Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Tailwater Capital

Tailwater Capital is a Dallas-based private equity firm founded in 2013 by Jason Downie and Edward Herring. It describes a research-driven Full Immersion approach across energy and infrastructure and identifies an upstream Tailwater E&P platform focused on Lower 48 opportunities.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Tailwater Capital

Tailwater Capital publicly focuses on energy and infrastructure, with stated activities spanning energy infrastructure, environmental infrastructure, natural-gas assets, minerals and royalties, and operated and non-operated upstream investments. Tailwater E&P states transaction ranges of $20 million to $500+ million for non-operated upstream investments and $500,000 to $500 million for minerals and royalties opportunities.[1][3][4][6][8]

What does Tailwater Capital invest in?

Tailwater Capital is a Dallas-based private equity firm focused on energy and infrastructure. Jason Downie and Edward Herring founded the firm in 2013. Tailwater states that it uses a research-driven Full Immersion approach and partners with management teams to build scalable, sustainable energy and infrastructure assets.

The SEC Investment Adviser Public Disclosure system identifies TAILWATER CAPITAL, CRD #167240 / SEC #801-77769, with SEC registration effective March 28, 2013.[1][9]

Tailwater describes its investment model as Full Immersion, combining research, direct industry engagement, sector expertise and partnerships with management teams. Its public focus includes energy infrastructure, environmental infrastructure, upstream non-operated investments, minerals and royalties, and operated upstream investments.[1][2]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Transaction sizePublicly stated range
Lower published point$6.2BILLION
Upper published point$500MILLION

Published criteria: Tailwater states that it has approximately $6.2 billion of committed capital, more than 300 transactions and more than $29 billion of transaction value. Tailwater E&P states that non-operated upstream transaction sizes range from $20 million to $500+ million, while minerals and royalties opportunities range from $500,000 to $500 million.[1][3]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Tailwater Capital?

An owner evaluating Tailwater can compare the company’s business and assets with Tailwater’s stated energy, infrastructure and upstream focus, including the Lower 48 emphasis and Tailwater E&P’s published transaction ranges. The public record also shows both a closed majority-interest acquisition and an equity issuance in which Tailwater and affiliated entities were expected to own approximately 39% of Summit’s outstanding equity.

Owners should clarify the proposed ownership and control structure, any seller equity rollover or management reinvestment expectations, the investing fund or affiliated vehicle, the expected investment horizon and exit process, valuation and leverage parameters, follow-on capital capacity, and the operating resources available through Tailwater’s affiliated platforms. The Northern Delaware Basin acquisition announcement does not disclose the purchase price, Tailwater’s ownership percentage or the fund-level source of capital for that acquisition.[2][3][5][6][7]

01

What ownership or control structure would Tailwater seek for this company

Public examples include a closed acquisition of a majority interest in Central Midstream Partners and an equity issuance in which Tailwater and affiliated entities were expected to own approximately 39% of Summit’s outstanding equity.[5][7]
02

Which Tailwater fund or affiliated vehicle would make the investment

The Northern Delaware Basin acquisition announcement does not disclose the fund-level source of capital for that acquisition.[6]
03

What seller equity rollover or management reinvestment would be expected

Tailwater states that it partners with management teams and treats portfolio companies as long-term partners.[1][8]

What companies does Tailwater Capital target?

Tailwater E&P states that non-operated upstream transaction sizes range from $20 million to $500+ million. It also states that minerals and royalties opportunities range from $500,000 to $500 million.

These published parameters describe transaction sizes for specified Tailwater E&P opportunity types rather than company-level financial thresholds.[3]

Tailwater publicly identifies energy infrastructure and environmental infrastructure as focus areas. Its stated activities include natural-gas gathering, processing, storage, transportation and distribution; carbon capture and sequestration; wastewater treatment and recycling; and upstream minerals, royalties, operated and non-operated oil-and-gas investments.[2]

Tailwater is based in Dallas, Texas. Tailwater E&P states that it invests across the Lower 48, with particular emphasis on the Permian, Eagle Ford and Williston basins and the Haynesville Shale.[1][3]

Tailwater’s public materials identify an upstream Tailwater E&P platform, and a 2026 announcement describes the expansion of that platform through a northern Delaware Basin non-operated leasehold acquisition.[6]

Tailwater’s portfolio page describes its portfolio companies as long-term partners and states that Tailwater collaborates with them on value creation, operational excellence and sustainable growth.[8]

  • Pickton Gas Storage — July 16, 2026: Tailwater announced an investment in Pickton Gas Storage, a natural-gas storage and infrastructure platform developing a 35-billion-cubic-foot working-gas-capacity facility and Paris Hub in East Texas.
  • Summit Midstream Corporation — March 31, 2026: Summit Midstream entered into a securities purchase agreement for a $42.0 million equity issuance to an affiliate of Tailwater Capital. Tailwater and affiliated entities were expected to beneficially own approximately 39% of Summit’s outstanding equity after the transaction.
  • Northern Delaware Basin — January 20, 2026: Tailwater announced the acquisition of a diversified non-operated leasehold position covering approximately 35,000 gross acres and more than 900 gross wells in Lea and Eddy counties, New Mexico.
  • Central Midstream Partners — December 11, 2025: Tailwater announced that it had closed on the acquisition of a majority interest in Central Midstream Partners, which provides liquids transportation, storage and terminal services.
[4][5][6][7]

What is not clear from Tailwater Capital's public investment criteria?

Tailwater’s official portfolio page does not publish fund-by-fund ownership dates, acquisition prices, realized proceeds or investment-level return metrics on that page.

The Pickton Gas Storage announcement does not disclose Tailwater’s investment amount or ownership percentage for that investment. The Northern Delaware Basin acquisition announcement does not disclose the purchase price, Tailwater’s ownership percentage or the fund-level source of capital for that acquisition.[4][6][8]

Questions to ask when evaluating Tailwater Capital as a buyer or investment partner

What ownership or control structure would Tailwater seek for this company?
Public examples include a closed acquisition of a majority interest in Central Midstream Partners and an equity issuance in which Tailwater and affiliated entities were expected to own approximately 39% of Summit’s outstanding equity.[5][7]
Which Tailwater fund or affiliated vehicle would make the investment?
The Northern Delaware Basin acquisition announcement does not disclose the fund-level source of capital for that acquisition.[6]
What seller equity rollover or management reinvestment would be expected?
Tailwater states that it partners with management teams and treats portfolio companies as long-term partners.[1][8]
What is the expected investment horizon and exit process?
Tailwater’s portfolio page does not publish fund-by-fund ownership dates or realized proceeds.[8]
How would valuation, leverage and follow-on capital decisions be determined?
This question addresses how valuation, leverage and follow-on capital decisions would be determined in a prospective transaction. Tailwater’s public materials describe its investment approach and recent follow-on equity activity.[1][5]
What operating and technical resources would be available through Tailwater's affiliated platforms?
Tailwater describes collaboration on value creation, operational excellence and sustainable growth, and its public materials identify Tailwater E&P as an upstream platform.[3][6][8]
Can Tailwater provide representative realized transaction outcomes and references from comparable management teams?
Tailwater’s portfolio page does not publish realized proceeds or investment-level return metrics.[8]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Industry / market focus
  3. Geography / market coverage
  4. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  5. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Investment approach
  9. SEC investment adviser record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.