The Independence Group
The Independence Group identifies itself as a sell-side M&A firm serving lower-middle-market companies since 1997. Its stated capabilities include business value estimates, seller and buyer representation, deal structuring, targeted marketing, negotiation, and transaction follow-through.
What stands out about The Independence Group
The Independence Group publicly presents a sell-side M&A advisory model for lower-middle-market companies, with target parameters of $1M–$25M EBITDA and $5M-$100M+ transaction value. It describes its coverage as industry agnostic and separately promotes experience in waste and recycling.[1][3]
What does The Independence Group do?
The Independence Group identifies itself as a sell-side mergers-and-acquisitions firm serving lower-middle-market companies since 1997. Its corporate office is listed at 1107 Investment Blvd., Suite 150, El Dorado Hills, California 95762.
The firm states that its corporate office is based in Northern California and that it has additional offices throughout the United States. It also states that it has completed over 400 transactions, has 10 M&A advisors across the United States, assigns every deal a CPA, and has a dedicated support team of about 20.[1]
Publicly listed capabilities include business value estimates, seller representation, buyer representation, and deal structuring.
The firm’s described transaction support includes establishing an expected value range, preparing a sales presentation, targeted or aggressive marketing, negotiation and structuring, and deal follow-through from start to finish.[1][4]
Owners comparing advisory firms can also review Auxo’s M&A advisor vs. business broker vs. investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and sell-side advisor evaluation framework.
What should a business owner evaluate before hiring The Independence Group?
An owner evaluating The Independence Group can compare the firm’s published transaction parameters with the company’s EBITDA and value profile, and can assess the stated seller-representation, valuation, marketing, negotiation, structuring, and transaction-follow-through capabilities.
The owner should clarify the proposed contracting entity, the role of Acquisition Partners and buyer-representation activities, the assigned advisors and CPA, sector-specific experience, fee mechanics, engagement terms, conflicts, and regulatory structure. The official overview PDF does not publish the firm’s universal fee or detailed engagement terms, and it does not identify a firm-level SEC, FINRA, investment-adviser, broker-dealer, or state securities registration status.[1][4]
What is the current legal contracting entity, and does it or any affiliate maintain broker-dealer, investment-adviser, business-broker, or other state licensing
What are the upfront fees, success-fee formula, minimum fee, expense provisions, tail period, exclusivity, and termination rights
How many of the stated over-400 transactions were completed in the owner's sector and size range
What size transactions and clients does The Independence Group focus on?
The official overview describes The Independence Group as industry agnostic. A separate company advertisement identifies experience and deep knowledge in the waste and recycling sectors.[1][2]
Public company or personnel announcements identify completed transactions involving a premier commercial roofing company, a wood truss company, and a metal recycling company sold to a strategic buyer.
The official March 2025 opportunity list also identifies an industrial scrap metal processing company and commercial building cleaning services as transaction-completed opportunities. That list does not disclose transaction consideration or buyer and seller identities.[3][4][5]
The firm publishes target parameters of $1M–$25M EBITDA and $5M-$100M+ transaction value. Its public positioning is centered on sell-side M&A for lower-middle-market companies, while its listed capabilities also include buyer representation and deal structuring.[1]
What does The Independence Group publicly disclose about fees, process and engagement terms?
The official overview PDF does not publish a universal fee schedule, success-fee percentage, minimum fee, tail period, termination schedule, or other detailed engagement-contract terms.
The official March 2025 opportunity list does not disclose transaction consideration or buyer and seller identities for the listed opportunities.[1][3]
The official overview presents The Independence Group as a privately held M&A advisory firm with a separate affiliate, Acquisition Partners, focused on private-equity acquisition searches.
The official overview PDF does not identify a firm-level SEC, FINRA, investment-adviser, broker-dealer, or state securities registration status.[1]
The firm describes a transaction process that includes establishing an expected value range, preparing a high-quality sales presentation, conducting targeted or aggressive marketing, negotiating and structuring the deal, and providing follow-through from start to finish.
The March 2025 opportunity list states that The Independence Group has the mandate with the seller on the listed opportunities.[3][4]
Questions to ask before hiring The Independence Group
What is the current legal contracting entity, and does it or any affiliate maintain broker-dealer, investment-adviser, business-broker, or other state licensing?
What are the upfront fees, success-fee formula, minimum fee, expense provisions, tail period, exclusivity, and termination rights?
How many of the stated over-400 transactions were completed in the owner's sector and size range?
Which current advisors and CPAs would be assigned to the engagement?
Can the firm provide anonymized or referenceable transactions comparable by EBITDA, geography, industry, and deal structure?
How are strategic buyers, private-equity buyers, and family-office buyers prioritized?
What conflicts arise from buyer-representation or Acquisition Partners activity?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Industry focus
- Public Process
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.