The Liberty Group of Nevada
The Liberty Group of Nevada is a Reno-based business brokerage firm founded in 2004 whose practice was sold to Stewart and Kathryn Guthrie in 2021. It helps entrepreneurs buy, build, and sell businesses, with services spanning pricing analysis, confidential marketing, buyer qualification, negotiations, and transaction support.
The Liberty Group of Nevada presents itself as a business intermediary rather than a disclosed principal investor.
Its public services include evaluating, marketing, and negotiating business sales; confidential pricing analysis and market research; buyer qualification; and support with contracts, escrow, and closing preparation. The firm lists appointment locations in Reno, Nevada, and Rocklin, California, and its transaction archive includes sold examples across several business categories. The cited Businesses for Sale page does not state universal seller-size thresholds, and the cited transaction-terms page does not publish a universal commission percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule.[1][2][3][4][5][7][8]
What does The Liberty Group of Nevada do?
The Liberty Group of Nevada is a Reno-based business brokerage firm founded in 2004. Its practice was sold to Stewart and Kathryn Guthrie in 2021. The firm states that it helps entrepreneurs buy, build, and sell businesses.[1][2]
The firm states that it works with business owners to evaluate, market, and negotiate business sales. Publicly described services include Value Builder sellability assessments, confidential pricing analysis, market research, confidential marketing, and buyer communications.
Its buyer process includes evaluating acquisition needs and criteria, assessing price and conditions, confirming financial ability and interest, collecting background information, and requiring a non-disclosure agreement from prospective buyers.[2][3][4]
Owners comparing intermediaries can also review Auxo’s business broker, M&A advisor and investment bank comparison, advisor-selection guide, and M&A advisor fee guide.
What should a business owner evaluate before hiring The Liberty Group of Nevada?
An owner evaluating the firm should clarify the proposed valuation methodology, the comparable-transaction data used, buyer-screening standards, target buyer segments, geographic outreach, marketing plan, confidentiality controls, expected milestones, and the handling of final deal terms. The cited Business Brokerage Transaction Terms page does not publish a universal commission percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule, so those engagement terms should be confirmed directly.[3][5][8]
What valuation methodology and comparable-transaction data will be used
What commission, minimum fee, retainer, expense reimbursement, exclusivity, tail, and termination terms apply
What size transactions does The Liberty Group of Nevada handle?
The official transaction archive identifies a 2026 painting business in Washoe County listed for $399,000, a 2026 Papa Murphy’s in Reno listed for $180,000, and a 2026 Premier Transportation Consulting Firm in California listed for $1,510,000. It also identifies a 2025 tree service company in California listed for $540,000, a 2025 physical therapy practice in Washoe County listed for $300,000, and a 2024 industrial equipment distributor in the Western United States listed for $3,500,000 as just-sold engagements.[5]
The firm states that it sells privately held businesses and confidentially markets opportunities to corporate strategic buyers, private equity groups, and high-net-worth individuals. Its described transaction services include pricing analysis, buyer communications, negotiations, contract coordination, escrow support, and closing-related assistance.[3][4]
The cited claims do not establish a narrow sector mandate. The firm’s public transaction archive identifies sold engagements involving painting, restaurants, transportation consulting, tree services, physical therapy, and industrial equipment distribution businesses.[5]
What does The Liberty Group of Nevada publicly disclose about fees and engagement terms?
The cited Recent Transactions page lists sold business descriptions and listed asking prices but does not disclose final transaction consideration or buyer identities for the examples shown.
The cited Businesses for Sale page provides filters for industry, location, asking price, and internal listing ID but does not state a universal minimum seller revenue, EBITDA, enterprise-value, or business-size threshold.
The cited Business Brokerage Transaction Terms page provides a glossary of transaction terminology but does not publish a universal brokerage commission percentage, minimum fee, tail period, or termination schedule.[5][7][8]
The firm’s official materials identify Nevada Broker Lic. B.1002533.CORP/BUSB.0007091.BKR and California Broker Lic. 02155356. Official broker biographies identify Kathryn Guthrie as holding Nevada Business Broker Permit #BUSB.0007091.BKR and Stewart Guthrie as holding Nevada Business Broker Permit #BUSB.0007094.BKR.
These disclosures establish brokerage-license information; they do not establish any broader firm-level securities registration status.[1][6]
For buyers, the stated process includes reviewing needs and acquisition criteria, assessing price and conditions, confirming financial ability and interest, collecting background information, and obtaining a non-disclosure agreement. For sellers, the firm describes pricing analysis, confidential marketing, buyer communications, negotiations, contract coordination, escrow support, and closing preparation.[3][4]
Questions to ask before hiring The Liberty Group of Nevada
What valuation methodology and comparable-transaction data will be used?
What commission, minimum fee, retainer, expense reimbursement, exclusivity, tail, and termination terms apply?
What buyer segments and geographic markets will be targeted?
How are buyer financial capacity, proof of funds, and strategic fit verified?
Will the firm represent both sides of a transaction, and if so, how are conflicts handled?
What are the expected milestones from engagement through closing?
Can the firm provide anonymized examples of final sale-price-to-asking-price outcomes and closing timelines?
Sources & research notes
- Official website / firm overview
- Services / capabilities
- Services / capabilities
- Company / investment criteria
- Transaction / portfolio evidence
- Structure / regulatory context
- Public disclosure information
- Public disclosure information
How this profile was researched
Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.
Independent research profile
This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.
Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.
Broker-dealer and securities disclosure
Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.
Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.
Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.
Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.