital Management invest in?

Scopia Capital Management LP is an institutional alternative asset management firm based in New York City and founded in 2001 by Matt Sirovich and Jeremy Mindich. The firm’s official website states that it has been an SEC Registered Investment Adviser since 2003. Its SEC Form ADV identifies SCOPIA CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LP as the primary business name, with SEC file number 801-61668, CRD number 124403, and CIK number 1279150.[1][4]

Scopia publicly states that it manages two strategies: a long-short equity strategy managed with the discipline of market neutrality and a long-only equity strategy. The firm describes its investment approach as fundamentals-based and value-driven.[1]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
Scopia's official website states that the firm has $500 million of assets under management. Scopia's home page does not state minimum or maximum investment-size criteria.[1]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Scopia Capital Management?

For an owner evaluating Scopia, the applicable strategy and security type should be confirmed, along with control rights, liquidity terms, investment horizon, and exit provisions. The cited home page does not state a private-company acquisition program or holding-period policy, and the Form 13F does not disclose transaction consideration or private-company ownership terms for the listed positions. Those points should be clarified directly before treating Scopia as a potential private-company acquisition counterparty.[1]

01

Would the proposed investment be made through the long-short market-neutral strategy, the long-only strategy, or another strategy

Scopia publicly identifies two equity strategies, making the applicable strategy a point to confirm.[1]
02

What security type, control rights, liquidity terms, investment horizon, and exit provisions would apply

These are terms for an owner to confirm before evaluating the opportunity.[1]
03

Does Scopia invest directly in private companies, and if so, what ownership and governance structure would apply

Scopia’s official home page does not state a private-company acquisition program, while the Form 13F reports securities holdings without private-company ownership terms.[1][3]

What investment criteria does Scopia Capital Management publicly describe?

The Form 13F-HR for the quarter ended March 31, 2026 reports securities positions including Amazon, Chemours, Corteva, DoorDash, KKR, LivaNova, Peloton, Regal Rexnord, Valvoline, and Vistance Networks. These reported positions are a holdings snapshot and do not by themselves establish a formal sector mandate or a private-company acquisition program.[1][3]

Scopia’s home page does not state a formal sector mandate, geographic investment mandate, or minimum or maximum investment-size criterion.[1]

Scopia lists its office at 152 West 57th Street, 33rd Floor, New York, NY 10019. Scopia’s home page does not state a geographic investment mandate.[1][2]

The Form 13F-HR for the quarter ended March 31, 2026 reports positions in Amazon, Chemours, Corteva, DoorDash, KKR, LivaNova, Peloton, Regal Rexnord, Valvoline, and Vistance Networks. The filing reports 22 information-table entries with a total reported value of $145,801,256.[3]

The Form 13F-HR for the quarter ended March 31, 2026 provides a public snapshot of reported securities holdings. It does not disclose acquisition consideration, transaction financing, purchase rationale, or private-company ownership terms for the listed positions. Scopia’s official home page does not state a private-company acquisition program.[1][3]

What is not clear from Scopia Capital Management's public materials?

Scopia’s home page does not state a formal sector mandate, geographic investment mandate, minimum or maximum investment-size criterion, private-company acquisition program, investment holding-period policy, fee schedule, or transaction-consideration terms. The Form 13F-HR reports securities holdings but does not disclose acquisition consideration, transaction financing, purchase rationale, or private-company ownership terms for the listed positions.[1][3]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Scopia Capital Management

Would the proposed investment be made through the long-short market-neutral strategy, the long-only strategy, or another strategy?
Scopia publicly identifies two equity strategies, making the applicable strategy a point to confirm.[1]
What security type, control rights, liquidity terms, investment horizon, and exit provisions would apply?
These are terms for an owner to confirm before evaluating the opportunity.[1]
Does Scopia invest directly in private companies, and if so, what ownership and governance structure would apply?
Scopia’s official home page does not state a private-company acquisition program, while the Form 13F reports securities holdings without private-company ownership terms.[1][3]
What sectors, geographies, market-cap or enterprise-value ranges, and revenue or profitability thresholds are currently targeted?
These are matters to confirm when evaluating Scopia’s current investment criteria. Scopia’s home page does not state a formal sector mandate, geographic investment mandate, or minimum or maximum investment-size criterion.[1]
What fee, expense, carry, redemption, lock-up, and termination terms would apply?
Scopia’s official home page does not state a fee schedule or transaction-consideration terms.[1]
Can Scopia provide current investment references relevant to the owner's sector and proposed security?
The public holdings snapshot identifies selected reported positions but does not establish the owner’s sector fit or the terms of any investment.[3]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Geography / market coverage
  3. SEC filing / regulatory record
  4. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.