Sixth Street
Sixth Street describes a global, multi-strategy investment platform that provides flexible capital across company growth stages, asset classes, sectors, and geographies.
What stands out about Sixth Street
Sixth Street publicly describes capabilities across growth investing, direct lending, asset-based finance, real estate, infrastructure, insurance solutions, public markets, royalty-stream purchases, and bespoke structures. Its published platform ranges include $50m-$2.5b+ for Growth, $100m-$2.5b+ for Asset Based Finance, and $50m-$1b+ for Real Estate.[1][2][4][5][6]
What does Sixth Street invest in?
Sixth Street is a global investment firm founded in 2009. The firm states that it develops investment themes and offers solutions to companies across all stages of growth.
Its publicly described capabilities include building businesses, investing for growth, acquiring assets, providing direct financing, investing in public markets, purchasing royalty streams, and developing bespoke structures. Sixth Street also states that it uses long-term, flexible capital, data-enabled capabilities, and cross-platform collaboration.[1]
Sixth Street describes a multi-strategy private-capital model that can invest across the capital structure. Publicly stated forms of capital include debt, equity, preferred equity, mezzanine, joint-venture, structured, and platform solutions.
The firm states that its investment committees evaluate relative value across themes, sectors, geographies, and asset classes and size positions with discipline when constructing portfolios.[1][13]
Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.
Published criteria: Published platform-specific ranges include $50m-$2.5b+ for Sixth Street Growth, $100m-$2.5b+ for Asset Based Finance, and $50m-$1b+ for Real Estate. The Sixth Street homepage does not publish a universal minimum investment size. The Sixth Street What We Do page does not state one firm-wide check-size criterion applicable to all Sixth Street strategies.[2][4]
What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Sixth Street?
Sixth Street presents multiple potential transaction structures, including growth equity, direct lending, structured capital, asset-based finance, real-estate capital, platform acquisitions, and bespoke solutions. An owner evaluating the firm should establish which Sixth Street strategy and legal entity would lead the transaction, the proposed ownership and governance arrangement, the form of capital, follow-on capital availability, leverage or refinancing terms, and the anticipated investment horizon.
The platform-specific ranges and transaction examples do not establish a single firm-wide standard for ownership, check size, or investment horizon. Those terms should be confirmed for the relevant strategy and proposed transaction.[1][2][4]
What ownership percentage, governance rights, board rights, and management-retention expectations would apply
Is the proposed capital debt, equity, preferred equity, mezzanine, structured, royalty-stream, or a blended structure
What investment criteria does Sixth Street publicly describe?
Sixth Street Growth states that it focuses on mid-to-late-stage companies and private investments in secularly growing businesses, particularly software, fintech, and healthcare IT.
Its Consumer and Internet platform identifies consumer services, multi-unit businesses, franchisor and franchisee businesses, health and wellness, digital marketplaces, e-commerce, consumer subscription, technology-enabled consumer businesses, and branded intellectual property as areas of activity.
Its Real Estate platform invests across residential, hospitality, office, industrial, retail, and niche real-estate asset classes and across the capital structure.[2][3][4]
Published criteria vary by platform. Sixth Street Growth states capital commitments of $50m-$2.5b+ for mid-to-late-stage companies. Asset Based Finance states that it makes scalable commitments of $100m-$2.5b+, while Real Estate states that it makes scalable investments of $50m-$1b+.
These ranges are platform-specific. The Sixth Street What We Do page does not state one firm-wide check-size, ownership, or investment-horizon criterion applicable to all Sixth Street strategies.[2][4]
Sixth Street states that it has invested in more than 25 countries. Its publicly described activity spans global markets, including North American and European investment and financing activity.[1]
Sixth Street’s official site identifies Airbnb, Spotify, Caris Life Sciences, AirTrunk, and EdgeConneX among its selected investments.[1]
On June 3, 2026, Kpler announced a minority strategic growth equity investment of over $1 billion from Sixth Street, with management remaining majority owners. On June 16, 2026, Chronograph announced a strategic minority growth equity investment of over $140 million from Sixth Street Growth.
On June 15, 2026, Sixth Street invested $600 million in Pinnacle Gas Services for a 27% non-controlling common equity interest, valuing Pinnacle at a $2.2 billion enterprise value. On June 29, 2026, investment vehicles managed or advised by Sixth Street entered into a definitive agreement to acquire a majority stake in Monument Re, subject to regulatory approvals and other customary closing conditions.
On July 22, 2026, Sixth Street Growth led Candid Health’s $120 million Series D financing. On September 21, 2026, Sixth Street announced a cooperative agreement with Lloyds to use its global Asset Based Finance platform to provide financing solutions for UK commercial real-estate borrowers.[5][6][7][8][9][10]
What is not clear from Sixth Street's public materials?
The Sixth Street homepage does not publish a universal minimum investment size, firm-wide ownership percentage requirement, fund-by-fund AUM breakdown, fee schedule, or firm-wide investment holding-period policy.
The Sixth Street What We Do page provides platform-specific investment ranges and strategy descriptions but does not state one firm-wide check-size, ownership, or investment-horizon criterion applicable to all Sixth Street strategies.
The Kpler transaction announcement does not disclose total transaction consideration beyond stating that the Sixth Street investment was over $1 billion, or Sixth Street’s resulting ownership percentage. The Chronograph transaction announcement does not disclose Sixth Street Growth’s resulting ownership percentage or detailed governance and investment-term arrangements.[1][2][5][6]
Questions to ask before taking capital from Sixth Street
Which Sixth Street platform and legal entity would lead the proposed transaction?
What ownership percentage, governance rights, board rights, and management-retention expectations would apply?
Is the proposed capital debt, equity, preferred equity, mezzanine, structured, royalty-stream, or a blended structure?
What is the expected investment horizon and exit approach for this specific strategy?
What minimum or target investment size applies to the relevant platform?
How much follow-on capital is available, and what portfolio-company operating resources would be provided?
Which affiliated adviser, broker-dealer, fund, BDC, insurer, or other regulated entity would participate?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Industry / market focus
- Industry / market focus
- Property / asset focus
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- SEC filing / regulatory record
- SEC filing / regulatory record
- Public Process
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.