Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Vector Capital

Vector Capital states that it has focused exclusively on technology companies since its founding in 1997. Its platform includes private equity, credit, and structured-capital strategies.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Vector Capital

Vector Capital publicly describes a technology-focused investment platform that pursues buyouts, corporate carve-outs, recapitalizations, growth equity, private investments in public companies, add-on acquisitions, and multiple credit structures. The official About page does not state a universal equity check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion.[1][2][3][4][5][9]

What does Vector Capital invest in?

Vector Capital states that it has focused exclusively on investing in technology companies since its founding in 1997. The firm identifies Vector Capital Management at 650 California Street, 32nd Floor, San Francisco, California 94108. Its official About page states that it manages over $3.7 billion and has invested more than $3.5 billion through buyouts, recapitalizations, corporate divestitures, credit securities, restructurings, and minority investments. Separately, Vector’s 2024 ESG Report states that, as of December 31, 2024, it had $4.2 billion of assets under management across private-equity and credit strategies.[1][2][3][5] Vector describes a multi-strategy platform that includes public and private company buyouts, corporate carve-outs, recapitalizations, growth equity investments, private investments in public companies, and add-on acquisitions. Its credit strategy offers first-lien, second-lien, unitranche, mezzanine, and equity co-investment structures. Vector states that it partners with management teams and uses a value-creation team supporting product strategy, pricing, geographic focus, supply chain, cost structure, procurement, IT infrastructure, finance, tax, and human resources.[3][4]

Owners evaluating a financial buyer can compare the offer with independent valuation analysis, understand how acquirers approach transactions through Auxo’s buy-side M&A process guide, and consider whether a full or partial sale best fits their objectives.

Public size / criteria information
Vector's credit strategy describes funding opportunities ranging from $5 million to $50 million and the ability to structure and lead transactions up to $150 million. The official About page does not state a universal equity minimum or maximum check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion.[4][5]

What should a business owner evaluate before considering a transaction with Vector Capital?

For a technology-company owner, Vector’s stated focus encompasses software, infrastructure, digital media, business services, and other technology-enabled businesses. Its disclosed transaction formats include buyouts, carve-outs, recapitalizations, growth equity, add-on acquisitions, and structured credit. Owners evaluating Vector should clarify which strategy and investment structure would apply, because the official About page does not state a universal equity company-size or valuation criterion.[1][3][4]
01

Which Vector strategy and investment structure would apply to the proposed transaction, including buyout, growth equity, carve-out, add-on, or credit financing

Vector publicly describes each of these transaction formats and credit structures, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish which format applies to a particular opportunity.[3][4]
02

What equity check size, enterprise-value range, revenue or EBITDA criteria, and control parameters apply to the relevant strategy

The official About page does not state a universal equity minimum or maximum check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion.[3]
03

For a credit opportunity, would the proposed structure be first-lien, second-lien, unitranche, mezzanine, or equity co-investment, and would the funding fall within Vector's stated transaction ranges

Vector identifies these credit structures and describes funding opportunities ranging from $5 million to $50 million, with the ability to structure and lead transactions up to $150 million.[4]

What companies does Vector Capital target?

For credit opportunities, Vector states that it funds transactions ranging from $5 million to $50 million and can structure and lead transactions up to $150 million. The official About page describes Vector’s equity investment types but does not state a universal equity minimum or maximum check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion.[3][4] Vector states that it focuses exclusively on technology and technology-enabled businesses. Its credit strategy identifies Software, Infrastructure, Online/Internet, Government Services, Media, Telecom, Business Services, Education Services, Hardware, and Healthcare IT as focus areas.[1][4] Vector Capital Management is identified at an address in San Francisco, California. The sources cited for this profile do not establish a formal geographic investment mandate.[2] Vector’s stated transaction formats include corporate carve-outs and other company investments alongside add-on acquisitions. Its public materials therefore describe both investments in companies or businesses and add-on activity, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish universal criteria distinguishing platform investments from add-ons.[3] Vector’s public investment materials identify Corel as an active spin-out investment in Internet and Digital Media and Vertical Applications, with Vector reinvesting in Corel in 2026. Planful provides financial-planning products sold to medium and large enterprises, and Vector states that it increased investment behind Planful’s product and go-to-market capabilities. Vector’s Cambium Networks case study describes the creation of a standalone company through a corporate carve-out in 2011 and support for product strategy and addressable-market expansion.[6][7][8] Vector states that it completed the sale of IPValue Management Group to Fortress Investment Group on May 28, 2026; terms were not disclosed. On February 26, 2026, Vector stated that it would acquire Corel’s creativity and productivity software portfolio and related brands in a transaction creating two independent companies; financial terms were not disclosed. Vector also stated that its direct credit strategy provided a $50 million loan to Sylvan for its November 20, 2025 strategic combination with Andy J. Egan Co.; completed its acquisition of Showpad on October 30, 2025; and completed its acquisition of Bigtincan Holdings on April 23, 2025 for A$0.22 per share in cash at an approximate transaction value of A$183 million.[9]

What is not clear from Vector Capital's public investment criteria?

The official About page does not state a universal equity minimum or maximum check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion. The official News page states that terms were not disclosed for the IPValue Management Group sale and the Corel strategic transaction.[3][9]

Questions to ask when evaluating Vector Capital as a buyer or investment partner

Which Vector strategy and investment structure would apply to the proposed transaction, including buyout, growth equity, carve-out, add-on, or credit financing?
Vector publicly describes each of these transaction formats and credit structures, but the sources cited for this profile do not establish which format applies to a particular opportunity.[3][4]
What equity check size, enterprise-value range, revenue or EBITDA criteria, and control parameters apply to the relevant strategy?
The official About page does not state a universal equity minimum or maximum check size, enterprise-value range, revenue range, EBITDA range, or other equity-company size criterion.[3]
For a credit opportunity, would the proposed structure be first-lien, second-lien, unitranche, mezzanine, or equity co-investment, and would the funding fall within Vector's stated transaction ranges?
Vector identifies these credit structures and describes funding opportunities ranging from $5 million to $50 million, with the ability to structure and lead transactions up to $150 million.[4]
What role would Vector's value-creation team have in areas such as product strategy, pricing, geographic focus, IT infrastructure, finance, tax, or human resources?
Vector states that its value-creation team supports portfolio companies across these operating areas.[3]
Which legal or affiliated entity would make or manage the investment?
SEC filings identify Vector Capital Management, L.P. as the institutional investment manager and describe it as an investment adviser registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission.[10][11]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. Official website / firm overview
  3. Investment strategy
  4. Industry / market focus
  5. Transaction size / criteria
  6. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. SEC filing / regulatory record
  11. SEC filing / regulatory record
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.