Auxo Firm Directory · Independent Research Profile

Wellington Management

Wellington Management describes an investment platform spanning equity, fixed income, multi-asset, alternatives, private investing, and sustainable investing. Its private-investing materials identify activity across consumer, technology, health care, financial services, biotechnology, and climate technology, alongside support for portfolio companies from seed stage to IPO.

Key takeaway

What stands out about Wellington Management

Wellington Management combines private-market investing with public-market expertise, research, and portfolio-company support. Its cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal minimum check size, ownership target, revenue or EBITDA threshold, enterprise-value range, or holding-period range.[1][4][5][6]

What does Wellington Management invest in?

Wellington Management describes itself as an independent asset manager founded in 1928. Its platform spans equity, fixed income, multi-asset, alternatives, private investing, and sustainable investing, supported by global research, investment solutions, risk management, and trading capabilities.

Wellington Management Company LLP is identified in its current Form ADV as the primary business name, CRD #106595, with SEC file number 801-15908. Current SEC-filed fund materials describe it as an investment adviser registered with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940.[1][2][3][4]

Wellington states that its private-investing approach combines private-market experience with public-market expertise, networks, and research to identify and support private companies across their growth stages. Its integrated boutique model connects nearly 50 independent investment teams across asset classes under a single management framework.[4]

Owners comparing capital alternatives can review Auxo’s capital advisory services, valuation services, and full-versus-partial sale framework.

Public size / criteria information
Wellington's current official firm overview reports US$1.3 trillion in client assets managed, 800+ investment professionals, 3,000+ clients, and 60+ client locations by country or region, with figures stated as of June 30, 2026. Its private-investing page reports US$12.4 billion in AUM and 362 total investments. The cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal private-investment minimum check size, ownership target, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, enterprise-value range, or holding-period range.[4][6]

What should a business owner evaluate before taking capital from Wellington Management?

Owners evaluating Wellington as a capital partner should identify the relevant legal entity and investment vehicle and clarify whether the proposed transaction involves primary capital, secondary capital, private credit, or equity investment. The public materials describe capabilities across private investing, multiple growth stages, and portfolio-company support, but the cited private-investing overview does not state a universal ownership target or holding-period range.

Owners should also clarify governance rights, follow-on capacity, investment horizon, exit expectations, and the applicable revenue, growth, profitability, valuation, sector, geography, and stage criteria for the specific strategy. Wellington states that its Value Creation Team can provide portfolio companies with access to public- and private-market experts and support in governance, talent, sustainability, and commercial networks from seed stage to IPO.[4][6][10]

01

Which Wellington legal entity and investment vehicle would make the investment

Wellington Management Company LLP is identified as the primary business name in the current Form ADV, while the broader organization operates across multiple investment capabilities.[2][4]
02

Is the proposed investment primary capital, secondary capital, private credit, or a control or non-control equity investment

Wellington’s platform includes private investing and multiple alternative capabilities, while the cited private-investing overview does not state a universal ownership target or standard control policy.[4][6]
03

What are the target ownership percentage, governance rights, follow-on obligations, expected investment horizon, and exit expectations

The cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal ownership target or holding-period range, so these terms should be confirmed for the applicable strategy.[6]

What investment criteria does Wellington Management publicly describe?

Wellington’s private-investing materials identify consumer, technology, health care, financial services, biotechnology, and climate technology among the sectors represented in its private-company investments. Its private-investing platform includes investments in private companies and related private-market strategies.[5]

The cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal private-investment minimum check size, ownership target, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, enterprise-value range, or holding-period range. Owners should therefore confirm the criteria applicable to the specific Wellington strategy and investment vehicle under consideration.[6]

Wellington’s current official firm overview reports 60+ client locations by country or region.[4]

Wellington’s official private-investing materials identify portfolio or investment examples including Acrivon Therapeutics, ACV, Affinivax, Affirm, agilon health, Airbnb, Aligos Therapeutics, Allena Pharmaceuticals, and AMP Robotics. Wellington’s official insights archive also identifies investments in Databricks and SeatGeek.[6][7][8]

On June 3, 2026, Wellington announced that it had entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Hartford Funds from The Hartford. Wellington stated that Hartford Funds would be integrated into its U.S. Wealth business upon closing.

Official Wellington insight pages also discuss its investments in Databricks and SeatGeek.[7][8][9]

What is not clear from Wellington Management's public materials?

The official private-investing portfolio page states that some portfolio-company names cannot be disclosed because of confidentiality restrictions.

The cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal minimum check size, ownership target, revenue threshold, EBITDA threshold, enterprise-value range, or holding-period range. The cited official investment archive identifies portfolio companies but does not publish standardized transaction values, consideration terms, ownership percentages, or realized-return information for the listed examples.[5][6]

Questions to ask before taking capital from Wellington Management

Which Wellington legal entity and investment vehicle would make the investment?
Wellington Management Company LLP is identified as the primary business name in the current Form ADV, while the broader organization operates across multiple investment capabilities.[2][4]
Is the proposed investment primary capital, secondary capital, private credit, or a control or non-control equity investment?
Wellington’s platform includes private investing and multiple alternative capabilities, while the cited private-investing overview does not state a universal ownership target or standard control policy.[4][6]
What are the target ownership percentage, governance rights, follow-on obligations, expected investment horizon, and exit expectations?
The cited official private-investing overview does not state a universal ownership target or holding-period range, so these terms should be confirmed for the applicable strategy.[6]
What revenue, growth, profitability, valuation, sector, geography, and stage criteria apply to the relevant strategy?
Wellington identifies multiple private-company sectors and growth stages, but the cited private-investing overview does not publish universal revenue or EBITDA thresholds or enterprise-value or holding-period ranges.[4][5][6][10]
How does Wellington use its public-market research and Value Creation Team with portfolio companies?
Wellington states that its private-investing approach combines private-market experience with public-market expertise and that its Value Creation Team provides access to public- and private-market experts and support in governance, talent, sustainability, and commercial networks.[4][10]
What confidentiality restrictions affect disclosure of portfolio-company names or transaction terms?
The official private-investing portfolio page states that some portfolio-company names cannot be disclosed because of confidentiality restrictions, while the investment archive does not publish standardized transaction values, consideration terms, ownership percentages, or realized-return information for listed examples.[5]

Sources & research notes

Public-source research
  1. Official website / firm overview
  2. SEC filing / regulatory record
  3. SEC filing / regulatory record
  4. Investment strategy
  5. Industry / market focus
  6. Transaction size / criteria
  7. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  8. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  9. Transaction / portfolio evidence
  10. Public Process
Prepared and reviewed by: Auxo Capital AdvisorsEvidence standard: Public-source verification

How this profile was researched

Auxo profiles are prepared from publicly available primary and authoritative sources and reviewed for entity identity, factual support and disclosure consistency. When a fact cannot be supported by the reviewed public record, the profile identifies it as something to confirm directly rather than inferring it.

Independent profile & regulatory context

Independent research profile

This profile was prepared by Auxo Capital Advisors from publicly available information believed to be reliable and is provided solely for informational and educational purposes. It is not an endorsement, recommendation, ranking, solicitation, or representation regarding the profiled firm, its services, qualifications, transaction experience, regulatory status, financial condition, or suitability for any particular person, company, transaction, or investment.

Information obtained from third-party and public sources may be incomplete, inaccurate, outdated, or subject to change, and Auxo Capital Advisors makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, as to its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Readers should conduct their own independent diligence and consult appropriate professional advisers before engaging any advisor, intermediary, investor, lender, acquirer, or other transaction counterparty.

Broker-dealer and securities disclosure

Auxo Capital Advisors is an affiliate of Weild & Co., Member FINRA | SIPC. Securities-related activities and securities transactions are conducted through Weild & Co.

Nothing contained on this page constitutes an offer to sell, an offer to purchase, or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any security, investment product, or financial instrument. Nothing on this page constitutes investment advice, a recommendation regarding any security, or a recommendation to enter into any transaction with the profiled firm or any other party.

Any securities transaction, capital-raising engagement, investment-banking engagement, or other securities-related activity involving Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. is subject to applicable regulatory requirements, internal review and approval, suitability and other applicable diligence requirements, and the terms of a separate written engagement or transaction agreement, as applicable.

Inclusion of a third-party firm in this directory does not imply affiliation with, sponsorship by, endorsement by, or any other relationship with Auxo Capital Advisors or Weild & Co. unless expressly stated otherwise.